We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dunes Inn - Wilshire
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rotex Plaza Hotel(Los Angeles)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oxford Palace Hotel(Los Angeles)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
JJ Grand Hotel(Los Angeles)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The LINE(Los Angeles)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Normandie(Los Angeles)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (193)
Filter reviews
193 results
Traveller rating
18
44
57
37
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
44
57
37
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsparking spaces aretar pitsbudget hotela great place to staydowntown
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 193 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2010

What we liked: The Bathroom was nearly luxurious and very clean, shower was good, the bed was ok and clean, the room was clean, the manager was very friendly and courteous
Not so good: It had an old carpet and the (wooden?) floor was sqeaking when you walked over it. My friend said the room smelled bad but I did not smell it....

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank touristinla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2010

After a full day in LA, we found ourselves too exhausted to drive home, with nowhere to stay. The Ramada Wilshire Center had no vacancies, but we drove a little bit and stumbled upon Dunes Inn. The location was great for us, relatively close to the Wiltern Theater (not walking distance though), and the mostly residential neighborhood--Hancock Park--was quiet and safe. (By safe, I mean, the only entrance is manned by a watchful clerk; there are no vagrants around; nearby are expensive condos, houses, and a few churches; and I would feel comfortable walking around the block, though the streets are quite dark.) The bed was comfortable, but not luxurious. The tv worked fine. Best of all, the bathroom must have been recently renovated, because it was impeccably clean with a nice granite countertop and new tilework. There was a refrigerator, a pool in the atrium, wifi, and a few rooms with a small kitchen, but we didn't use these and can't comment. Since we didn't pay full price, the room was a really great deal. Parking was free and greatly appreciated; since the neighborhood is not within walking distance of restaurants, night life, etc., you'd want to visit with a car. As a side note, some nearby places to visit by car: charming Larchmont Village, Koreatown, Griffith Park & Observatory, Downtown/Japantown, and LACMA. To summarize, Dunes Inn Wilshire is like a Travelodge but with a fancier, cleaner bathroom, and we'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank passiflorabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2010

The nightshift did Not Know Anything about our Reservation. He Gabe us a Small Room witsch smelled from the old carpet. No fridge, microwave or kettle. We cant recommend the Hotel. Too Bad because it is really Central and in a nice quarter.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anygisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2010

I used to stay at The Dunes on every trip to LA. during the late 90's to about 2004. I'm very sad to say that this hotel has really gone down to the dogs.
(I would however not even let my pet stay here)

I was absolutely appalled with my room, even after getting another room which turned out to be even worse than the first. I was locked in due to the result of having my card charged, staying one night, when initially my stay was to be 3 nights.
I slept with my clothes on INCLUDING my shoes, the carpet? OMG!! Sticky to my shoes. There is simply nothing pleasant to say about this property to date.

Maybe back before my time, (I'm 50), she was majestic. But now this property is TIRED, TACKY, & TASTELESS.

I highly recommend the Wilshire Plaza and the Ramada right down the street.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SirAries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2010

Really the price is very, very low for LA and the neighborhood is very nice (Hancock Park) even if the hotel itself is budget. Dad came in from out of town without having reserved anywhere and he needed a place quick--he stayed here because it's as far away from a scary neighborhood as I could get. VERY basic but safe, clean and in a nice neighborhood.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VoyagerLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews