We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first class hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Ranked #9 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“first class hotel”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I have stayed in other Omni Hotels and they have a most amazing reputation! The Buffet Breakfast was wonderful, they even had accommodations for people who were Gluten Intolerant. Rooms are beautiful and clean

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Deborah2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for your loyalty and commitment to Omni Hotels & Resorts! We are happy to hear your stay exceeded your expectations. Our chef will be pleased to know the gluten free offerings were a benefit for our guests. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,740 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,311
    1,089
    235
    62
    43
See reviews for
770
1,109
221
1,114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
boston, ma
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

This is the second time I have stayed here, and I really enjoyed it. The most wonderful thing about this hotel is the silence! It is absolutely dead silent when I try to sleep! That is a rare thing these days

I had room service breakfast, and it was delicious and speedy. I love the ability to have a pot of coffee delivered to my room with no charge in the morning (you must be part of the "Select Guest" program). They knock and leave it at your door. So perfect.

The gym really could use a little work. I had to wait for some cardio equipment because it is so small and was so busy. There were no cups for the water fountain, and the weights and medicine balls looked like they needed a good cleaning

But overall, I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maebyfunke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for your loyalty to Omni Hotels! We are delighted to provide you with a memorable stay. Your feedback is greatly appreciated, and we will ensure our Housekeeping manager is informed about the condition of the gym. We hope to have you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morro Bay, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Omni Los Angeles is one of my all time favorite properties. Its location is ideal, next to all the places around California Plaza (Disney Hall, MOCA, the new Cathedral, restaurants, and the soon to open Broad Museum. And not far from other great restaurants and entertainment options--and Los Angeles in general. The hotel is wonderfully decorated, rooms lovely, and the service outstanding. A while back I stayed there for eight days on business and it was perfect. As I run a big resort, I know what it takes to create an exemplary experience, and the Omni certainly does that. Kudos to the Omni downtown L.A. I wouldn't stay anything else.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Ccrellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmichael, United States
1 review
Reviewed 14 February 2014

The Omni in Los Angeles is in a wonderful location. It is a hidden gem! Close enough to the staples center and LA Live, but far enough away so that you can escape the noise and frenzy of downtown. The rooms are large and very clean. The staff is excellent

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Gustavo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Excellent experience at the Omni. Hotel is clean and spacious. Great exterior grounds leading down to shops, cafes and nice stone water canals. Service was first class here, friendly, efficient and every single member I experienced presented a great attitude. Very welcoming.

They had fresh flowers in the lobby entrance everyday, chopped water and a great breakfast buffet.

Whether for business or family I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Fantastic value, not once do you feel gouged. Even room service offers food till 4am and really reasonable prices!

The ONLY negative: exterior of the building looks old next to the glass towers during the day. Concrete apartment block look to it. If someone is deciding whether to stay by driving by, it will cost them some guests thinking it might not be up to par. IT IS up to part though and when lit at night looks good.

For those always looking for ROI (return on investment) you can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheUpbeatCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

They did a very nice job on the remodel of this hotel. The outside looks terribly dated, to the point where it makes you question if it really is the same building when you step outside. The rooms are nice - standard hotel rooms, but have a decent amount of space for a downtown location. The hotel staff is friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant for breakfast was quite good (didn't try the buffet though, just the regular menu). Nick and Stef's nearby is a great spot for food and drinks as well. I only have two small complaints, and they are the same as another reviewer mentioned - 1) the pillows are terrible, and they only give you two on a king bed. I need more than one, and so does my hubby so that wasn't great. 2) the room always felt warm and stuffy. It didn't matter how low we turned the thermostat, the room was just warm and stuffy. It wasn't miserable, but it would have been easier to sleep if it was more pleasant. All in all, we had a very nice stay and would consider this hotel again for a visit to the same area. I would just request more pillows :)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgirl955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for your feedback! If your travels ever bring you back to us, or to any Omni Hotels & Resorts, please feel free to contact our staff with any special requests, and we will do our best to accommodate. We have notified our Engineering Department as well to the issues that guests have had with the thermostat. We will continue to research the cause of the problem, and ensure we repair it so that other guests are not affected. Thank you again for your comments, and we hope to be able to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, United States
1 review
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Fantastic Property, room was lovely and Lots of places to eat as well as things to see nearby. Room was nicely appointed, large desk, easy to connect to the wifi. Bed was comfortable, bathroom was nice, with walk in shower. Select Guest Amenities are fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 350 in Los Angeles
725 reviews
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#33 of 350 in Los Angeles
1,135 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#18 of 350 in Los Angeles
3,674 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza

Property: Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Address: 251 S Olive St, Los Angeles, CA 90012-3002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#4 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#4 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#4 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#5 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza 4.5*
Number of rooms: 453
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Los Angeles At California Plaza Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing