We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn
Ranked #86 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Great and relatively quiet location, both near downtown Los Angeles (Disney Hall, Japantown, Chinatown) and major highways in addition to renovated breakfast room inside hotel and basement parking (with charge).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Bernard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dragongateinn, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn, responded to this review, 20 April 2015
Hello Bernard:

Sorry for the delayed response. Glad you enjoyed your stay at our property. We hope to serve your again.

Regards,

Best Western Plus
Dragon Gate Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    165
    104
    45
    29
See reviews for
143
108
42
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

It was nice that it was near so many chinese restaraunts and bakery. Parking was close and the rooms were nice. Elevator was a little shaky. I was unable to eat the continental breakfast as it was not served until 7:30am and I had to leave at 6:30am.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Guadalupe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folsom, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

The hotel was great and well priced. I chose the hotel because it was in Chinatown and I looked forward to enjoying some Chinese fare. The check in lady was well informed and make an excellent suggestion for dinner. In the morning when I went to check out I asked the front desk lady where to get a bite to eat. She recommended the hotel breakfast but I had to leave before it was being served. I asked about a place across the street. The desk clerk said; " you don't want to eat there it's Chinese." I questioned her regarding the fact that she worked at a Chinese themed hotel in Chinatown, and she said; " I don't recommend those places to Caucasians". I was astounded by this. This seems shameful to not promote the neighbors in your area and assume that Caucasians don't like Chinese food.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baseboy, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us. I'm sorry our morning front desk person dissappointed you. It is our experience with past customers that our morning person didn't recommend the place you wanted to try..

We take recommendations very seriously and when our past customers tell us they don't like a certain place we tend to not send our customers there.

I hope you understand that it wasn't because our staff didn't think you would like Chinese food. It was just that particular business.

I do hope you give us another chance to provide the customer service you deserve.

Regards,
Best Western Plus
Dragon Gate Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

I have stayed here at the Best Western Dragon Gate Inn in the past. I was pleasantly surprise to see the upgrades. The room we stayed in had new flooring and decor. My favorite was the new breakfast area, What a great way to wake up and have a bite to eat right there at the hotel. I will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank 643teresaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baseboy, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Best Western Plus Dragon Gate Inn.. We appreciate your businesss and your great review.

Regards,

Best Western Plus
Dragon Gate Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Best Western PLUS Dragon Gate Inn, Los Angeles, provided a clean and safe environment for my husband and myself. There are small shops coming from the street to the entrance way for registration at the hotel. Restaurants are in walking distance with especially good Asian food. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Carole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Room 302-A Door had 1/2” gap at bottom. Tub Faucet Plating was loose, allowing a Bug to come through and scare my daughter. Tub drained slowly. Beds were Comfortable. TV signal was weak at first until I jiggled wires to box. Breakfast was adequate, i.e., Waffles, pancakes, Sausages, hard-boiled eggs, Orange and Apple Juice, Coffee,Bagels, Asst Muffins, Fruits, Cold cereals Security: Appreciated the need for Room Key-Card to reach upper floors. Great Location for quick Fwy access to Nokia Center, Fashion District and Griffith Observatory/Hollywood.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Wayne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brazil, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

This hotel was so amazing, the design with open courtyard, so cool. the rooms and service were excellent. Close to so much. I felt safe even at night taking my dog out, pet friendly in this area was big plus

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Metro Plaza Hotel
#138 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Downtown
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
#50 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Royal Pagoda Motel
#154 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express - Los Angeles Downtown West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn
Address: 818 N Hill St, Los Angeles, CA 90012-2395
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#68 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Dragon Gate Hotel Los Angeles
Best Western Los Angeles
Los Angeles Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing