We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst hotel experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dunes Inn - Wilshire
Ranked #248 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed 26 February 2014

It took us over 2 hours to get checked in. One hour waiting for the gentleman at the desk to help the guests before us, and at least an hour for us. He was very rude; the two times he stopped helping the people in front of him to answer the phone, he was very aggressive to the person on the other line and argued with them for what seemed like an eternity while we were standing there waiting. He made me call his boss to ask if they can reduce the 100 dollar deposit to 50 dollars. He made everything extremely complicated and scolded us for going through hotels.com instead of just booking the room there. He lectured my boyfriend and I as if we were children. Upon finally gaining access to our room, we realized all of that wasn't even worth it. They request 100 deposit for what? An out-dated tv? the tacky furniture? The room wasn't even that much. There is no view that they claim. the microwave is outside by the pool. However, If you speak chinese or spanish there are many channel options on tv. There is also a large mirror in front of the bed if you should be feeling frisky..

Room Tip: the 300 rooms have an excellent view of the parking lot out the bathroom window if you stand on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh P, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Wilshire, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Hi, We are sorry to hear that you are not satisfied with your experience. We always try to ensure the fastest and easiest check-in for our guests. Above all else, providing excellent customer service is our main goal and it is unfortunate you were not treated with the respect you deserve. Given the opportunity, we would like to make things right for you on your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

72 - 78 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

We need to clean room before doing anything.Removed comforter because it was dirty.Free wifi breakfast across the road.Hotel was close the area we needed.Won't stay there again it needed to be updated.We got the wrong room but to tired to switch our room.Quality inn was better price than Dunn.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Janine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh P, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Wilshire, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Janine W,

I cannot apologize enough that you had such a negative experience at our hotel. Nonetheless, I would like to thank you for your candid review and for highlighting the deficiencies you encountered as they can only help us to improve. I sincerely hope that during your next visit to Los Angeles you will give us the opportunity to show the qualities of our hotel in which we are exceedingly proud of. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We needed a hotel for a night, so we stayed here at the Dunes Inn. We booked online and were able to get our room, but a lot of other people did not get rooms. We waited for about 30 minutes before we could get checked in. The front desk man spent most of the time on the phone yelling at someone about how they were booking too many people and that they were full for the night. After the phone call it took him 10 minutes to fill out our paper work. He then proceeded to take 2 more phone calls before giving us our key. The room was okay. At 4 AM the people upstairs came back and were very loud... If you just need a place to stay for the night this place will do, but I wouldn't ever stay for more than that

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lngo05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh P, Front Office Manager at Dunes Inn - Wilshire, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Lngo05,

Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Los Angeles, however we are very sorry for the slow check-in time you experienced. We always strive to make check-ins fast and easy for our guests. Sometimes the evening rush can complicate this.

We understand that it is the small things that turn an ordinary experience into an extraordinary one. We will be certain to use your feedback to better our future guest experience. If you would like to discuss your experience further, please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I only needed a room for one night. It was reasonably priced, conveniently located and I had good customer service, which is why I rated it Very Good instead of Average. I left an item in the room and they were very accommodating about arrangements to get it back to me. The décor is vintage late eighties. The bed is average, the TV is old but it works. The bathroom had been recently upgraded, the shower had good output and it was all very clean. The surroundings felt safe and it was quiet all night. There were no frills, but, I would easily stay here again. **There is no hair dryer in the room**

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor which, I think, helped to minimize noise from the pool area early in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Had to work at another Beverly Hills property the following morning so booked the DI about 5 miles away on Wilshire.

Arrived around 10:30 p.m. and checked in by very nice gentlemen who had my key ready. Easy check-in and then parked in a spot just seconds away from check-in. Booked on line the day before with hotels.com

Room average but large and even had a kitchenette. Some furniture a little worn but it looks like they are upgrading as they go. My shower looked like new tile with even a glass tile insert around the middle border. Very nice.

Bed comfortable but keep in mind there is some traffic noise but not too bad if you keep the bathroom window shut. Old time heating register but heat clicked on right away and was comfortable.

Kitchenette looks like something still there for many years but nothing you would really want to use. Some water was leaking out of the mini-refrigerator on the floor. Looked in the kitchenette cupboards that looked like they were the old-style aluminum not wood types. A few weird dishes. Anyway didn't care because I wasn't going to be staying anyway. It didn't interfere with the comfort of the room.

Last of all the drapes. I could not get the edge of the drape to completely block the view from the outside. Anyone passing by and looking through the small crack could see anyone's reflection in the room mirror. Since people can walk by the room very easily it was uncomfortable.

There is a pool but the pool chairs few and just straps - no cushions, so not looking very comfortable. The entire hotel interior surrounds pool so not sure how much sun would hit the pool in the daytime.

Anyway found on Hotels.com and the price was excellent. For that price would stay again on a short term or overnight stay.

Room Tip: Gave excellent to restaurant and fitness center because I had to check a box. Don't know what t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nshugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I didn't get the room that was advertised on the internet, the front door to my room had soda or coffee stains all over, the bathroom door had make-up and the stains of the front of the door, No screen on the window (2nd Floor) and the TV did not work. I pointed these things out to the person @ the front desk he came to my room and told me he would be sure to get the TV repaired or change my room the next day. I asked if could get a discount because of my inconvience , he said no he was not the owner. I spoke to the daytime desk person the next day about the Tv not working he said maybe it was a switch.The TV never worked and I was not given another room nor a discount.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraSpice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Stayed there for a couple of nights. The location between Hollywood and downtown is convenient, though this is definitely a no-frills sort of place. Bathroom had been recently redone though room was otherwise unmemorable and old. A good place if you're on a budget and want a relatively "central" location in LA. No breakfast though, a car is a must.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacobM87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Park Plaza Lodge Hotel
Park Plaza Lodge Hotel
#137 of 355 in Los Angeles
313 reviews
Garden Suites Hotel & Resort
#205 of 355 in Los Angeles
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Wilshire Crest Hotel
Wilshire Crest Hotel
#129 of 355 in Los Angeles
420 reviews
Hollywood
Dunes Inn - Sunset
Dunes Inn - Sunset
#99 of 355 in Los Angeles
553 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Downtowner Inn
Hollywood Downtowner Inn
#143 of 355 in Los Angeles
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Inn - Wilshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Inn - Wilshire

Address: 4300 Wilshire Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90010-3702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #248 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range: £75 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dunes Inn - Wilshire 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our property on Wilshire Boulevard, you can experience the highlights of Los Angeles from our central location just miles away from the famous Rodeo Drive, Beverly Center, Miracle Mile and Hollywood. You can choose from a single Queen bed, two Double Beds, two Queen Beds or home-style rooms (if available); a bar and kitchenette. Each room comes with a satellite television, mini-refrigerator, ice box, air conditioning/heating and hairdryer to meet your needs. All rooms are non-smoking for your safety, and valid ID and credit card is required upon checking in, even if the reservation is prepaid. At the Dunes Inn Wilshire, guests can enjoy free wireless internet, covered parking, an ice machine, vending machine, laundry facilities on-site and much more. You can dip your tired feet in our pool after a long day exploring Los Angeles, or simply lounge in the deck area. There are microwaves on the pool deck so you can enjoy a quick meal while relaxing. You can also dine at the Dreams Cafe & Lounge, on-site restaurant to our sister hotel, Dunes Inn Sunset. We suggest taking a walk through the beautiful Hancock Park neighborhood to Larchmont Village for great dining and shopping options closeby. Our location is close to The Farmer’s Market, The Grove, Museum Row on Miracle Mile, Melrose Avenue, the Beverly Center, Beverly Hills and Hollywood Boulevard. You can also take the Metro to nearby Universal Studios, downtown Los Angeles, Santa Monica and many other popular locations in Los Angeles. Dunes Inn Wilshire is 15 miles from the LAX Airport and 10 miles from the Bob Hope/Burbank Airport.The staff at Dunes Inn Wilshire works hard to ensure excellent customer service for all our guests. We are available 24 hours a day to answer any questions, book tours and some shows, along with shuttle service (with a surcharge) to airports or any destination you need. Book a room with us today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dunes Inn - Wilshire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Inn - Wilshire Hotel Los Angeles
Wilshire Dunes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing