We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Luxe City Center Hotel
Ranked #55 of 353 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Extremely clean hotel with great Valet and customer service. Easy access to Downtown LA events (Staples Center, Convention Center, ESPN ZONE, etc...) Also the bar / Restaurant has a rgeat vibe and setting. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rorycad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,228)
There are newer reviews for Luxe City Center Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,010 - 1,016 of 1,228 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2012

This hotel was in the perfect location for our overnight adventure in LA. The staff was very friendly and the room was nice and clean. Room service was expensive but other than that it was all good. We will certainly stay at this hotel again.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Danette_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

The Luxe is across the street from LA LIVE and has many virtues and only minor problems. The rooms are large and well-kept. The internet is free. The staff are very helpful. The only drawback is that their restaurant is not yet open, but this will soon be remedied. The large number of eating places across the street minimizes this problem. A suggestion: since taxis do not roam the streets of LA, if you need a pick up, tell someone the night before to save time.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DHK44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We were promised they would be done when this was booked months ago. There is no restaurant, no bar, no gym! During my first night here, we got a letter saying there would be no power from 1am - 5am. Well I am from the East-coast and woke up at 5:30. Still no power. Waiting in bed for a while. Needed to take a shower at 6am for work. No lights in the bathroom. But the water worked. Got dressed with the sunlight but getting ready in the bathroom was very hard. Went downstairs and told the front desk I still did not have power, and that I took a shower in the dark...she replyed "oh poor baby"!!! What a total lack of respect! I was not happy after that. When I returned to my room that night, they had old, dead lightbulbs still in my room!! Don't their repairmen know how to clean up after themselves? Even after roomservice the following day, the lightbulbs were still not picked up. They were still there when i checked out 14 days later.

Room Tip: Wait until the restaurant and gym are done.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amylee87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUXECITYCENTER, Operations Manager at Luxe City Center Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Thank you amylee87 for your review. I sincerely apologize for our Hotel not being fully functional at the time of your stay. I understand that not having crucial amenities such as a Restaurant or Bar available is quite an inconvenience. I’m glad to announce that July 27th we’ll be fully operational with a newly remodeled Restaurant, Bar and Patio. I would love to invite you back so we can give you the proper Luxe experience you deserve.

I would also like to apologize for not having the power turned back on at the time posted. We do an annual electrical test on our Power supply to the Building that should have been completed earlier. There’s no excuse for you having to get ready in the dark!

I have sent an email to your profile account and hope to hear from you soon.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

i found the only positive thing was you can walk to nokia other than that .... to start the valet screeching the tires in the audi we were in ( not very appreciated) and we were charged $25 for him to do so . the room was not exceptionally clean . after calling and asking if the AC was a wall unit or central air the person on the phone assured me it was central AC but when we got there not only did we have a wall unit .....IT FELL OUT OF THE WALL !!!! YES THE AC UNIT WAS A HOLE LOOKING DOWN SEVERAL STORIES . i did not say anything as they want to charge you for everything !!!! there was no breakfast in the lobby as i was told. ( actually planned on grabbing a quick bagel or something to get back on the road ) this is an old motel that has tried to be refurbished , basically you have some lipstick on a pig here . nicer places on the same block ,choose one of them . we tried but they were booked and after calling and asking questions we went for it to find out our questions were answered with lies .

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shawn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

Thank you shawn c for your helpful review.
There were many areas in which we failed to deliver the simplest of services and amenities. I would love to have you back to the Hotel so we can give you the type of stay you expected as well as to offer you some nice extras. I’ve sent an email to your account profile with some more details.

Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

I stayed there for business during Dwell on Design. It is across the street from LA Live which has a ton of restaurants, clubs, and the Nokia Live theater. It was a great area to run through daily and every night I came into 2 fresh water bottles and 2 pieces of dark chocolate. It was a great touch. I had stayed there a year earlier and the lobby was completely refinished and was stunning.

When I was there Andy Sandberg and Rashida Jones were there to promote their new movie. It definitely gave you a taste of the LA lifestyle.

Room Tip: Close to LA Live and the LA Convention Center and free WiFi, what more could a business traveler ask...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilmissmalcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

Thank you Lilmissmalcolm for your thoughtful review. We appreciate you taking the time to say a few words about your stay. We hope to have you back whenever you get a chance. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We went to a concert at Club Nokia. It was nice to walk across the street to our room after and not have to worry about driving and parking. The Fashion Historic Districts are close by too. The only con was the refrigerator. It has censors in it, so if you move anything they sell in there, you are charged $50. We would have loved to save some left overs, but we're unable to put them in the frige. Overall a nice stay.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank seangj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
#76 of 353 in Los Angeles
247 reviews
Downtown
Residence Inn Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 353 in Los Angeles
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Downtown
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
#59 of 353 in Los Angeles
1,287 reviews
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles
The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles
#6 of 353 in Los Angeles
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxe City Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxe City Center Hotel

Address: 1020 S Figueroa St, Los Angeles, CA 90015-1305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#21 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#21 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#41 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £185 - £356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxe City Center Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape the rush of the city and enjoy the relaxed comfort of Downtown L.A.'S newest boutique hotel. Our swanky urban oasis provides travelers the ideal locale for work and play, and is a refreshing recent addition to the Downtown hotel scene. The Luxe City Center Hotel is perfectly positioned steps from STAPLES Center and Nokia Theatre at L.A. LIVE, and justa few blocks from Downtown's Business District. Our 178 guestrooms, including 16 suites, are among the most spacious in the City, blending smart refined decor with a residential feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Luxe City Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxe City Hotel Los Angeles
Holiday Inn Los Angeles
Los Angeles Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing