We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Alive by day, deserted bye night” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills
Ranked #44 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Alive by day, deserted bye night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

The Palomar is a great hotel that is centrally located, too centrally located with the exception of UCLA you have to drive or take a taxi everywhere, especially for some night life. The lobby is inviting yet small, the bar has a lot of potential but didn't seem to have a crowd. The rooms were great, very clean, nice amenities, room service was quick and delicious especially the omelette. Parking was expensive at $34 a night but I guess that's fairly standard in la. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RWSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chamho, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Dear RWSD,

Thank you for staying with us and I love hearing you'll come back! As noted in your review, we are centrally located so activities in Hollywood, Santa Monica, Beverly Hills and Downtown LA are a short drive away...

Hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,

Albert Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    840
    498
    150
    64
    52
See reviews for
423
467
135
418
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
atlanta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

My husband and I selected the Hotel Palomar in the Westwood area of Los Angeles to be near the apartment of our son and daughter-in-law. We have now stayed there three times.
We visited Kimpton Hotel Monaco in Chicago several times and loved the vibe, so we thought the Kimpton Hotel Palomar would be similar. Actually is is better. The staff is young and very just plain nice. We are a youngish 60-ish and sometimes experience patronizing staff when we travel. We have gotten to know the concierge, desk people and our especially our waitress, Shannon as very helpful and attentive. By the time we left, we were getting hugs.
The decor is fun. The fireplace and sitting areas, fruit water, coffee and wine available at various times in the lobby is welcoming and modern. The room is modern and fun- a terrific view of LA outside and funky clashing patterns and colors inside - Red lacquer bedside tables, black tweedy chaise, snake skin drawer-fronts on the console, a turquoise roll pillow on the bed, a black fur throw and of course the animal skin pattern terry bathrobes. Lots of drawer space and a good closet. The bathroom door is a red sliding "barn door". Every room is exactly alike right down to the art on the walls - its like having your own place when you are in town. The restaurant staff is friendly and attentive. We brought our own gluten free bread for toast - no problem. Parking your rental is expensive, but there is no extra charge for bringing the car up. Also, when our car couldn't be picked up until after the day after we were through with it, the desk waived our parking fee.
The hotel is walking distance from Westwood Village, the UCLA campus, 3 or 4 movie theaters, and the Hammer museum. The Palomar is about 2 miles from the beach. Walk south on Westwood and you'll find another wonderful neighborhood with Persian and Israeli shops and restaurants.
We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We think the best view is towards the back. It is very sunny and you can see the ocean if you have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samawatha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chamho, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Dear Samawatha,

We are all about making connections with our guests and making you feel like family! I was so happy to learn that after a few days with Shannon hugs were involved; a little hug can go a long way!

Until next time,

Albert Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san clemente, CA
Level Contributor
207 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

Had one night stay while attending concert at UCLA. Chose after seeing TA reviews and proximity to UCLA. I had not previously stayed at a Kimpton hotel. Would definitely stay here again. Booking was easy thru their website. Customer service was obviously a priority. They were very attentive at check-in. They had a nice complimentary wine bar every evening. Coffee bar in AM. Had nice extras like bikes to use, info on jogging trails, board games to play in lobby. Exercise room is very nice with many machines available. Rooms are well appointed. Asked for and got a high level room with nice city view. Will definitely stay here again. Only negative is valet parking is high at $37, but think this is par for the area,

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westphillyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chamho, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Dear Westphillyboy,

Sounds like your stay with us was seemless and smooth. I'm so happy you felt our employees were attentive and I'm very appreciative for your loyalty to Kimpton!

Best Regards,

Albert Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
254 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

I stayed here for a night in September and really did enjoy it. I was a little surprised about how the taxes and the parking charge added up, but I'm glad I stayed here. I particularly enjoyed many of the small touches that make Kimpton hotels unique. Number 1 was definitely the wine happy hour from 5-6 in the lobby., Just a nice, civilized thing that the hotel does. I enjoyed the selections of red and white wine. My room was spacious and the bathroom big. I particularly liked the expansive views my room had looking south over the city. I ordered room service in the morning and the food came quickly.l All the options on the menu were standard, but with a twist. i had the fruit and granola bowl, but it came with Acai berry juice drizzled over it. Very unique. Really enjoyed it. Valet service for my car was quick and expedient. Overall, I stayed here because it was a Kimpton and I do like the chain. While I liked it, I would reconsider staying here in the future if my business in LA wasnt right in the immediate Westwood or perhaps Beverly Hills area as transit can take awhile. Still, I liked it and would recommend it for those staying in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a view south facing - overlooking the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jasoncrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chamho, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Dear Jasoncrh,

It appears you really enjoyed our Chef's food; thank you so much for pointing that out in your wonderful review of our hotel!

I'm also happy you enjoyed wine hour and the spacious room...hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,

Albert Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
200 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

I'm a fan of Kimpton hotels anyway but this one really went over and above what I would expect. The location is great. On a not-too-busy part of Wilshire Blvd, near Westwood and not so far from downtown. What makes it stand apart from others is the way the guests are treated. When I mentioned to the desk clerk that I was leaving too early for the morning tea/coffee, he offered to send up a tea kettle (I bring my own tea bags) to my room! Never happened before. It's a little detail but was really appreciated. The fitness center is larger than I would have expected althought some of the cardio equipment wasn't working very well. The room is typically Kimpton...well appointed and thoughtful for business travel. This is now my hotel when I'm in LA.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chamho, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Dear Mauibear,

It's great to see intuitive service is alive and well at the Palomar and I really appreciate that you commented on it!

Thank you for your loyalty to Kimpton and we hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,

Albert Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

Stayed at the Palomar for 5 days and everyone was unfailingly nice from moment we arrived to when we left for the airport. Was there on work so was great to have a WiFi in the room that worked continuously (at another hotel that I have to log on every 10 minutes or so). The hotel food was really good. Blvd 16 (I think) served a solid selection of food. Especially liked their chilaquiles. And everyone was friendly and helpful. I was waiting for family to pick me up and they were late. Christine in Blvd 16 noticed I had been waiting and suggested I move to the bar to watch the game and get a snack. She procured me chips (not on the menu) and got me something to drink for free. Was nice and definitely took the edge off. Very much recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chamho, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Dear Matt,

It sounds like our restaurant team took great care of you and many thanks for including that on your review!

Best Regards,

Albert Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL, USA
Level Contributor
133 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

I was in LA on business and was put up here by my company. The hotel is very nice. The staff were very nice. I had left my telephone charging cable at the previous hotel on this business trip, and the hotel let me charge my phone each night at the lobby so I'd have a phone for business each day.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank orlandotennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chamho, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Dear Orlandotennis,

Thank you for the wonderful review and shout out for how well the staff took care of you! We hope to see you again soon and please let me know if I can help out with reservations.

Best Regards,

Albert Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Westside
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
#26 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Westside
W Los Angeles - West Beverly Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Kimpton Hotel Wilshire
Kimpton Hotel Wilshire
#76 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
The Garland
#9 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,850 reviews
Westside
InterContinental Los Angeles Century City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills
Address: 10740 Wilshire Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90024
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#9 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#12 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#18 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#22 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palomar Los Angeles – Westwood is a stunner of a boutique hotel in Los Angeles’ most vibrantly beautiful neighborhood. Located on Wilshire Boulevard’s Golden Mile, this stylish “Art in Motion” hotel is steps from UCLA, Westwood Village, Rodeo Drive and Beverly Hills. The luxurious guestrooms feature sweeping city views and modern artistic décor. Blvd 16 offers a stylish and comfortable setting for guests to enjoy fresh and flavorful cuisine using local sustainable products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp and Southall Travel so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Los Angeles
Los Angeles Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing