We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Ranked #58 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersBronze level
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Lovely room, plenty of toiletries, staff friendly. Great location for Little Tokyo. The bar was being renovated the day after we arrived but on our first night we had a drink at the bar, the barman hadn't heard of Tia Maria not a good start. The hotel has lovely Japanese themed rooms and gardens.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suziedoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeManagement, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Hello suziedoll, thank you for sharing your experience with us; I am very sorry you had to endure our renovation on your first night but what did you think about the final product!

I shared with our Food & Beverage management about team about the Tia Maria liqueur!

Thank you again

Orlando Salazar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,890 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    655
    691
    321
    152
    71
See reviews for
383
429
175
648
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

good stay. good value. friendly and helpful staff. very nice rooms and accommodations. close walking distance to shops bakeries and restaurants. would recommend to friends and family and stay here again

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Alan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeManagement, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Hello Alan Y, thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay. We are very pleased to read you enjoyed yourself!

Orlando Salazar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Excellent. Courteous, friendly, helpful staff...every one of them. A lovely experience at a quality hotel. Excellent accommodations and staff, artfully maintained establishment. I highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeManagement, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Hello and thank you for sharing with us; the details of your recent stay with us. I do hope you will visit us again in the future

Orlando Salazar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

stayed at the Doubletree in September 2013 for 4 nights. this is a beautiful hotel located in a decent area in dowtown Los Angeles. The Reception staff were very kind when we had issues with our travel agent booking. the rooms are spacious, modern, chick, clean but have a homely feel. the gym is clean and big. The hotel definately should have a higher star rating. Loved every moment spent there! well done to the staff and management.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeManagement, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Hello Sane G, I was very pleased to read that you were happy with our hotel and its offerings!!

I am glad the reception staff was able to resolve your challenge with your travel agent!

Thank you again

Orlando Salazar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed here for 2 night at the beginning of our tour of California and 1 night at the end...... I have to stay it probably has the worlds most comfortable bed..... really enjoyed it here.... only 4 block walk from the metro $2.50 to the Hollywood walk of fame or great universal stop....the reception staff were very friendly and helpful,,, gave me information on the local area,, where to go and where to avoid to stay safe..... my room was very clean and comfortable,,,, 2 double beds,,, fridge and coffee machine...Iron and board come as standard in the USA...great touch as I hate wearing creased clothes....the cookie you get from reception at check in is also a nice touch....on the whole could not fault them....located in little Tokyo.

Room Tip: I had 2 different rooms on the 4th floor and on the 8th floor... both were excellent.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeManagement, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Hello Alan278, thank you for sharing with us your feedback about your most recent stay with us! Our Sweet Dreams bed is very comfortable; the Red Line is a very convinient transportation option from our hotel to the Hollywood area. I shared with the reception team the feedback you provided about them and they were very happy to hear that you enjoyed their services!!

Thank you again

Orlando Salazar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Great hotel and location! Very friendly and helpful staff. There are homeless people in the area but they normally hang out on the outside. However, some of them tend to frequent the Starbucks that is connected to the hotel. Starbucks representatives immediately respond to this issue. The business center allows access to the internet and printing. I was able to print my boarding pass ahead of time allowing me to board the plane quickly. I do with I could have received free internet in my room as an added bonus.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeManagement, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Hello Janet G, thank you for your feedback. Our staff works very hard to make our hotel a safe and comfortable enviroment for our guests.

If you need any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me at Orlando.Salazar@hilton.com

Orlando
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

My stay on August 3rd and 4th was perfect. I was there for the HARD music festival and in the past I've stayed for one other HARD festival. I've also stayed for a concert at the Palladium in Hollywood and was pleasantly surprised at what a good location it turned out to be for that. I had also stayed for the Electric Daisy Carnival when the hotel was the Kyoto Grand and the rooms are a lot nicer now. The rooms are perfect in my opinion, I really love them a lot. Very modern and very clean. Housekeeping and the front desk are amazing. I've actually been a front desk agent in Las Vegas for the last three years so I understand how hotels are, how it can be when it's a busy weekend, and the hotel has always met the challenge. I will never stay anywhere else when I'm in L.A.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fluxy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeManagement, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Hello fluxy89, glad to hear we have proven to be such as good choice for you over the years! Are you coming to the HARD day of the dead event at the Los Angeles Historic Park?

Your empathy for my front desk staff was very welcomed and appreciated; they do have it rough some days but they always come through shining bright!

Orlando
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
#51 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
#52 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#8 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Downtown
Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Address: 120 South Los Angeles Street, Los Angeles, CA 90012-3724 (Formerly Kyoto Grand Hotel and Gardens)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown , Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#38 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#50 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#50 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Little Tokyo and less than half a mile from LA Live, our Downtown Los Angeles hotel features a beautiful rooftop garden and renovated accommodations with stunning skyline views. Each guest room, furnished with sophisticated Asian-fusion décor, features a work desk with basic Internet access, plush bedding, and a 42-inch LCD HDTV. Upgrade to a suite for a touch of indulgence and extra space with special amenities including a soothing whirlpool bath, sofa bed, and dining area. Additional on-property amenities include a 24-hour business center, a 24-hour fitness center, and dining options. With over 12,000 square feet of space, 14 meeting rooms, two ballrooms, and state-of-the-art audio visual equipment, planning a corporate seminar or holiday party is simple. Or, host a stunning wedding at Kyoto Gardens, our Japanese rooftop garden complete with cascading waterfalls, tranquil ponds, and downtown skyline views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyoto Grand Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing