We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay at the Palomar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills
Ranked #39 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Comfortable Stay at the Palomar”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Palomar from July 5-8. We were dropping our daughter off at UCLA and visiting our two older boys. The Hotel is nice, contemporary furnishings, and very clean. We had a room on the south side with an excellent view from an upper floor. The valet service was excellent as the car was up front when we requested and the valet's were very polite.
The only issue was the front desk. We requested an extra set of towels from the front desk to be delivered to our room. It took three times before the towels were delivered. We then requested that the roll away bed be removed from the room, that took two requests. The front desk was never very busy, so someone was not paying attention.
The bed was very comfortable, the TV was a large flat screen and the shower was excellent.

Room Tip: Request a high floor on the south side for an excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kgoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HotelPalomar, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
KLGColorado,
Glad you were able to join us while visiting the Westwood area. Though we are glad you enjoyed the hotel we are disappointed of the number of request you had to make. One request is acceptable for us but five is not acceptable. We will look at what happened and get this corrected. Have a great summer and we look forward to future visits without the hiccups.

Thank You
Robert Cole
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    864
    523
    155
    66
    55
See reviews for
438
485
139
430
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philly
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I'm a regular at Kimpton Hotels. They are very well run and comfortable. This one was sub-par. I found their house keeping left a lot to be desired. I had to ask for things like toilet paper and clean glasses - the room was not cleaned until I called - after 3:30pm - just annoyances that I don't want to deal with. We stayed 3 nights. On the morning we were checking out they knocked on the door to clean the room at 10am!

I also had issue with staff. I rely on hotel staff for help with things when I travel from out of town. They didn't know things. I wanted to use the hotel bikes - two for a 16 floor hotel - of course they were never available! I asked if there was a rental place close by. They didn't know. Asked about getting to a local concert venue - The Greek Theatre - hadn't heard of it, or Griffith Park were it was located. These things were disappointing, but perhaps I've come to expect too much.

On the positive side, the rooms are nice. The location, while it is not super close to restaurants and things, is close enough. We found a bike shop near the UCLA campus that rented us bikes and we got around that way - really beat driving in LA. We drove to the beach one day - 4.5 miles - it took us 40 minutes to get back to the hotel. Crazy.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BiancaPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HotelPalomar, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
BiancaPhilly,

Sorry we off our game during your visit especially with you being a Kimpton fan. The things you asked were not mission impossible type stuff and understand why you would be frustrated. We will circle back with the team and make sure we are sharper next time. Glad you were able to find a bike rental place because traffic in LA can be trying on the nerves, especially when heading toward the beaches. We hope you enjoy your summer and promise a more seamless visit in the future.

Thank You
Robert Cole
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My wife and I spent four days here and found it very comfortable and convenient. The room was amply sized and equipped with everything we needed for a business-pleasure trip. The staff was, without exception, friendly and efficient. Valet parking, while expensive, was very quick. The exercise room had a good selection of aerobic machines and dumbells, but little else for strength training. The hotel's décor was unusual in an interesting sort of way and added to the adventure of the trip. The hotel offers little bonuses in the form of wine in the lobby and a good selection of newspapers in the morning. We definitely recommend the Palomar. The only thing I'dchange would be to add seals at the bottom of the room doors to eliminate noise from the hall - which wasn't that bad a problem, just one that could be abated.

Room Tip: A high floor on the south side will have spectacular city views. On the north side, you can see the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reid A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HotelPalomar, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Reid A,
Thank you for the review and the kind words about the staff. We think they are what makes Hotel Palomar great. We have heard the comments about the fitness center and we will be refreshing that area the first week of August, so stay tuned. Glad you were able to join us in the lobby for AM coffee and Wine hour in the evening, we love the social aspect of both. Great suggestion about the seal strip on the doors we have sent it to our engineering department to see what can be done. Hope you have a great summer and come visit us again.

Thank You
Robert Cole
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed at the Palomar over the labor day holiday- while attending a wedding in LA. Clean hotel, modern rooms, great service. The pool is not huge, but still pleasant and relaxing! Would definitely go back! Booked though Priceline Expess- for a bargain!! Which was a huge bonus!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frequent_Travelers01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HotelPalomar, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Frequent_Traveler,

Glad you enjoyed your visit to LA and who doesn’t love weddings. Thank you for the feedback about the hotel and we couldn’t agree with you more about the service. The pool area is a nice retreat from the hustle and bustle of LA. Have a great summer and come visit us again.

Thank You
Robert Cole
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The hotel is really nice, pool, decent bar. I had a suite, which was extremely comfortable and spacious. There was no complimentary water which considering the room rate did seem very tight on their part. The quirky bike loan scheme is quite nice and something different. You are in easy walking distance of Westwood eateries and a stones throw from UCLA.
We had breakfast and dinner in the restaurant, both were pretty pricey (again breakfast wasnt included in the room rate) In both cases, both meals were bordering on burnt. The boutique hamburger we had for dinner was swamped with fries, but the patty and bun were a dark brown, almost burnt. Again the breakfast, the bacon was like a stick, so very overcooked and burned.
I'd stay there again, but I wouldn't consider eating there.
The evening wine tasting is quaint, and I had a very lovely vodka punch, which I never drink.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front are on Wilshire, so if you're a light sleeper, ask for a room facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LukeTrippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HotelPalomar, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
LukeTrippy,

Thanks for the review. Overall we are glad to see you enjoyed the hotel however we see there are some areas for us to work on. Though we don’t offer water in the room, we have fruit infused water in the lobby. We get many comments such as yours about the bikes being something different and a nice touch, sorry for any confusion with the release form for bike usage. The dining experience at our restaurant doesn’t sound like the typical experience we here from guest we must have been off our game. Your comments will be reviewed with the team. Glad you were able to join us for wine hour and the summer cooler you describe is excellent. Have a great summer and hope to see you in the future.

Thank You
Robert Cole
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We spent 9 days here and found it to be quite comfortable. We had a spacious suite which was just perfect for our needs. The staff was especially helpful in making sure that we were comfortable.
There is room for improvement in making the pool more accessible for those with disabilities. The elevator broke down on several occasions. However, the staff tried very hard to accommodate this situation. Hopefully, the elevator will be replaced.
The doormen were especially helpful to us as were the front desk members. We definitely look forward to returning when we are back in Los Angeles, and we are certainly Kimpton fans! We definitely felt that the staff cares about their guests and does everything to be helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolanddavid_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HotelPalomar, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Carolanddavid,

So happy to hear from one of our Kimpton Fans. We are glad you enjoyed yourself in your LA home and we couldn’t agree more that the staff is what makes us great. Sorry the pool elevator was acting up during your stay, but we are glad the staff was able to accommodate. Have a great summer and we look forward to seeing you again.

Thank You
Robert Cole
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This was my first experience at the Hotel Palomar, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. The room was spacious and the bathroom was very clean, nice and quirky. The complimentary bathroom products are by Etro, which is a nice touch. I spent more money in their hotel restaurant and bar than I have at any hotel ever. Everything was delicious and everyone on staff was so nice. The view from my room was great and the location is very convenient to Beverly Hills and is walking distance to a Target ( I forgot my charger and the hotel did not have Samsung chargers for you to borrow, but I assume they have iPhone chargers for guests who forget, which is nice) and the restaurants in Westwood. Parking is the only thing that would give me pause to stay here again, but as long as you join Kimpton rewards, wifi is free in your room, so I think the value evens out. I would definitely recommend anyone who wants a nice quiet stay to get a room here. Just be patient with the key cards.

Room Tip: I had a city/mountain view and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HotelPalomar, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Jane B,

Thank you for the review and glad the maiden voyage went well. Glad you enjoyed the room and we agree the Etro is a great product line. BLVD 16 restaurant has received many accolades for both their food and drink, I will be sure to share your comments with them. We agree that the views from the hotel are great and the neighborhoods right around us Beverly Hills, Westwood and Santa Monica have everything a guest could want. Sorry we didn’t have the charger for your use as we try to have a couple of the most popular chargers on hand, for these situations. Kimpton Rewards is a great program that is easy to join and offers many perks. Have a great summer and we look for to seeing you on future visits.

Thank You
Robert Cole
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Westside
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
#16 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,073 reviews
Westside
W Los Angeles - West Beverly Hills
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
Plaza La Reina
Plaza La Reina
#98 of 351 in Los Angeles
23 reviews
Westside
Hotel Angeleno
Hotel Angeleno
#46 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,753 reviews
Central L.A
Kimpton Hotel Wilshire
Kimpton Hotel Wilshire
#75 of 351 in Los Angeles
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills
Address: 10740 Wilshire Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90024-4493
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#9 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#12 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#17 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#21 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palomar Los Angeles – Westwood is a stunner of a boutique hotel in Los Angeles’ most vibrantly beautiful neighborhood. Located on Wilshire Boulevard’s Golden Mile, this stylish “Art in Motion” hotel is steps from UCLA, Westwood Village, Rodeo Drive and Beverly Hills. The luxurious guestrooms feature sweeping city views and modern artistic décor. Double Take, our on site restaurant is a stylish, modern American bar and restaurant for guests to enjoy fresh and flavorful cuisine using local sustainable products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Los Angeles
Los Angeles Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing