We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Omni has been revamped and upgraded decor since my last stay, while the once bleak location offers many more activities fro”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Ranked #7 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2011

I was hoping to get the Westin Bonaventure as a Priceline bid, and the Omni was where I ended up. It turned out to be a blessing in disguise. I noticed a great deal of minor improvements in the decor + amenities, and helpful staff and free Starbucks coffee available in the lobby helps a 6am departure along. The neighborhood around the hotel was way more poppin' on a Friday night than a couple years ago as well. Not only was there the Disney Concert Hall, but free live performances at the California Plaza, and a couple punky dive bars just down the hill. Aside from the once lonely California Pizza Kitchen nearby, the food choices were better, ranging from hipster restaurants with outdoor cocktails, Asian to Pizza.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dv8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,866)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,935 - 2,941 of 3,866 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2011

The Omni at California Plaza is conveniently located downtown L.A. only a few minutes from the Staples Center. The rooms are spacious and clean. The hotel has a nice aroma when you walk in and is beautifully decorated.

In the lobby there's always fruit infused water and apples for the guest. The concierge is great at recommending nearby restaurants and activities. The hotel even offers a car service to take you anywhere in the nearby area free of charge.

Parking at the hotel is very expensive. You can park a block away for half the price, however most lots do not offer overnight parking and then you must find street parking, which we didn’t' have a problem doing.

My only complaint would be the bathrooms do not have vents. The mirror fogged and the bathroom became very hot every time I showered. However, I did love that the shower and tub was separate.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the plaza, beautiful water fountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Celicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

There are quite a few hotel choices in downtown LA for business. We decided on Omni for longer-term business accommodations and we are glad we did. While the rooms are not technologically on the cutting edge, they are quite spacious nicely decorated and very well furnished.
Service has been quite reliable and friendly so far.
The hotel restaurant, Noe, is quite good for a hotel restaurant, and we like the indoor/outdoor bar (especially outdoors, around a little fire to take the chill out at night).
The gym is well stocked with new machines.
We appreciate the proximity to California Plaza, which has nice gardens and an open-space concert area. There are abundant restaurants for all pockets in the area, a museum (MOCA) and the Symphony.
It's far from the "happening" areas, but we found those areas as devoid of people as the rest of LA.
Overall, OMNI LA is an excellent business choice for downtown hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tastefirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We live in San Diego and take the train up to Los Angeles for concerts at Disney Hall. The Omni is perfect for overnight accommodations: it has a town car that will pick you up from Union Station for free (be prepared to wait up to twenty minutes, or take a a cab, which will cost around six bucks); it's one easy and safe block from Disney Hall; it's next to MOCA, which is always worth visiting (there is a free shuttle to the Geffen from this location as well); and it's a reasonably priced, clean and comfortable hotel. The rooms are fine, with window slots that open for fresh air, very comfortable beds with good linens and excellent towels in the marble bathrooms; it's very clean and the staff is professional and well trained. The bar is comfortable with decent wines by the glass, and California Plaza is just over-the-top LA-enough to avoid tackiness; we always enjoy the fountain. Avoid the restaurant for breakfast--not so great, and we couldn't find much within walking distance as an alternative. There are, however, fantastic restaurants for dinner downtown if you're willing to walk (possibly dangerous--this is not a walking downtown at night--at least not around this hotel beyond getting to Disney Hall) or take a cab. We'll continue to stay here when coming to town for LA Phil concerts.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onebackwardglance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2011

We appreciate the feedback you have provided. With your candid comments, especially regarding breakfast, it helps us to be able to continue to meet, and hopefully exceed, our guests' expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Very happy with our stay. Nice rooms. Beautiful hotel. Great location. Complaints were: AC did not remove humidity in room and as a result the room felt clammy. Parking mid week is horribly expensive. Half as much on weekends. Also I hate bathrooms with no ceiling vent/fan. Steamy shower added to the already "moist" room. Minor complaints. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rpmotocross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2011

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit to Los Angeles. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced due to the A/C. Our Engineering Department will be checking the cooling system to ensure that it is running properly. Thank you for your feedback, and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

It would have been good to have some information on local places to visit and restaurants in the room. The hotel had a restaurant but it wasnt very child friendly food wise. We ended up walking the streets to find a more suitable venue to eat in.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
Thank adventurersCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2011

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us! We have wonderful concierges who are more than happy to assist you with finding sightseeing information, and children-friendly activities in the Los Angeles. We hope you will take advantage of their knowledge in a future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

The Omni style was definitely complimented by the helpful staff. Our corner positioned room was fantastic; a rollaway bed not limiting the spaciousness or the lovely 'feel' of the room. A welcome to return to after busy days around LAX with my 2 teenagers. We caught the local bus ( I think # 14 ) to the end of the route for shopping - not in the main centre but across at the great value/finds to be hunted through - at Nordstrom Rack, Ross dress for less ( extra suitcase purchase a steal ) Navy etc.
The Omni provides transport (to 3kms) to restaurants & local spots. Conciege great value even searching internet for our request to find less commercial areas sought by my son. Close to Station with 24/7 bus transport to the Airport if needed.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suejanethomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#6 of 355 in Los Angeles
799 reviews
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#32 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,197 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#19 of 355 in Los Angeles
3,861 reviews
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza

Address: 251 S Olive St, Los Angeles, CA 90012-3002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#3 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#3 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#4 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#5 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £164 - £354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza 4.5*
Number of rooms: 453
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Los Angeles At California Plaza Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing