We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great small motel in the heart of China Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn
Ranked #85 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great small motel in the heart of China Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

The location being near down town Los Angeles and Dodger stadium makes this an ideal location. It is a small well, kept, property with a good breakfast. (Will do eggs "your way" upon request.. Clean, quiet, good choice.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Sonnshot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baseboy, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for choosing our property.. We appreciate your business. Regards and safe travels, Best Western Plus Dragon Gate Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    167
    105
    46
    29
See reviews for
145
111
42
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corvallis, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Excellent location, AC fails, toilet must be hand flushed, shower does not drain for 2 days , room stinks due to AC not working correctly, One stupid elevator that goes to floor it picks , and long line to get on elevator most the time, parking is an extra charge unknown until I arrived !! Room rate increases when they feel like raising it , day two was 25% higher than day 1...It is a terrible place....good employee staff is saving quality...

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baseboy, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Patrick M; We apologize that you didn't not enjoy your stay with us. Let me itemize your issues here.

1. When there are issues with your room, please let the front desk know. If you a/c wasn't working properly, you just let us know and we replace your a/c or upgrade you to a different room. If you don't tell us, we will never now.

2. Your issues with the elevator picking its own floor. I wish I could tell you that the elevator is haunted but its not. You must slide your security key to activate the elevator and it wil take you to your floor. As for a long line of people waiting for the elevator, this happens at almost every property that is popular and is in high demand.

3. You rates are too high.. I'm sorry that you didn't like your rate. However, market forces dictates what we can and can't charge for a particular stay. We happen to be in a very high demand area and rates will change daily depending on what is happening in town. We always price our property below what our other competitors charge.

4. Parking charges,, we are a downtown property.. ALL downtown properties charge for parking. We ONLY charge $10 as compared to other downtown properties that charge upwards of $40 per night.

Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay but these are the reasons why things are done this way.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Sonoma, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Although the interior of the building does show some age, the building is clean and well maintained. The linens and furniture were new. Excellent cable channel selection. The staff has to be some of the friendliest I have ever encountered. They were attentive and professional. The parking attendant from the valet parking vendor was quick to move and got vehicles to their owners with a minimal wait.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Modesto L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dragongateinn, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for staying with our property the Best Western Plus Dragon Gate Inn. I will let the staff know you appreciate their great service.

Regards and safe travels,

Best Western Plus
Dragon Gate Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOS ANGELES (CHINA TOWN), United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Excellent location. Near some of the best restaurants. Near bargain shopping. Real old world Asian experience. Near Korean Town, which has great restaurants also. There is easy access to the highways. The staff was very professional and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dragongateinn, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear George:

Thank you for choosing our property, the Best Western Plus Dragon Gate Inn.. I will share your response with our team. They always work hard to serve our customers.

Regards,

Best Western Plus
Dragon Gate Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Valley, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

I found the hotel and the neighborhood clean and safe. I usually stay in full service properties since I travel often on business, but the convention in town limited my options this time. I was very pleasantly surprised to fined this place so close to the convention center.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Toddy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baseboy, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for giving our property a chance to compete with the full service hotels. Our staff takes great pride in providing great customer service and cleaniness to our guests.

Regards,

Best Western Plus
Dragon Gate Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabethtown, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

I have stayed at many hotels, large chains and smaller independent. The staff at this hotel is by far the most pleasant and helpful I have ever experienced. The room is very clean and the hotel location is great.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baseboy, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Jeaninie:

Thank you for choosing our property for your lodging needs. I will share your compliments with our staff. The staff takes great pride in providing outstanding customer service.

Regards and safe travels,

Best Western Plus
Dragon Gate Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vezzano Ligure, Liguria, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

It was the first stop in our California tour. We stayed there for a week in July and we didn't have the occasion to complaint about anything. Room spacey, service pleasant and punctual, a complete breakfast. The place is good for reaching downtown in some minutes.
Good advice!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cristian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baseboy, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Cristian:

Thank you for staying with us at the Best Western Plus Dragon Gate Inn for such an extended time. We are very happy that the service our employees provided for your week long stayed was consistent to your expectations.

Our staff takes great pride in providing great customer care.

Regards and safe travels,

Best Western Plus
Dragon Gate Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Metro Plaza Hotel
#137 of 349 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Royal Pagoda Motel
#155 of 349 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Downtown
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
#54 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#36 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn
Address: 818 N Hill St, Los Angeles, CA 90012-2395
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#68 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Dragon Gate Hotel Los Angeles
Best Western Los Angeles
Los Angeles Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing