We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing to write home about”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Ranked #6 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nothing to write home about”
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

The omni was a decent hotel. The pulses were it's location. Great downtown location, nice rooms, decent restaurant. The minuses were long waits for valet' dated exterior, a view of some shady government looking welfare apartments and a bad pool. I understand the pool considering it's downtown and very little space for one.

I would stay again but I might try a few others first.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mrjagerbomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
We appreciate your feedback, and are sorry to hear we failed to impress you during your stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you are willing to give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations. We are planning a renovation of our pool deck this spring, and hope that you will come to visit once those renovations are complete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,209
    1,065
    220
    60
    38
See reviews for
724
1,076
212
1,072
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This hotel was recommended by my Flight Center NZ consultant. The location is excellent. It is so close to Metrolink Pershing Square station which gave us a lot of convenience and saved us a lot of trouble as we didn't drive in LA. If we got lost in LA, we wouldn't have had panicked. We would only have had to take a bus ride to get to the nearest Metrolink station and go back to Pershing Square station.

There are a number of famous tourist attractions around. You could spend a whole day doing an enjoyable walking tour there. We walked from the hotel to Walt Disney Concert Hall and took some beautiful photos. Then we walked to Chinatown and saw people celebrating Chinese New Year. Then we went to Union Station to take a train ride to go to Vermont/Sunset. This hotel is really a good choice for travelers who will not drive in LA.

The building itself looked a bit ordinary, but the lobby was good-looking and clean. Our room was better than what I expected. It was clean and tidy. There were no bed bugs. A wide range of TV channels were available. The beds were so soft and comfortable. We slept well during our stay.

The staff who served us was so friendly and helpful. When we told the staff who was doing our check-in that we were going to Griffith Observatory, he shared his happy experience with us. Another receptionist gave us some useful advice about getting around in downtown. They did their jobs professionally.

We had buffet breakfast at Grand Cafe which is on the third floor of the hotel. The people working there were friendly and nice. The fellow customers around behaved well. Having breakfast there gave me a great start of the day. If I had a holiday again in LA, I would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana_Chow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
What a delight it is to hear that your trip to Los Angeles was a phenomenal one! There are some many wonderful places and cultures to experience here, and we are happy to hear you discovered them. If your travels bring you back to Los Angeles or the States, we hope you will remember Omni Hotels & Resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

This hotel is right downtown, and if you need to be downtown, it's a great option. But the thermostats never seem to work right (it's always about 75 in the rooms at night) and the pillows are terrible. If you're the type of person that can sleep anywhere, you'll be fine. But if you're more princess and the pea (guilty..) just be prepared.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank sarahktsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
We are truly sorry to hear that your stay was less than exceptional. We appreciate your feedback on the thermostat and the pillows, and have notified the appropriate department heads to further investigate the issue with the thermostat. Our Housekeeping department also has other pillow types, and are more than happy to bring another one up for you to test out. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to make your next stay a more memorable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at The Omni in downtown Los Angeles for 4 nights. We found the hotel to be in great shape, is very clean, has a beautiful lobby and very large rooms. The front desk was always helpful and quick to answer our questions and the valet service was extremely well organized and simple. We had a fantastic stay and would certainly stay again if we need to be downtown. I recommend this hotel to business travelers, guests who are in search of a bit of downtown luxury and certainly for business meetings and conferences.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieLeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

My fiancé and I just spent a few days in LA for a combined business trip/romantic getaway. The entire Omni staff (from the valet to bellmen, front desk staff, housekeeping etc.) were ALL extremely friendly and helpful and made us feel at home. The hotel's decor is gorgeous and I especially loved the amazing floral arrangements in the lobby!!!

The guest rooms are very spacious, comfortable and include nice amenities. As a member of the Omni Select program, we received free beverages of our choice and a complimentary newspaper each morning. We have stayed at various Omni properties as you can always guarantee a high level of customer service and attention to detail! We highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here on our next visit to LA!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ancoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

My fiancé and I just spent a few days in LA for a combined business trip/romantic getaway. The entire Omni staff (from the valet to bellmen, front desk staff, housekeeping etc.) were ALL extremely friendly and helpful and made us feel at home. The hotel's decor is gorgeous and I especially loved the amazing floral arrangements in the lobby! The guest rooms are very spacious, comfortable and include nice amenities. As a member of the Omni Select program, we received free beverages of our choice and a complimentary newspaper each morning. We have stayed at various Omni properties as you can always guarantee a high level of customer service and attention to detail! We highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here on our next visit to LA!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank ancoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCal
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Our first time here while in L.A. to see a show and the shuttle Endeavor. Lovely hotel in the middle of downtown, great service, spacious room, quiet and clean. Valet parking worth it, speedy service. Two restaurants and the bar, Noe. Tried all three and just right - though a bit pricey for the Restaurant Noe. Front desk staff friendly yet efficient. Close to Music Center and other sights. We walked to all, but the hotel has a courtesy car that will drive you to and fro, as long as within 3 miles. Didn't use that service this visit, but definitely will try it in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank monarat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
The Garland
#13 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,913 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Downtown
Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles
Downtown
Residence Inn Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza

Property: Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Address: 251 S Olive St, Los Angeles, CA 90012-3002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#3 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#3 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#4 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#5 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza 4.5*
Number of rooms: 453
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Los Angeles At California Plaza Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing