We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kimpton is the BEST!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills
Ranked #41 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Kimpton is the BEST!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2009

We spent a fabulous week at the Palomar in Westwood with our 20-something daughter, who was equally pleased with her accommodations in the room next to ours. The rooms are beautiful and well appointed, albeit in the typical eccentric Kimpton safari decor. The housekeeping staff is the BEST. From check-in to check-out we were treated like royalty by the valet staff, the front desk, the concierge, and everyone else. We were there for a family vacation and our only suggestion would be that the hotel, which primarily caters to business travelers, reconfigure some of the rooms so as to make them connecting.

The location of this hotel is as good as it gets in LA: 12 minutes to the ocean (Santa Monica), 10 minutes to Beverly Hills, 2 minutes to the 405 Freeway (which you need to access the Getty Center, Catalina Ferry from Marina Del Rey, and of course LAX). Also, at the Palomar you're within walking distance of UCLA and all the great night life in Westwood. What's not nto like about that?

For the money, you can't find a finer or nicer place to stay in LA.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yesnomaybe213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    849
    502
    153
    66
    53
See reviews for
428
470
137
424
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
199 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2009

Found this hotel on Tripadvisor and the reviews were right-on-target. The hotel is excellent: friendly and very helpful staff, great location and yes the sheets are wonderful. Breakfast staff and food were good, the evening bar quite friendly. As to parking on the back streets for those who don't want to pay $30 per night for valet... be very careful of the street signs but, yes, we found that nearby parking was possible at no cost.

The location could not be better for Los Angeles..... a breeze to the 405. Attractive, friendly Westwood is a bonus.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idefixaegean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, California
Level Contributor
154 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2009

This is one of the few hotels that would accept dogs as guests :-) s a major ++!
It allows people like us travel with our dear mutts.

The valet service is excellent and for $30/day, it is a better choice to use it.. especially in the Westwood area with "parking permits only" on streets. A parking violation isn't worth the hassle of a free parking spot.

BLVD 16 is the restaurant there. Our acommodation included the continental breakfast (for a $1.00 extra - which includes Coffee, Tea, OJ, fruit bowl and pastries). We ordered extras though. The wheat pancakes are excellent and the Eggs Benedict Florentine is okay. Kyle, our server, is SUPERB. We thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast, not only for the food, but the service also.

Now about the plumbing issue, I called guest services and they promptly tried a quick fix of the slow draining tub/shower. They used a plunger, and that was it. It still drains slow.. as you still shower in ankle height bathwater EEEEW!.

Hopefully, they can have a professional plumber fix the problem.

Overall, I would recommend it to others, with or without doggies... oh and check the bath.. just in case so you can request a room change :-) we found ours out waaay too late.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiglao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chamho, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills, responded to this review, 29 November 2009
Dear Valued Guest,

I am so delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Palomar and was able to enjoy it with all members of your family including the furry one! Thank you for recognizing Kyle, he is certainly an amazing colleague and we will recognize him based on your comments.

You have my sincere apologies for the plumbing issues you experienced and I assure you this is not typical.

The Palomar family looks forward to your next visit and thank you for the valuable feedback.

Yours Truly,

Albert Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2009

Great location to Westwood, walking distance to shops, Trader Joe, restaurants. Really liked the rooms, funky décor, comfortable bed, animal print robes kind of different and unexpected but fun. Nice pool area, nightly wine specials friendly staff. Would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wolfeee99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2009

The Hotel Palomar exceeded our expectations from check-in to check-out. We did not have any problems with our late night check-in. The front desk staff member seemed truly happy to welcome us.

Our room was quite comfortable. The bed had plenty of pillows for television watching and relaxing, and the closet space provided was more than enough for a multi day stay. The bathroom was extremely spacious. I believe our room was handicapped accessible, so that may account for the larger bathroom. If that is correct, our difficulties with the shower may not be present in all guest rooms. The shower head was situated on the long wall of the step-in shower instead of the narrow wall. This placement caused us to essentially flood the bathroom floor each morning. By the third day we knew where to position the shower head and extra towels in order to decrease the deluge. That said, it did not provide for a comfortable shower. Your room may not have this shower set up, so it may be worth it to ask at check-in.

The Valet staff were always nice and retrieved our vehicle quickly. One morning we'd waited less than 5 minutes and the staff member apologized for the delay :)

The Wilshire Boulevard location helped make our stay very enjoyable. UCLA is within walking distance of the Palomar. The number of quick service and sit down restaurants around campus were certainly varied for most tastes: multiple Starbucks, In-N-Out Burger, Stan's Donuts, sushi, falafel, and pizza to name a few. Access to the 405 is just down the street, and Beverly Hills and Santa Monica aren't far down the road either.

We appreciated many of the free amenities provided at The Palomar. The morning coffee bar helped get us going in the morning. Free Wi-Fi in our room was a welcomed surprise. We'll visit The Palomar again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WDW_Fam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2009

I stayed for a few nights while visiting UCLA and loved it. It's close enough to campus that one can walk, but they also have a shuttle van that will take you to campus if you ask the bell captain. The rooms are not particularly spacious, but are very well-appointed and classy. The staff was attentive and very friendly. I have absolutely no complaints about the hotel, and would have given five stars, were it not for the restaurant. I had eaten at Boulevard 16 soon after it opened and remember being unimpressed, but my room service meal was downright nasty. The caesar salad dressing was greasy yet flavorless, with very little cheese. The side of risotto had a pool of grease around the edge, and had a consistency more like rice pudding than risotto. I was really wishing that I would have just walked the couple of blocks to westwood - even the cheapo student eateries would have been better than this.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lasocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2009

After considering many hotels in the L.A. area, we finally chose Hotel Palomar due to its location, room price and positive tripadvisor reviews. Happily, we were not at all disappointed with any aspect of the hotel. The rooms (deluxe king) were a good size, clean, and nicely decorated, the staff was very helpful and quick to respond to our questions. Paul, the Concierge, was particularly helpful and knowedgeable, and spent a lot of time with us highlighting maps, suggesting restaurants and booking reservations. We had the use of a rental car, so the location of the hotel was not an issue -- it seemed to be perfectly situated on Wilshire between downtown Hollywood and Santa Monica, which is what we were looking for. Valet parking was $30 per night with in/out privileges (pricey, but not unusual for a big city hotel). Nice touches included the complimentary tea/coffee bar in the lobby each morning, welcome cocktails, and a daily happy hour with free glasses of wine. WiFi was also free for us because I became a "Kimpton member" (like joining any hotel rewards program and easily done online), but be aware that the use of the business centre is not. We found that out while trying to print off our airline boarding passes the night before our departure. When we called the desk to inquire about charges, they told us to come to the lobby where they printed them off for us for free. All in all, Hotel Palomar proved to be a great place to stay and we would recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonata23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Westside
W Los Angeles - West Beverly Hills
Westside
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
#19 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
InterContinental Los Angeles Century City
The Garland
#10 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,884 reviews
Central L.A
Kimpton Hotel Wilshire
Kimpton Hotel Wilshire
#75 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills
Address: 10740 Wilshire Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90024
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#9 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#12 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#12 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#17 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#22 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palomar Los Angeles – Westwood is a stunner of a boutique hotel in Los Angeles’ most vibrantly beautiful neighborhood. Located on Wilshire Boulevard’s Golden Mile, this stylish “Art in Motion” hotel is steps from UCLA, Westwood Village, Rodeo Drive and Beverly Hills. The luxurious guestrooms feature sweeping city views and modern artistic décor. Double Take, our on site restaurant is a stylish, modern American bar and restaurant for guests to enjoy fresh and flavorful cuisine using local sustainable products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Los Angeles
Los Angeles Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing