We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Ranked #7 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
syd
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We loved it !”
Reviewed 19 August 2011

The Omni style was definitely complimented by the helpful staff. Our corner positioned room was fantastic; a rollaway bed not limiting the spaciousness or the lovely 'feel' of the room. A welcome to return to after busy days around LAX with my 2 teenagers. We caught the local bus ( I think # 14 ) to the end of the route for shopping - not in the main centre but across at the great value/finds to be hunted through - at Nordstrom Rack, Ross dress for less ( extra suitcase purchase a steal ) Navy etc.
The Omni provides transport (to 3kms) to restaurants & local spots. Conciege great value even searching internet for our request to find less commercial areas sought by my son. Close to Station with 24/7 bus transport to the Airport if needed.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suejanethomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,239
    1,069
    227
    61
    39
See reviews for
737
1,084
216
1,088
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

I traveled to LA on business and stayed at the Omni. The hotel was ok overall. There wasn't much to do in the surrounding area.

I wouldn't recommend eating at the hotel's restaurant. Very expensive with mediocre food. Instead, head to the second floor of the hotel and walk to the "back" of the hotel. Cross the street (I think you'll be crossing Grand Street) and head to the building that has the McDonalds and California Pizza Kitchen in it. Lots to eat and great people watching.

The Museum of Contemporary Art nearest to the hotel is a waste of time. No good artists on display.

You're not too far from Chinatown and it's a nice walk. It's safe during the day for a woman who is alone. Great deals on clothes!

If you have time, take a bus that offers tours around the downtown area. Start early. It's worth the $35. The bus does go into Hollywood where you can get on the next bus and tour Beverly Hills and Hollywood.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schnjf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, 22 August 2011
Thank you for sharing about your recent stay in Los Angeles! Our concierges are always happy to assist you with finding activities and sites to visit in the area, and we hope you will take advantage of their knowledge on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2011

This is in most ways an excellent hotel. It is very clean, the rooms are very nice, the receptionists provide an outstanding service. The concierge provides excellent help and helped us to visit LA in a great way. The valets are also fast and got our car quickly for us, without any hassle. The entrance is beautiful, as is the reception and the room.

The only thing which we felt was not qutie up to scratch was the breakfast buffet. The personell seemed to be not so trained but rather slightly stressed as if they had received the daily reprimand, and the selection was really not that amazing compared to other hotels of this class. There was something about the location of the buffet, where it felt closed into an area without any view. The next days we went outside to a small shop nearby and ate freash food outside instead.

The concierge, Mr. Cena, helped us a lot to get out and about in LA, and set up a great program for oss. Thanks a lot, that was great.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlillesand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us, and our staff will be recognized for their outstanding service. We appreciate the constructive criticism regarding our restaurant, and will use it to ensure we provide a buffet and service that meets, and exceeds, the expectations of our guests. We hope that you will provide us with an opportunity to "wow" you on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

If you have to do business in the downtown LA area, this is a solid choice. Rooms are clean and pretty basic... Beds were comfortable and bathroom was decent.

To me, this is more about the location. I do like this spot better than some of the other downtown LA sites (Bonaventure, Biltmore)... Although some would say the area is too dead... To me, it's tucked away a bit, so it's a little quieter and calmer. Plus, you have still have access to some of the restuarants and cafes in the downtown area. California Plaza has good choices during the day -- ranging from a salad and Starbucks to high-end sandwiches at Mendocino Farms... For business dining - Nick and Stef's and Water Grill are walking distances... MoCA is right next door for art lovers - and Music Center and Disney Hall are right down the street as well... Short cab ride will get you to LALive... For the more adventurous, you can check out the slightly seedy, but trendy spots on Main Street and Spring Street. All in all, a good, central spot if you are doing business downtown.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GShermanWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

I got a good deal for this hotel so I gave it a try.

Lets start with some of the positives:
-downtown, so short commute if you work in the area
-courteous staff

Issues
-LOCATION: not near any of the big tourists locations (except the disney hall which was definitely worth seeing)
-expensive parking ($20-40), but there are some cheaper alternatives in the area
-nothing is open at night in the neighbourhood
-not exactly safe to walk around (huge homeless issue downtown)

a side note: wifi is 10 dollars a day, but its free if you sign up as a free member.
that is exactly what i did, but they still charged me for 5 days anyways. I am still waiting for a refund, so i would confirm the membership before using it

Its not a bad hotel by any means but i would recommend something by hollywood or beverly hills

Room Tip: room facing the courtyard is nice especially when there are summer concerts
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sedins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, 17 August 2011
We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments on your recent stay with us. We apologize for the oversight in the WiFi charges, and hope to resolve that for you in a timely manner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2011

The premises are lovely; lots of art. Situated in California Plaza next to Museum of Contemporary Art and a couple of blocks from the beautiful Disney concert center. The room was clean and comfortable. Window that opened. Staff were competent, helpful, and friendly. I judge hotels partially by how happy the staff seem to be - this place wins in that area. The restaurant Noe had a great piano player/singer performing and the food was good. Lovely cocktail lounge.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen52024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

we had an excellent stay here, great rooms and staff, lovely food, excellent location right next to MOCA

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pobol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#6 of 351 in Los Angeles
661 reviews
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#31 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,092 reviews
The Garland
#13 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Downtown
JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza

Property: Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Address: 251 S Olive St, Los Angeles, CA 90012-3002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#3 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#3 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#4 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#5 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza 4.5*
Number of rooms: 453
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Los Angeles At California Plaza Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing