We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Ranked #61 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersBronze level
Claremont, United States
1 review
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I was there for an event that was taking place nearby. They had a block of rooms. Beautiful room and very comfy bed. The view was fantastic. Especially at night. Helpful and courteous staff. Love it, that Starbucks is right at the corner. Nice gift shop lady. I would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Tani Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeManagement, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Hello Tani, I am very happy to read that your had a wonderful stay. If you need assistance in the future in booking our hotel please do not hesitate to contact me at Orlando.Salazar@hilton.com

Orlando
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    685
    715
    335
    158
    74
See reviews for
392
442
179
690
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel so that we could attend a dr. appt. at USC. From the minute we pulled in to the moment we checked out, we had just an incredible experience. The rooms are gorgeous and the staff is amazing. I rode the elevator with the GM and he made sure we were having a great stay of which we did.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Marlene072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeManagement, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Hello Marlene, Thank you for sharing with us; we are all proud to read that your stay was positive. Joe (our GM) is a great leader and we all take our cues from his leadership!. I will happily share with our entire team your review!

Orlando
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2014

It's a great very modern hotel that's been updated in 2012
Huge thanks to Giovanni at the front desk he was extremely helpful and gave me a room with a gorgeous view of downtown LA as I requested. (choose line 17/19 or the side that faces the garden)
There was another lady at the front desk, I asked her to give me a room with a nice view of downtown but she gave me the one that faces an ugly solid wall of the neighboring building so I had to change it, then she gave me another one and I got so upset because it wasn't what I asked for! I had to got to the front desk again and Giovanni did his best to make my stay very enjoyable and memorable! The room was great and the view was just stunning especially at sunset!
There is Starbucks downstairs and lots of different restaurants in Little Tokyo. I'd highly suggest Spitz restaurant (10 min walk) that serves very yummy food (home made white and red sangria and chicken garlic shawarma)

Room Tip: Rooms on the garden side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Alexey_Russo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeManagement, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Hello Alexey! I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and Giovanni was able to provide you with a great view of our great city!

Orlando
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, United States
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We were in LA for my husband's surgery at USC. Our stay at Double Tree allowed a good night's sleep and easy access to the hospital. We had dinner in the restaurant and were pleasantly surprised at the quality of food and reasonable prices. That was an added plus. We will recommend this Double Tree Hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Donald L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeManagement, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Hello Donald, I trust the surgery for your family member went well; with that said I am very happy to read that you enjoyed the hotel and it's facilities.

Orlando
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phx, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Unhappy with the calling down stairs 3 to 5 times to notify front desk that my air was not working and no one answered the phone. Had to go down stairs twice to finally be able to move to a different room. I was given a drink comp and when I gave it to the bartender to take off my drink, I was told that I couldn't use it because I had a mixed drink. When I went to fill up my bucket for ice. I discovered that the ice machine was broken. Everyone was pleasurable but it took 3 to 4 hours to convenience them that my air was not working.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Katrina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeManagement, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Hello Katrina, I am sorry that we failed you in your most recent stay; I have reviewed the challenges with our team and I can assure you that we will correct these areas of opportunity to ensure our guests are comfortable in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orange, ca
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We only live 30 miles away but because of scheduling we wanted somewhere close to attend a graduation. The proximity of this hotel made it very convenient. We did not know what to expect, because as we drove up to the restaurant, there were many homeless encampments, but we found this location like an oasis.

From the initial encounter with the valet through the whole visit, the staff was extremely friendly and courteous.

1. Valet was excellent, friend friendly efficient and cars were available whenever requested. Complimentary Window and vacuum service is a nice plus.

2. Check in/out service was quick and efficient

3. Restaurant was excellent. Not your typical bar offerings. Good value, good service.

4. Warm cookies on check in are another nice touch

5. The hotel lobby bar while not a big party scene was well stocked and a nice place to just "hang out"

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fmationg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeManagement, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Hello Deborah! I am so pleased in reading that we were able to meet many of your expectations. Our staff was thrilled to read that their engagements with you were positive; I hope the graduation went off without a hitch as well and congrats to the grad!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, United States
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We only live 30 miles away but because of scheduling we wanted somewhere close to attend a graduation. The proximity of this hotel made it very convenient. We did not know what to expect, because as we drove up to the restaurant, there were many homeless encampments, but we found this location like an oasis. From the initial encounter with the valet through the whole visit, the staff was extremely friendly and courteous. 1. Valet was excellent, friend friendly efficient and cars were available whenever requested. Complimentary Window and vacuum service is a nice plus. 2. Check in/out service was quick and efficient 3. Restaurant was excellent. Not your typical bar offerings. Good value, good service. 4. Warm cookies on check in are another nice touch 5. The hotel lobby bar while not a big party scene was well stocked and a nice place to just "hang out"

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeManagement, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Hello Deborah! I am so pleased in reading that we were able to meet many of your expectations. Our staff was thrilled to read that their engagements with you were positive; I hope the graduation went off without a hitch as well and congrats to the grad!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
#57 of 351 in Los Angeles
703 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
#55 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,247 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#6 of 351 in Los Angeles
661 reviews
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#31 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,090 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Address: 120 South Los Angeles Street, Los Angeles, CA 90012-3724 (Formerly Kyoto Grand Hotel and Gardens)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown , Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#38 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#50 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#50 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Little Tokyo and less than half a mile from LA Live, our Downtown Los Angeles hotel features a beautiful rooftop garden and renovated accommodations with stunning skyline views. Each guest room, furnished with sophisticated Asian-fusion décor, features a work desk with basic Internet access, plush bedding, and a 42-inch LCD HDTV. Upgrade to a suite for a touch of indulgence and extra space with special amenities including a soothing whirlpool bath, sofa bed, and dining area. Additional on-property amenities include a 24-hour business center, a 24-hour fitness center, and dining options. With over 12,000 square feet of space, 14 meeting rooms, two ballrooms, and state-of-the-art audio visual equipment, planning a corporate seminar or holiday party is simple. Or, host a stunning wedding at Kyoto Gardens, our Japanese rooftop garden complete with cascading waterfalls, tranquil ponds, and downtown skyline views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyoto Grand Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing