We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warning! Stay Away, all positive reviews are from hotel!”
Review of The Mayfair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Mayfair Hotel
Ranked #244 of 354 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The front of the hotel you see is not a current picture. It is run down in side and out. Unless you are less than 5 feet tall and under 100 lbs, the so called queen bed will not accomodate you. All the positive reviews you are reading are from hotel employees. Please take my advice, the hotel is horrible. Lerch (Allen) at the front desk is as helpful as an automated phone recording. He kept repeating the same thing over and over when asked different questions. His boss/manager Morticia(Manu) stayed in her office to avoid assisting customers that had questions about the cleanliness of the rooms. Unless you have been in prison and prefer substandard conditions, this hotel is not for you. The fake Australian customer said walking distance, but to what. This is not downtown. If you walk anywhere you better have police escort, not a good neighborhood!

Room Tip: This hotel rates a big ZERO
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
5  Thank Mamacita2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayfairLA, General Manager at The Mayfair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear Mamacita2, thank you for taking your valuable time to share your recent stay. Certainly we are disappointed in your very negative review of our hotel. Let me assure you that we have never self posted any reviews. Trip Advisor has programs in place that prevent that from happening. The Mayfair is an older hotel. However we are only 60 days away from a complete renovation of our entire hotel. I am confident that all questions that you may have concerning our product will be answered by this renovation. As to your comments to our neighborhood, had you walked to LA Live, the Staples Center, the Nokia Theater and the many great restaurants in the area you would have seen how close these great venues are and how safe the walk is. As a gesture of good faith, I personally would like to invite you to come back to the Mayfair after our renovation and experience the change in the hotel. Sincerely, Mike Shoffit, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

230 - 236 of 502 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed here twice, at the start and end of the trip. First room was okay, with a great view, clean. But the second room was a shoebox and the shower was very dangerous - there was a 'step' in the shower making it very easy to slip over. My advice to any traveller would be to not stay in Downtown unless you are on business - but it was cheap and close to the freeways when you drive!

Room Tip: Don't stay in Downtown - nothing to do there!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drivenunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayfairLA, General Manager at The Mayfair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Drivenunder, thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay. The Mayfair has many different types and sizes of rooms; like many historic hotels, we do have some rooms that have small bathrooms. Our upcoming renovation that will starts in a couple of months will convert many of this small bath rooms to showers with modern fixtures that will enhance the look and feel of the bathroom. There are lots of exciting things happening at the Mayfair. Please come back and see all the improvements. Thank you again for your comments. Sincerely, Mike Shoffit, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Fantastic value for LA close to subway easy to get around from here. Staff wonderful so helpful. Concierges are gems so good. Don't let older guy on desk ring a cab must be a mate of his and we were ripped off. Not a yellow cab but a black car. Only let concierge order cabs insist. Clean, large rooms we have a great stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayfairLA, General Manager at The Mayfair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear Trish W, thank you for taking your valuable time to share with us about your recent stay. I am delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us and very glad that you were pleased with the service provided by our staff, rest assured your comments will be passed. While we are looking forward to our upcoming transformation, we will continue to focus on our exceptional service. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Mike Shoffit, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
2  Thank Bernard W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MayfairLA, General Manager at The Mayfair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I stayed here for a conference downtown and its location is in close proximity. However, it is in poor shape. The entire carpet firstly is dated beyond belief and stained. To the point that it has an odor. In the particular roomi had the air conditioning unit did not work and they told me they would get it fixed by the time I got back that day. When I got back it was still not working. The gorgeous young lady at the desk moved me to a different room however it was still not much better. This air conditioner cooled but did not heat. Also, the shower head was bent so far towards the wall that I cud not wash the soap off of my body. Not to mention hot water was not existent.

I'm not asking for much. I do understand your trying to operate the Mayfair as an economy/budget hotel. But functional and working things are a must.

Room Tip: Until upgrades are made stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank damien w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayfairLA, General Manager at The Mayfair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear Damien W, thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay. We appreciate your comments both positive and where we need to improve. We are very much aware of the condition of the guest room. While we look forward to our upcoming renovation that will address a number of the issues you highlighted, we will look to improve upon the service we provide. A lot of new exciting things are happening at the Mayfair, I hope you consider visiting us again as we are committed towards an exceptional guest experience and would like the opportunity to recover. Thank you again for your comments. Sincerely, Mike Shoffit, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

It was a good comfortable hotel, it's kind of old, but really nice. The rooms are wide and equipped, with a refrigerator, freezer and microwave. Big and comfortable beds. Clean.

The guy at the front desk at the chekin wasn't helpfull, but the one in the tourism desk was really helpfull and friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank candela c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayfairLA, General Manager at The Mayfair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Candela C, thank you for taking your valuable time to share with us about your recent stay. I am delighted that your experience was comfortable and satisfying. Thank you for your comments about our concierge, I will definitely pass it along and I apologize for the service you received from our Front Desk agent. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction. I would like to inform you that the hotel will undergo a full renovation top to bottom starting in a couple of months. There are lots of exciting things happening at the Mayfair. Please come back and see all the improvements. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Mike Shoffit, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We managed to book this hotel through the daily deal on expedia so it was only $55 a night. At that price I cannot complain. However if I were to pay more, I certainly would! We could see that it used to be a grand hotel and the location is smack dab in the center of town. As it was, the rooms were clean. The accomodations rather sparce. The service desk person was very helpful and friendly. The only real complaint we had was the lack of blankets. The bed only had one very thin one and when we tried to get more, the staff were unable to find any. So we froze most of the night. Otherwise it was a surprisingly quiet hotel with very little outside noise, the views were great. The bathroom was small but serviceable. As I mentioned, everything was clean, but showed extreme wear. Apparently they are planning on renovating the hotel. If that were the case, then this place could be a really nice spot and worth more for a stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicolette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayfairLA, General Manager at The Mayfair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Nicolette H, thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay. We appreciate your comments both positive and where we need to improve. It's truly rewarding when a guest recognizes the staff for their warm and friendly service and takes the time to share that with us. Our upcoming renovation will start very soon and will address a number of the issues you highlighted while we continue to focus on our exceptional service. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to your next visit. Mike Shoffit, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hotel Solaire Los Angeles
#191 of 354 in Los Angeles
385 reviews
Central L.A
Ramada Los Angeles/Downtown West
Ramada Los Angeles/Downtown West
#181 of 354 in Los Angeles
623 reviews
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#32 of 354 in Los Angeles
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
O Hotel
O Hotel
#152 of 354 in Los Angeles
456 reviews
Downtown
Millennium Biltmore Los Angeles
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 354 in Los Angeles
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mayfair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mayfair Hotel

Address: 1256 W 7th St, Los Angeles, CA 90017-2346 (Formerly Historic Mayfair Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £103 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Mayfair Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Mayfair Hotel in the heart of downtown Los Angeles was the tallest building west of the Mississippi when it was built in 1926. We maintain the American charm of the Roaring Twenties with marble floors, brass fixtures, glass etchings, and fluted column pillars. Modern amenities have been added for your comfort while preserving the grandeur of Old World elegance. With 295 rooms available for guests with King, Queen, Twin full sized or single beds, the Historic Mayfair Hotel offers an affordable stay surrounded by the vibrancy of city life. Our convenient location allows guests to explore all of Los Angeles from the beautiful hillsides of Beverly Hills to the cultural hotspots of Hollywood. If you're looking for a home away from home enjoy our junior suites with a lounge area, refrigerator, and microwave, or our executive suite with a dining room and kitchenette. The Celebrity, our onsite dining, serves a full breakfast daily with a variety of hot and cold options for guests. The location of the first post Academy Awards party in 1929, the Historic Mayfair Hotel is the optimal choice for those looking to discover the architecture, culture and history of Los Angeles at reasonable rates. Our tenured and experienced staff is here to make you feel relaxed and comfortable at our hotel, and ensure that you have a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mayfair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel Los Angeles
Mayfair Los Angeles
Mayfair Hotel La

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing