We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip to LA”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Ranked #59 of 354 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 19 May 2014

While the location is slightly off the beaten path several blocks from downtown LA, the hotel is delightful. The lobby is modern and sleek. The rooms are large and inviting. The hotel staff was pleasant and accomodating. I will return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank PVZ1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeManagement, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Hello PVZ1961, thank you for taking time to review us; I am very happy that we were able to meet and exceed many of your expecations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,071)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,024 - 1,030 of 2,072 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

I'll start by saying all the staff at this hotel are extremely nice people. Concierge and valet gentlemen are as good as any. Eswin, you were particularly sweet.
With that said; it pains me to have to write the following. I love writing good reviews. But if I have a bad experience I usually just don't say anything at all. It's has to be pretty bad for me to write and say anything negative.
It may be knit picky but I was real annoyed that my room key did not work. At that moment, I had been up and traveling for more than 12 hours. This was further compounded by the abominable above 90 degree of heat in the hallway. (who doesn't make their entire hotel comfortable for guests??) I looked for a house phone so not to travel all the way back downstairs. The heat in the hallway had me literally perspiring by the time help arrived.
OK, moving forward.
Inside the room, was tasteful and pleasant on the eyes. But wait, where's the restroom? The design of this room is so unusual. I didn't notice a vanity or restroom coming into the room (normal), I'm standing there looking around, I go back towards the entrance, then back across the room to the other side and back. Oh, there you are. (I had been standing in front of it) It's a door... right next to my bed? Thank goodness I don't have night time bowel movements... normally... but it could happen!
Oh look, a tiny toilet too. And wow, look how low it is to the floor. The tub appeared stained or dirty because the porcelain was old, chipped and cracked. I'm gonna speed this up. I'm getting uncomfortable giving such a detailed review, so I'll do numbers from here on out.
1. Toilet, small. The water in toilet is real close to your bottom soooo... Yep I did, EWE! nuff said! Thank goodness I packed my nail brush.
2. the sink slow drains/backsup - may be drought enforcement
3. the tub, real slow drain/backs up, this is most unsanitary because you're standing in yours and someone else's scum. EWE!
4. Called in-room dining 3x, they never picked up. Called the operator, she transferred me to in-room dining... they never picked up.
5. FOOD; dried out chicken breast, not just for me, but for over 100 women attending the conference.
6. Fruit on the tart was over ripe, almost bad; and the custard was old. This one was left from another conference.
7. Cookies and brownies are frickin amazing!!
8. Breakfast buffet was average, lacked imagination and the food was bland.
9. In-room 16 oz. Aquafina for which there were 2 of, $2 each.
10. Oh did I mention; sweltering heat in the halls (I don't understand)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ressie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeManagement, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Hello ressie123, I am very sorry that we failed to provide you with a comfortable experience; we did have challenges with the heatwave that hit Los Angeles last week but I can assure you that we have corrected the challenges with our machinery and expect our hotel to be maintained at a significantly more comfortable climate.

Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This was my first trip to Los Angeles. The hotel was easy to get to and it was very convenient to the freeway. The hotel was very nice, and I heard no traffic or commotion. Very pleasant. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Joseph D P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeManagement, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Hello Joseph, Thank you for the kind words you provided us with. I am happy that you enjoyed our location and ease to our freeways. I hope you will visit us again in the future

Orlando

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Great location and easy walk to Little Tokyo, Chinatown and Olivera Street. Staff are very helpful with advice and recommendations. Nice bar with a highlight being Moe's Mojito's...best all around The rooms are very nice with all the amenities. Very quiet and a great place to get a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel R, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us as well as others. Our team is delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel! We look forward to serving you again in the near future. See you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Great service, beautiful room. Very clean and comfortable. The room was ready early and they allow late check out. The entire staff was very helpful with the set up for our event and provided excellent service. Thank you

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Katherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel R, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us as well as others. Our team is delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel! We look forward to serving you again in the near future. See you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Beautiful rooms, excellent staff, comfortable beds, so close to LA Live and all the fun things LA has to offer. Staff from valet to check-in is second to none. Great food at the restaurant. Starbucks in the restaurant which is a plus! Entry and bar area are really beautiful. This is a great couples get away but also family oriented too!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Angelina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel R, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us as well as others. Our team is delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel! We look forward to serving you again in the near future. See you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I would not recommend this Doubletree. The toilet leaked in all areas and the shower didn't work properly. There was a scary incident in the restaurant involving a crazy man claiming to be the President and threatening guests. This was not taken care of in a timely manner and guests were scared!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Darrell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeManagement, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Hello Darrell, I am sorry that we failed you; we take great pride in our ability to provide our guests with a calm and tranquil enviroment. Sadly we failed you in our response time to this incident but I can assure you that our guest's safety if our main priority and we have taken this incindent and will improve.

Thank you for sharing with us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
#47 of 354 in Los Angeles
730 reviews
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#32 of 354 in Los Angeles
1,184 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 354 in Los Angeles
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Downtown
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
#57 of 354 in Los Angeles
1,297 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown

Address: 120 South Los Angeles Street, Los Angeles, CA 90012-3724 (Formerly Kyoto Grand Hotel and Gardens)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown , Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#37 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#49 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#49 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £150 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Little Tokyo and less than half a mile from LA Live, our Downtown Los Angeles hotel features a beautiful rooftop garden and renovated accommodations with stunning skyline views. Each guest room, furnished with sophisticated Asian-fusion décor, features a work desk with basic Internet access, plush bedding, and a 42-inch LCD HDTV. Upgrade to a suite for a touch of indulgence and extra space with special amenities including a soothing whirlpool bath, sofa bed, and dining area. Additional on-property amenities include a 24-hour business center, a 24-hour fitness center, and dining options. With over 12,000 square feet of space, 14 meeting rooms, two ballrooms, and state-of-the-art audio visual equipment, planning a corporate seminar or holiday party is simple. Or, host a stunning wedding at Kyoto Gardens, our Japanese rooftop garden complete with cascading waterfalls, tranquil ponds, and downtown skyline views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Southall Travel, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyoto Grand Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing