We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for reunion of friends”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Ranked #8 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Carlsbad, CA, United States
1 review
“Perfect for reunion of friends”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

9 friends were treated to a most welcoming trip back to the Los Angeles we knew long ago. Hotel staff, location, amenities were perfect. We used the Dash bus for local transportation and/or walked to many places of interest. Hotel courtesy cars filled in the gaps.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
It sounds like everyone had a wonderful time at your reunion. We are honored to have been able to be your host, and help make it a memorable one. We hope you will remember us for your next reunion.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

3,677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,263
    1,079
    233
    62
    40
See reviews for
748
1,093
218
1,098
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The staff is incredible - professional and extremely friendly. The food in the restaurants is delicious and the service friendly and timely. Loved the fitness center. Great concierge services. Spent 10 days there and it was comfortable and homey. Centrally located hotel in the downtown area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocklin, United States
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2014

My first stay in this hotel and I had a wonderful experience, excellent service and staff! I got the best value for my money, the accommodation was superb, no hassle check-in check-out. The room I stayed was on the 15th floor and I got the very nice view from my room overlooking the business district. I would definitely recommend this hotel to my business acquaintances, relatives and friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
We are delighted to hear your overall stay exceeded your expectations. We appreciate you sharing that with your circle of friends and family. It is through word of mouth from our guests that help us be successful. We look forward to welcoming you and all of them in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redlands, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Attended conference. Nicestest staff and accomodations ever. Soo clean, comfortable, cared for. Lots of attention to detail and efficentcy. Really enjoyed the location lots to walk to and enjoy in the area. Best ever!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San DIego, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Perfect location for our trip to see the LA Symphony play at Disney Concert Hall. The staff was great and we found the hotel to be clean and well appointed. Had lunch at the Grand Cafe, nothing special about that. Noe restaurant however was excellent. Definitely going back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

the hotel is nice and the plaza is amazing. all the water elements gives a great feel. breakfast was good, rooms were good and staff was nice. the parking is a bit expansive. location was good i walked in the morning and it was very connivance.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

My family stayed in Omni Los Angeles in August 2013, but somehow, I was too busy to write a review for it.

The hotel is one of the best we had stayed in. I will probably get to write another review on the hotel itself some time later. But first, I would like to update readers on the public transport facilities nearby as this is a rather tricky matter. Why this is so is that the roads surrounding the hotel are on undulating ground. The front of the hotel is served by Olive Street, and buses to and from downtown can be taken there. The nearest subway station, Pershing Square, is on Hill Street. This is one street to the east. BUT, there is no easy road connection between Olive Street and Hill Street! You would need to walk south from Olive Street (a rather steep slope downhill) and turn left at Fourth Street. Easy to go to, but a hefty climb up when you return. Towards the north, the roads are on more or less even ground, but there are no road connection to the east until probably one or two kilometers away.

For first timers, it is not easy to take the bus. They do not stop at every stop unless there are passengers alighting, or waiting to board. So, it is not a good idea to count the number of stops to your destination. Buildings along the road are not of much help, especially at night, because their lights are turned off, and it is not easy to make out which building is which. Furthermore, there is no street lighting. The bus stops are just one vertical pole at the kerbside, and are hard to make out, even in the day.

We found it easier to take the subway. But, as already mentioned, the subway station is not readily accessible by road.
The hotel staff, even the travel desk, could not shed light as to how to access the subway station, which is actually very near by, as the crow flies. This is perhaps due to the fact that in America you move around by car. Only tourists, who do not wish to drive for whatever reason (left-hand drive, got to read road maps, few parking options downtown and it is expensive to park, etc), use public transport. And cost-conscious tourists don't travel by taxi.

The only other option, other than to take a cab (which is pretty expensive), is to take the hotel courtesy car. But, they have only one car, and you need to make a booking for it. For the trip back to the hotel, again you are on your own.

Fortunately for us, we found out on the second day of our stay that there is an easy way to access Hill Street. There is a cable driven vehicle called the Angel's Flight. This is next to the hotel. To access it, you go out of the hotel at the Third Floor on the south side, which houses the restaurants. It is a 50 cent ride one way per person. You get a 50% discount if you have a subway travel card. (Incidentally, the travel card can be bought at ticketing machines at the subway stations, something that is not even mentioned on the Internet). The subway station is a very short walk as you exit to the right of Angel's Flight.

Happy moving around LA.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
We truly appreciate the time you have taken to educate our guests on our public transportation system. Our concierges are always available to provide assistance with information of the city. We look forward to hearing your feedback on your stay with us, and hope to welcome you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#6 of 351 in Los Angeles
693 reviews
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#31 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,114 reviews
The Garland
#13 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#18 of 351 in Los Angeles
3,581 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Downtown
JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza

Property: Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Address: 251 S Olive St, Los Angeles, CA 90012-3002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#4 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#4 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#4 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#5 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza 4.5*
Number of rooms: 453
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., Southall Travel, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Los Angeles At California Plaza Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing