We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TWO OUT OF THREE”
Review of The Mayfair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Mayfair Hotel
Ranked #238 of 353 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 25 July 2014

TWO OUT OF THREE

There are three flagpoles over the front marquee of the Mayfair, with two flags flying, except in the photo on the webpage, which has three. This is emblematic.

We stayed there for 10 days in July 2014. What’s right with this hotel:
1) Clean and reasonably spacious rooms, at least in the case of room 1018
2) Polite staff, well informed concierge
3) Good connectivity, 24/7, though a bit slower than at the Biltmore, where we had stayed the previous week.
4) Moderate prices. We paid $122 for a double, before tax, booking online through Trivago.
5) Laundromat and 7-11 nearby; Subway and Mexican restaurants are two blocks away. Walking towards town on 7th Street, you find two Thai restaurants in the first two blocks, one on each side of the street.
6) Four blocks from the restaurants and shopping on Figueroa.

Sadly, the hotel is no longer in the best part of town, and women should not go out alone in the neighborhood here at night. The restaurant serves a very acceptable full breakfast for $12.95, but no lunch or dinner. You can phone for pizza or go to any of half a dozen restaurants nearby or, four blocks away, on Figueroa.

We heard worries expressed about the drinking water, so bought bottled water from the vending machines and 7-11.

The fitness center is small and was not in good shape on our arrival. The treadmill, not working on our arrival, was repaired.

We did not see too many upscale clients during our stay there. I witnessed one post-midnight altercation at the reception, which was settled when the well sized night concierge intervened to calm things down.

My fear is that the management has heard these points made before, but knows that putting in improvements, especially an all hours restaurant, might price them out of reach to their present clientele.

Room Tip: Seventh Street has much noise from police cars and fire engines, so a room on the upper stories, awa...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank constanttraveler71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayfairLA, General Manager at The Mayfair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Constanttraveler71, Thank you very much for taking time to let us know about your recent stay at the Mayfair Hotel. I wanted to let you know that the third flag on the pole is being redone as we speak. We are starting a full renovation of the hotel and that includes the logo which was represented by the third flag. The renovation will encompass all the guest rooms as well as the public space. With the renovation of the public, there will be several new restaurants which will offer three meals a day as well as a full service bar. Let me assure you that the water service in the hotel is the same as in any restaurant or hotel in Los Angeles. There should be no concerns. Please come back and see the New Mayfair Hotel next year. I am confident any concerns you had will disappear. Thanks again for your comments. Sincerely, Mike Shoffit, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (492)
There are newer reviews for The Mayfair Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

207 - 213 of 492 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

This place can only be described as tired. It is barely fit for purpose, and gave us the impression that cleaners were not employed in this hotel. Chosen only for its location, my mother and I spent 5 nights out of 12 in LA here and it was pretty miserable.

The room we were initially given had twin beds that wouldn't fit 13 year old and a broken chest of drawers. We wouldn't even set our bags down so we were shown to a queen room down the hall. This room was SMALLER leaving very little room as the bed took up most of it. When pushing the bed away to look for a ring I had dropped we saw a ridiculous amount of crisp packets and other rubbish to make clear that no cleaning had taken place under there for some time. Air con was fine and we were comfortable however the hotel seemed to be at the start of a shifty neighbourhood. There was something suspiciously resembling a bullet hole in the window.

Booked through Expedia and was told we'd have free breakfast, was not the case! Had to pay $10 on the days we decided to bother but it wasn't much worth it. Would never return to this hotel in a million years but the area is a good distance from the hotspots and has great transport links.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gladzy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayfairLA, General Manager at The Mayfair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Gladzy12, Thank you for taking time to give us feed back about your recent stay at the Mayfair Hotel. Yes we do have a few rooms that have twin size beds but that will all go away with our upcoming renovation. Our renovation starts in September and every room as well as the public space will be completely redone. While the renovation will not change the size of the rooms, it will give each room a new and different look and feel. I do apologize for the trash under the bed. There is no excuse for that being there. I will double check our listing on all the third party channels to make sure all listing concerning the charge for breakfast are correct. We do offer a bed and breakfast package, where breakfast is included for the price, but otherwise there is a charge for breakfast.

I would love to have you come back and visit us after the renovation. I am confident that all of your concerns will be cleared up by the brand new hotel we will have to offer. Again thanks for letting us know about your visit. Sincerely, Mike Shoffit, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We travelled here as a family of four women arriving mid morning we were able to check in and then we decided to go sightseeing to keep us awake after our long flight. The concierge was very helpful, 7 Eleven next door and also a laundromat. To the left of the hotel was a Spanish speaking district which can be a little daunting to some, but to the right of the hotel and a little walk your in downtown LA business district. The hotel was not new and modern but it was clean and our room which was a double/double was a good size for us and also a reasonable price, Transport was great with a bus stop out the front door and a short walk would take you to downtown subway.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank SSCREW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayfairLA, General Manager at The Mayfair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear SS Crew, Thank you for taking time to let us know about your recent stay at The Mayfair. I am delighted to hear that it was "Exactly what you needed". The Mayfair does have a great location and it is easy to get to all the attractions either walking downtown or on the Metro to all the other areas.

The Mayfair will be starting a full renovation of the hotel in September of this year. We will redo all the guest rooms and all the public space. It is going to be very exciting and you will not recognize the Mayfair one year from now. Please come back next year and experience the "New" Mayfair. You will be very pleased. Thanks again for letting us know about your recent visit. Sincerely, Mike Shoffit, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Nice front office staff. Very cooperative. Newly done up rooms.
Wish they provided free Internet in room and had a resturant for dinner. They have arrangements for local sightseeing , airport shuttle etc.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gautam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayfairLA, General Manager at The Mayfair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Gautam G, thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay. We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgement of a positive nature. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. It's truly rewarding when a guest recognizes the staff for their warm and friendly service and takes the time to share that with us, rest assured your comments will be passed. While we are looking forward to our upcoming transformation, we will continue to focus on our exceptional service. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Mike Shoffit, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stay away from this hotel! Unless you have an emergency situation, I would not recommend this hotel. The hotel is extremely dated, and there were stains all over the floor in our room. It's worth it to pay a lil extra and stay at a nicer hotel. Don't be fooled by the 4 star reviews on here.

Pros- AC, tv (but it's a very old set), hot shower, clean sheets (I guess), Iron

Cons- We purchased a package for free breakfast, but the hotel would NOT honor the purchase! They said we need to speak with the travel site we booked with for a refund! I'm not sure why they are allowing a travel site to advertise a free breakfast that they are not going to honor. Very poor customer service. They were not accomodating at all. When we walked into the room, we had to ask the maid to give us a shower curtain (???), and for 2 of our 3 day stay we had to call and ask for clean towels.

Thank God we did not have to spend much of our time here. The management should really be ashamed to be running a poor establishment like this.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayfairLA, General Manager at The Mayfair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Kristen C, thank you for taking time to let us know about your recent visit to the Mayfair. Let me apologize for the poor service you received. There is no excuse for not having the shower curtain already in the room. We do take them down on a regular basis to clean them but the room should have been inspected prior to any guest arrival. If you needed towels in the early morning you would have to call for new ones. If it was after the room was cleaned then again that is a housekeeping issue. While I don't like hearing these things, it guests like you that help us get better.

As far as the hotel being "tired", I want to let you know that in September we will be starting a full renovation of the Mayfair. The project will take approximately a year and will include all the guest rooms and all the public space. You will not recognize The Mayfair in the future. I invite you back to see the "New" Mayfair late next year. Thanks again for taking time to let me know about your stay at the Mayfair. Sincerely, Mike Shoffit, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I really didn't like this hotel, in fact we left before the second night of our reservation. It is cheap and you do get what you pay for but this was a bit much. The rug was dirty. Some people complained the headboards in their rooms were broken. We didn't have any. There were sheets on the bed without a comforter. The bathroom was small, which is OK. BUT the hair dryer was plugged into an extension cord which had to be over the sink to plug in. If you are left handed you are lucky that you will be able to blow dry your hair. Being right handed presented a problem. My arm kept hitting the wall. You have to shut the bathroom door to get in the tub.

My feet were BLACK after a short time of walking around. I had to (close the door to) wash my feet. It is well worn and tired. I read a review where the person said suck it up. Well, that's true. If you want to go cheap and really don't care, then stay there. I personally couldn't do it.

Also, I have researched and researched and I can't figure out how it is "historic". There are videos on YouTube which are funny but truly show the rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Renee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayfairLA, General Manager at The Mayfair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Renee L, thank you for taking your valuable time to share your feedback about your recent stay. We're certainly disappointed to hear how badly your stay went. We strive to ensure each guest is provided with excellent service and we apologize if that did not occur. While we look forward to our upcoming renovation that will address all of the issues you highlighted, we will look to improve upon the service we provide. A lot of new exciting things are happening at the Mayfair, I hope you consider visiting us again as we are committed towards an exceptional guest experience and would like the opportunity to recover. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Mike Shoffit, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I only stayed one night here, and had an extremely small room..I could just enter the room and jump into bed (almost). The bath was small too with old utilities

The positive side:
- Great view over the city
- Location reported to downtown and bus lines
- Great & helpful personal..
- Tea and coffee in the room

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ioana_Cis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayfairLA, General Manager at The Mayfair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Loana_Cis, thank you for taking your valuable time to share your feedback about your recent stay. We appreciate your comments, both positive and where we need to improve. We take comments such as yours seriously as we are constantly looking to improve and to provide an experience to our guests which is memorable. While we look forward to our upcoming renovation that will address a number of the issues you highlighted, we will look to improve upon the service we provide. A lot of new exciting things are happening at the Mayfair, I hope you consider visiting us again as we are committed towards an exceptional guest experience and would like the opportunity to recover. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Mike Shoffit, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hotel Solaire Los Angeles
#177 of 353 in Los Angeles
381 reviews
Central L.A
Ramada Los Angeles/Downtown West
Ramada Los Angeles/Downtown West
#183 of 353 in Los Angeles
610 reviews
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#31 of 353 in Los Angeles
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Millennium Biltmore Los Angeles
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 353 in Los Angeles
753 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mayfair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mayfair Hotel

Address: 1256 W 7th St, Los Angeles, CA 90017-2346 (Formerly Historic Mayfair Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £97 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Mayfair Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Mayfair Hotel in the heart of downtown Los Angeles was the tallest building west of the Mississippi when it was built in 1926. We maintain the American charm of the Roaring Twenties with marble floors, brass fixtures, glass etchings, and fluted column pillars. Modern amenities have been added for your comfort while preserving the grandeur of Old World elegance. With 295 rooms available for guests with King, Queen, Twin full sized or single beds, the Historic Mayfair Hotel offers an affordable stay surrounded by the vibrancy of city life. Our convenient location allows guests to explore all of Los Angeles from the beautiful hillsides of Beverly Hills to the cultural hotspots of Hollywood. If you're looking for a home away from home enjoy our junior suites with a lounge area, refrigerator, and microwave, or our executive suite with a dining room and kitchenette. The Celebrity, our onsite dining, serves a full breakfast daily with a variety of hot and cold options for guests. The location of the first post Academy Awards party in 1929, the Historic Mayfair Hotel is the optimal choice for those looking to discover the architecture, culture and history of Los Angeles at reasonable rates. Our tenured and experienced staff is here to make you feel relaxed and comfortable at our hotel, and ensure that you have a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Mayfair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel Los Angeles
Mayfair Los Angeles
Mayfair Hotel La

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing