We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GOOD FOR A BRIEF OVERNIGHT!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunes Inn - Wilshire

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Dunes Inn - Wilshire
Ranked #215 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
SO CAL
Level Contributor
221 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“GOOD FOR A BRIEF OVERNIGHT!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Had to work at another Beverly Hills property the following morning so booked the DI about 5 miles away on Wilshire.

Arrived around 10:30 p.m. and checked in by very nice gentlemen who had my key ready. Easy check-in and then parked in a spot just seconds away from check-in. Booked on line the day before with hotels.com

Room average but large and even had a kitchenette. Some furniture a little worn but it looks like they are upgrading as they go. My shower looked like new tile with even a glass tile insert around the middle border. Very nice.

Bed comfortable but keep in mind there is some traffic noise but not too bad if you keep the bathroom window shut. Old time heating register but heat clicked on right away and was comfortable.

Kitchenette looks like something still there for many years but nothing you would really want to use. Some water was leaking out of the mini-refrigerator on the floor. Looked in the kitchenette cupboards that looked like they were the old-style aluminum not wood types. A few weird dishes. Anyway didn't care because I wasn't going to be staying anyway. It didn't interfere with the comfort of the room.

Last of all the drapes. I could not get the edge of the drape to completely block the view from the outside. Anyone passing by and looking through the small crack could see anyone's reflection in the room mirror. Since people can walk by the room very easily it was uncomfortable.

There is a pool but the pool chairs few and just straps - no cushions, so not looking very comfortable. The entire hotel interior surrounds pool so not sure how much sun would hit the pool in the daytime.

Anyway found on Hotels.com and the price was excellent. For that price would stay again on a short term or overnight stay.

Room Tip: Gave excellent to restaurant and fitness center because I had to check a box. Don't know what t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nshugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    41
    48
    33
    32
See reviews for
48
46
12
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

I didn't get the room that was advertised on the internet, the front door to my room had soda or coffee stains all over, the bathroom door had make-up and the stains of the front of the door, No screen on the window (2nd Floor) and the TV did not work. I pointed these things out to the person @ the front desk he came to my room and told me he would be sure to get the TV repaired or change my room the next day. I asked if could get a discount because of my inconvience , he said no he was not the owner. I spoke to the daytime desk person the next day about the Tv not working he said maybe it was a switch.The TV never worked and I was not given another room nor a discount.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraSpice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Davis, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

Stayed there for a couple of nights. The location between Hollywood and downtown is convenient, though this is definitely a no-frills sort of place. Bathroom had been recently redone though room was otherwise unmemorable and old. A good place if you're on a budget and want a relatively "central" location in LA. No breakfast though, a car is a must.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JacobM87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Stayed there for a couple of nights, 5 out of 5 in essence value for money, had a memorable moments, so as quite nights of sleep there, the staff is friendly , rooms are well kept, wifi with a decent streaming speed, everything is organized. Cant remember any negative aspects, so would totally suggest people to stay there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GRIGORCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed here several times with my fiancé and in each scenario we always had great service. The rooms are pretty basic and have a fridge, tv, a/c and heat. Wish there was a microwave or coffee-maker, but it was great for what we paid for, especially considering its cleanliness. Housekeeping was consistent and for under $80/d, it was a great stay.
Also, the neighborhood was safe and within walking distance to plenty of food/shops.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nigumo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

This hotel was a little further away than I expected to be from Downtown LA, but central enough to get around all LA in 20-25 min easy. The pics on the web were a little misleading. The room we had was small and we barely had enough walking room with 2 big suitcases and 2 additional bags. Immediately upon walking in, it felt like you were walking into 1980's decor and carpet, red/orange/brown carpet, maroon bedspread, etc. The room appeared clean but just had an old feel to it. View on the first floor was nice since it was right next to the pool but due to the chilly weather we were not able to use it. There is no hot tub and the sun didn't shine directly over the pool. There is NO LUXURY to this hotel by any means but an affordable option if you are planning on being out and about ALL day.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lluvia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Bayern, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Really good location, everything is nearby. I was more than satisfied with it. Good quality/price. Very friendly personnel, helped me to find some great places around the city. Would recommend if you are coming to LA

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikolay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Garden Suites Hotel & Resort
#197 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Rotex Plaza Hotel
#233 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Park Plaza Lodge Hotel
Park Plaza Lodge Hotel
#123 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
JJ Grand Hotel
#212 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Inn - Wilshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Inn - Wilshire

Property: Dunes Inn - Wilshire
Address: 4300 Wilshire Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90010
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #215 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Dunes Inn - Wilshire 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our property on Wilshire Boulevard, you can experience the highlights of Los Angeles from our central location just miles away from the famous Rodeo Drive, Beverly Center, Miracle Mile and Hollywood. You can choose from a single Queen bed, two Double Beds, two Queen Beds or home-style rooms (if available); a bar and kitchenette. Each room comes with a satellite television, mini-refrigerator, ice box, air conditioning/heating and hairdryer to meet your needs. All rooms are non-smoking for your safety, and valid ID and credit card is required upon checking in, even if the reservation is prepaid. At the Dunes Inn Wilshire, guests can enjoy free wireless internet, covered parking, an ice machine, vending machine, laundry facilities on-site and much more. You can dip your tired feet in our pool after a long day exploring Los Angeles, or simply lounge in the deck area. There are microwaves on the pool deck so you can enjoy a quick meal while relaxing. You can also dine at the Dreams Cafe & Lounge, on-site restaurant to our sister hotel, Dunes Inn Sunset. We suggest taking a walk through the beautiful Hancock Park neighborhood to Larchmont Village for great dining and shopping options closeby. Our location is close to The Farmer’s Market, The Grove, Museum Row on Miracle Mile, Melrose Avenue, the Beverly Center, Beverly Hills and Hollywood Boulevard. You can also take the Metro to nearby Universal Studios, downtown Los Angeles, Santa Monica and many other popular locations in Los Angeles. Dunes Inn Wilshire is 15 miles from the LAX Airport and 10 miles from the Bob Hope/Burbank Airport.The staff at Dunes Inn Wilshire works hard to ensure excellent customer service for all our guests. We are available 24 hours a day to answer any questions, book tours and some shows, along with shuttle service (with a surcharge) to airports or any destination you need. Book a room with us today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Dunes Inn - Wilshire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Inn - Wilshire Hotel Los Angeles
Wilshire Dunes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing