We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Palomar-Westwood is as good as it gets!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills
Ranked #44 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hotel Palomar-Westwood is as good as it gets!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2009

I have always been a big fan of Kimpton Hotels but the Hotel Palomar-Westwood exceeded even my already high expectations. The physical structure is stunning, the rooms are beautifully decorated and comfortable, the restaurant is amazing, but it is the staff here that really puts this property over the top. I travel for a living and I consider where I stay as my home away from home. Well if it were possible I would like for the Hotel Palomar-Westwood to become my permanent home.

  • Liked — It was very comfortable and suited my taste perfectly.
  • Disliked — The touch lights did not always work properly.
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank wsbull57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    840
    498
    150
    64
    52
See reviews for
423
467
135
418
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Willis, Texas
Level Contributor
142 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2009

The Palomar is a nice hotel. The rooms are spacious and the bathroom is well laid out. The complimentary afternoon wine and morning coffee are a nice touch. I ate dinner at the bar and the food was delicious and nicely presented. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Didn't use the pool, but it looked very nice. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Rooms
  • Disliked — No coffee in room.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank friofrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
columbia, MD
Level Contributor
88 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2009

Every aspect of this hotel is gorgeous - the unique wallcoverings, the sculptures, the furniture, the selection of colors and on and on.
We felt we were surrounded by great beauty and kept finding more.

It's located in a really upscale area of Los Angeles and the guests seemed to match.

The help is extremely friendly and expresses great willingness to help. However, ... I phoned for a replacement for the four feather pillows because I am violently allergic to feathers. They brought up four new pillows, two of which were also feathers. Had I not noticed, I would have become so ill my vacation would have been ruined. We asked for more foam pillows but never got them.

We discovered a naproxin sodium capsule on the floor of each of the two rooms we rented. Our 9-month old granddaughter was crawling on the floor. That could have been disastrous. We found a whole Oreo cookie under one of the end tables.

The couch (probably called a day bed) is pretty useless in that one really can't sit on it.

The hotel was a great location for the top tourist attractions and fine dining in L.A.

We didn't eat in the beautiful restaurant because I don't like American or Euro food.

The valet brings your car to you in record time.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank borance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2009

We stayed at this hotel for one night , we thought we will try it first and if we felt comfortable we can extend our stay for three more nights. It's not the first time to stay at kimpton hotels , the one in portland is awesome .
When we arrived , three guys welcomed us , they jump all around u and ofcourse they are expecting tips ,one opened the door one opened the other door and someone else to took care of luggage , YES it's nice but a little bit too much . as we r payin 30 $ already for parking . I think one guy for parking is more than enough.

the room is nice on the 15th floor, tons of dust(I a not usually a complainer) but the dust so obvious to ignore. Now at night ,first I heard a knock on my door , i openned to find out that it's not my door but our neighbours, requesting some service ,
that happened 3 times , the last one was around 11 00 pm.
Thank God we were so tired that we ignored the noise (I am not sure if there is a bar or soemthing there )
We loved the colors of the room , very elegant
Now coffee , why is it so hard on u guys to put a coffee maker in the rooms , YES sometimes we feel like drinking coffee in the afternoon without the need to make a request (there are people who like their life simpler )
bathtub doesnt drain water , so water was sitting till the next morning , I told the conceirge , her answer was "ok !" not even a sorry and that made me decide to leave right away
and when we left , same scenario , three helping us to to carry , One handbag and a computer bag
It's a nice hotel so it's really sad to see it like that

  • Liked — the decor
  • Disliked — bathtub
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank lebyvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palomar-LA-Westwood, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 17 January 2009
Dear Lebyvr,

It is always a welcome pleasure to hear from our guests what we are doing well and what needs additional improvement, thank you. It is our goal for all our guests to have a positive experience and to exceed their expectations. I must apologize if our staff at the front drive seemed overwhelming as this is not our intention but only to provide the service you have come to know and expect at all Kimpton Hotels. With regard to coffee makers in the rooms although we do not have coffee makers in the rooms we are able to send one up to any of our guests upon request. We certainly understand how important your personal preferences are while you travel and would like to invite you to join “Kimpton in Touch” where we can add to your profile your preferences and have a coffee maker waiting for you in your room at any of our Kimpton Hotels. I have shared your comments with our engineering team to ensure corrective measures have been taken to remedy the bath tub draining issue in your room.

Again, thank you for taking the time and sharing your experiences with us. If we may be of further assistance at any time please feel free to contact us at anytime and ask for the manager on duty.

Kindest regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2009

I recently stayed at the Palomar and it was a really great experience. From the the moment I arrived everyone was so helpful and friendly. And the inside is really smart and cool. . No really, inside its modern, sophisticated, and DEFINITELY feel as if I am in Los Angeles. It has that cool, yet upscale look. I would say its "trendy" but not annoying or too cool for school like some other LA Boutique hotels. It has a COMPLIMENTARY, yes complimentary wine hour everyday from 5-6!!! I'm not a lush but who doesn't love free drinks. Im seriosly excited about this place and I joined their points program because I wanna stay here again and see their other hotels. They have a really cool one opening in Miami. Im actually at work right now writing this review because I want to come back! They have free wi-fi, which for business I really need. Its right in one of the nicest neigborhoods in LA, right next to beverly hills, bel-air. westwood and really close to santa monica. The bed was extremely comfortable, I was basically sleeping on a cloud in heaven. Their restaurant is really delcious also. But mostly what makes the huge difference is the service. Everyone is so eager to help and make you feel really comfortable and at home. Like I said, this is fit for and Emperor, or Empress, a really hip and cool Emperor or Empress

  • Liked — The friendly Staff, Free Wine
  • Disliked — wine hour is only One hour
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kooltraveler84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2009

Stayed for 3 nights and loved every minute! Stunning lobby. Nice room with great view. Loved the big plasma tv and modern finishes. Free wine between 5 and 6 every night. Full service continental breakfast in lounge-like restaurant. One negative, $30 per day parking was a bit much we thought. There is parking on side streets (Selby) , just read signs. Very close to Beverly Hills in beautiful Westwood.

  • Liked — decor
  • Disliked — parking
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BeHappy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Va
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2008

Our early August stay at the Hotel Palomar -Westwood was
wonderful! It is such a thoughtfully conceived hotel. The guest rooms, gym, pool, and above all, service, exceeded our expectations. After this introduction, we are staying at The Palomar
as often as possible in our travels!

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank roberto08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Westside
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
#26 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Westside
W Los Angeles - West Beverly Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Kimpton Hotel Wilshire
Kimpton Hotel Wilshire
#76 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
The Garland
#9 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,850 reviews
Westside
InterContinental Los Angeles Century City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills
Address: 10740 Wilshire Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90024
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#9 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#12 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#13 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#18 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#22 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palomar Los Angeles – Westwood is a stunner of a boutique hotel in Los Angeles’ most vibrantly beautiful neighborhood. Located on Wilshire Boulevard’s Golden Mile, this stylish “Art in Motion” hotel is steps from UCLA, Westwood Village, Rodeo Drive and Beverly Hills. The luxurious guestrooms feature sweeping city views and modern artistic décor. Blvd 16 offers a stylish and comfortable setting for guests to enjoy fresh and flavorful cuisine using local sustainable products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Southall Travel and TravelUp so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Los Angeles
Los Angeles Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing