We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun location, nice facility!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Ranked #57 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fun location, nice facility!”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Beautiful gardenfor working or relaxing, nice rooms and wonderfull staff. Located in "Little Tokyo" fun easy area to explore. Only downside was the room was extremely noisy. I stayed on a Monday and there was a work party in the garden with a DJ until 10pm; construction going on across the street; street noise; people on the sidewalks...seemed every sound from below came right in. I am not overly senitive to this, but for those who are this would have been intolerable.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank brindi05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeManagement, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Hello brindi05, thank you for sharing I am sorry we were not able to meet your expectation regarding noise. Unfortunately Downtown Los Angeles is a very vibrant city with many unique and ecclectic sounds even in the evening hours but please note next time you come see us ask about our complimentary ear plugs we offer our guests.

Orlando
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,938 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    674
    713
    326
    154
    71
See reviews for
389
438
177
672
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Just there for a three day convention. Everything was great. I would not hesitate to bring my company back. Every part of the meeting went well including the breaks and meals. Good location near little Japan.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeManagement, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Hello Tim, I am very glad that we were able to meet your expectations for your 3 day convention!

I will share with our Meetings and Events Team the great feedback you shared here and ensure they are recognized!!

Thank you

Orlando
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canyon Lake, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

This is a great location! The staff is very professional and friendly. Brian went out of his way to make our stay perfect. The bed is so comfy, didn't want to leave…and don't forget the cookies……………..

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank bdmar67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeManagement, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Hello bdmar67!

Thank you for sharing with us about your stay and furthermore for sharing about Brian's service and efforts! I will ensure that Brian is recognized for this and ensure he recieves appropriate praise for his hard work!

Orlando
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We asked for many cookies. Staff was very well groomed and courteous. Workout studio was neat and clean all machines were working. Room Service was very fast and good tasting My only suggestion is that they would have in room movies. When I travel I like to watch movies at night. Also the bell men were great as were the sky cap. They got us a cab very quickly each time

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeManagement, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Hello Janice M. Thank you for the very kind review we appreciate you taking time to review us and share your experiences. If there is anything I may assist you with in the future please do not hesitate by emailing me at Orlando.Salazar@hilton.com

Orlando Salazar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barstow, California
Level Contributor
340 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

A friend was visiting from the east coast and suggested we meet him up here. He had never experienced a Chinese New Year, so we thought it would be great to come up. I didn't realize that the hotel had changed ownership. Since we had a great experience before, I booked a suite this time. I don't even know if they had suites the last time.

Friendly greeting from the front desk...and warm chocolate chip cookies...great way to start our stay. There were a few changes made to the lobby, but it still had an inviting vibe. We were on the 16th floor. Large suite with living area separated from the bedroom, with a small sink and refrigerator. Couple of things, I snore and get up early, so the sofa bed came in handy as did the second 1/2 bathroom. My only complaints would be that the ac unit made this rattling noise when it started, the shower stall is a little small, and why not install a real door between the rooms instead of a Japanese style sliding door.

This is still a great location in Little Tokyo. We walked up to Chinatown which is not that far. Yeah, there are some homeless people, but you can say that about any major city. There are some great restaurants nearby and its located close to the freeway. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heuster3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeManagement, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Hello heuster, I am very happy to read that we still were able to meet your expectations after so many years. We take great pride in working hard to ensure we are consistent in our services and offerings. I am glad that our suite was able to fit you and your guests needs. If there is anything I may assist with please do not hesitate to contact me at orlando.salazar@hilton.com

Orlado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Located in Little Tokyo, this hotel is a good business hotel which access (walking distance) to some excellent restaurants in Little Tokyo. The parking can be expensive ($30 per day). The garden is a real gem.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the Japanese-themed garden. A high room has a better view of this city but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank londoneraway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeManagement, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Hello londeraway, Thank you for sharing with us; I am glad you were able to enjoy our hotel and its amenities. I am glad that the garden left such a positive impression on you!

Orlando Salazar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Thank you to the General Manager. He always goes above and beyond to help out the guest and his staff. It is nice to see a on hands General Manager taking ownership of the hotel. Great Job! I will highly recommend this property for personal or business travel during any visit to L A California.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeManagement, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Hello Ashley, thank you for the kind words I will personally share with Mr. Kuhn your feedback as I am sure it will make him proud to read it

Thank you again

Orlando Salazar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
#59 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
#58 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#33 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
Downtown
Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Address: 120 South Los Angeles Street, Los Angeles, CA 90012-3724 (Formerly Kyoto Grand Hotel and Gardens)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown , Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#38 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#50 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#50 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Little Tokyo and less than half a mile from LA Live, our Downtown Los Angeles hotel features a beautiful rooftop garden and renovated accommodations with stunning skyline views. Each guest room, furnished with sophisticated Asian-fusion décor, features a work desk with basic Internet access, plush bedding, and a 42-inch LCD HDTV. Upgrade to a suite for a touch of indulgence and extra space with special amenities including a soothing whirlpool bath, sofa bed, and dining area. Additional on-property amenities include a 24-hour business center, a 24-hour fitness center, and dining options. With over 12,000 square feet of space, 14 meeting rooms, two ballrooms, and state-of-the-art audio visual equipment, planning a corporate seminar or holiday party is simple. Or, host a stunning wedding at Kyoto Gardens, our Japanese rooftop garden complete with cascading waterfalls, tranquil ponds, and downtown skyline views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyoto Grand Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing