We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did what it needed to”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dunes Inn - Wilshire
Ranked #230 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Did what it needed to”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We needed a hotel for a night, so we stayed here at the Dunes Inn. We booked online and were able to get our room, but a lot of other people did not get rooms. We waited for about 30 minutes before we could get checked in. The front desk man spent most of the time on the phone yelling at someone about how they were booking too many people and that they were full for the night. After the phone call it took him 10 minutes to fill out our paper work. He then proceeded to take 2 more phone calls before giving us our key. The room was okay. At 4 AM the people upstairs came back and were very loud... If you just need a place to stay for the night this place will do, but I wouldn't ever stay for more than that

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lngo05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh P, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Wilshire, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Lngo05,

Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Los Angeles, however we are very sorry for the slow check-in time you experienced. We always strive to make check-ins fast and easy for our guests. Sometimes the evening rush can complicate this.

We understand that it is the small things that turn an ordinary experience into an extraordinary one. We will be certain to use your feedback to better our future guest experience. If you would like to discuss your experience further, please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    43
    51
    36
    33
See reviews for
51
50
12
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I only needed a room for one night. It was reasonably priced, conveniently located and I had good customer service, which is why I rated it Very Good instead of Average. I left an item in the room and they were very accommodating about arrangements to get it back to me. The décor is vintage late eighties. The bed is average, the TV is old but it works. The bathroom had been recently upgraded, the shower had good output and it was all very clean. The surroundings felt safe and it was quiet all night. There were no frills, but, I would easily stay here again. **There is no hair dryer in the room**

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor which, I think, helped to minimize noise from the pool area early in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SO CAL
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Had to work at another Beverly Hills property the following morning so booked the DI about 5 miles away on Wilshire.

Arrived around 10:30 p.m. and checked in by very nice gentlemen who had my key ready. Easy check-in and then parked in a spot just seconds away from check-in. Booked on line the day before with hotels.com

Room average but large and even had a kitchenette. Some furniture a little worn but it looks like they are upgrading as they go. My shower looked like new tile with even a glass tile insert around the middle border. Very nice.

Bed comfortable but keep in mind there is some traffic noise but not too bad if you keep the bathroom window shut. Old time heating register but heat clicked on right away and was comfortable.

Kitchenette looks like something still there for many years but nothing you would really want to use. Some water was leaking out of the mini-refrigerator on the floor. Looked in the kitchenette cupboards that looked like they were the old-style aluminum not wood types. A few weird dishes. Anyway didn't care because I wasn't going to be staying anyway. It didn't interfere with the comfort of the room.

Last of all the drapes. I could not get the edge of the drape to completely block the view from the outside. Anyone passing by and looking through the small crack could see anyone's reflection in the room mirror. Since people can walk by the room very easily it was uncomfortable.

There is a pool but the pool chairs few and just straps - no cushions, so not looking very comfortable. The entire hotel interior surrounds pool so not sure how much sun would hit the pool in the daytime.

Anyway found on Hotels.com and the price was excellent. For that price would stay again on a short term or overnight stay.

Room Tip: Gave excellent to restaurant and fitness center because I had to check a box. Don't know what t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nshugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I didn't get the room that was advertised on the internet, the front door to my room had soda or coffee stains all over, the bathroom door had make-up and the stains of the front of the door, No screen on the window (2nd Floor) and the TV did not work. I pointed these things out to the person @ the front desk he came to my room and told me he would be sure to get the TV repaired or change my room the next day. I asked if could get a discount because of my inconvience , he said no he was not the owner. I spoke to the daytime desk person the next day about the Tv not working he said maybe it was a switch.The TV never worked and I was not given another room nor a discount.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraSpice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Davis, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Stayed there for a couple of nights. The location between Hollywood and downtown is convenient, though this is definitely a no-frills sort of place. Bathroom had been recently redone though room was otherwise unmemorable and old. A good place if you're on a budget and want a relatively "central" location in LA. No breakfast though, a car is a must.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacobM87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Stayed there for a couple of nights, 5 out of 5 in essence value for money, had a memorable moments, so as quite nights of sleep there, the staff is friendly , rooms are well kept, wifi with a decent streaming speed, everything is organized. Cant remember any negative aspects, so would totally suggest people to stay there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GRIGORCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed here several times with my fiancé and in each scenario we always had great service. The rooms are pretty basic and have a fridge, tv, a/c and heat. Wish there was a microwave or coffee-maker, but it was great for what we paid for, especially considering its cleanliness. Housekeeping was consistent and for under $80/d, it was a great stay.
Also, the neighborhood was safe and within walking distance to plenty of food/shops.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nigumo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Rotex Plaza Hotel
#244 of 351 in Los Angeles
53 reviews
JJ Grand Hotel
#223 of 351 in Los Angeles
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden Suites Hotel & Resort
#193 of 351 in Los Angeles
75 reviews
Central L.A
Park Plaza Lodge Hotel
Park Plaza Lodge Hotel
#123 of 351 in Los Angeles
292 reviews
Central L.A
Palga Grand Hotel
Palga Grand Hotel
#248 of 351 in Los Angeles
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Inn - Wilshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Inn - Wilshire

Property: Dunes Inn - Wilshire
Address: 4300 Wilshire Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90010-3702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #230 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Dunes Inn - Wilshire 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our property on Wilshire Boulevard, you can experience the highlights of Los Angeles from our central location just miles away from the famous Rodeo Drive, Beverly Center, Miracle Mile and Hollywood. You can choose from a single Queen bed, two Double Beds, two Queen Beds or home-style rooms (if available); a bar and kitchenette. Each room comes with a satellite television, mini-refrigerator, ice box, air conditioning/heating and hairdryer to meet your needs. All rooms are non-smoking for your safety, and valid ID and credit card is required upon checking in, even if the reservation is prepaid. At the Dunes Inn Wilshire, guests can enjoy free wireless internet, covered parking, an ice machine, vending machine, laundry facilities on-site and much more. You can dip your tired feet in our pool after a long day exploring Los Angeles, or simply lounge in the deck area. There are microwaves on the pool deck so you can enjoy a quick meal while relaxing. You can also dine at the Dreams Cafe & Lounge, on-site restaurant to our sister hotel, Dunes Inn Sunset. We suggest taking a walk through the beautiful Hancock Park neighborhood to Larchmont Village for great dining and shopping options closeby. Our location is close to The Farmer’s Market, The Grove, Museum Row on Miracle Mile, Melrose Avenue, the Beverly Center, Beverly Hills and Hollywood Boulevard. You can also take the Metro to nearby Universal Studios, downtown Los Angeles, Santa Monica and many other popular locations in Los Angeles. Dunes Inn Wilshire is 15 miles from the LAX Airport and 10 miles from the Bob Hope/Burbank Airport.The staff at Dunes Inn Wilshire works hard to ensure excellent customer service for all our guests. We are available 24 hours a day to answer any questions, book tours and some shows, along with shuttle service (with a surcharge) to airports or any destination you need. Book a room with us today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dunes Inn - Wilshire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Inn - Wilshire Hotel Los Angeles
Wilshire Dunes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing