We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Ranked #8 of 354 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Well, it's downtown LA, couldn't be any more central. On the other hand, LA is huge, so it depends on where you need to be. If you need to get to Disney concert hall, it's very convenient. If you want to hit the trendy places downtown, it's good too. We walked to 4th and Spring, though we were warned by hotel personnel that we'd have to see homeless people. But being from SF, this didn't faze us. Nevertheless, some parts of downtown are more dangerous, the SE side of Main St, for example, so be aware. Service is friendly and efficient. Valet is pretty quick and cost is reasonable. Google directions for some reason don't know that Olive St accesses the hotel and W. 3rd St does not, so be careful with Google Map's driving directions.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank gonnaflynow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,826)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,707 - 1,713 of 3,826 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed at the Omni for 12 nights, making it our base for a holiday in Los Angeles. The room was very large, service excellent, and quiet every night. The valet parking worked very well, which is important since you will need a car to get around. Downtown LA is not that interesting in itself, but with a car, Omni was an excellent base for visiting all the major sights like Universal, Santa Monica Beach, and even a daytrip to San Diego

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Casper B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for choosing us as your home base during your vacation to Los Angeles! We are delighted to hear we could exceed your expectations as you visited the numerous sites LA has to offer. We hope you remember us the next time your visit takes you to where an Omni Hotels & Resorts is located.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

At our arrival in Omni Los Angeles on Olive Street, we were welcomed by Toi, a really nice lady. She upgraded us for free and we had a huge room for our family of four on the 17th floor. We even had the privilege to be part of the Omni Club and had breakfast and snacks during the day, once again, for free. Everybody was really nice and did everything to please us. We definitely recommend this hotel and will come back with pleasure.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank 198yvess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

As previous reviews have stated you are a bit isolated here away from many activities and restaurants. However, the service provided and the attention to detail is great. The staff is polite and helpful, the entire hotel is incredibly clean, and pool is excellent. There is a small store in the hotel that sells Starbucks coffee, muffins, snacks and some essentials like an iPhone charger that I had left at home. Overall it was a good value for the money.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Lucy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay with us. It is gratifying for our associates to know they made your stay so memorable. We do hope you will return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I recently ended a 5-week stay at the Omni (June 24-July 30, 2014). My 14th-floor west-facing room was quiet and well-appointed and the desk was serviceable for late-night in-room work (I did request a replacement chair for that purpose along with a refrigerator). Staff members were universally nice and eager to please as you'd expect from Omni. Skip the breakfast buffet unless you prefer your hot food lukewarm. Instead, check out the plentiful shops and eateries nearby, especially Grand Central market at the foot of Angel's Flight (down 154 steps from the plaza). Omni's Noe restaurant is fine for a late evening meal outside and wine corkage is only $15—a value for those of us BYOB folks. Try Corporate Cleaners in the plaza for a cut-rate alternative to Hotel service. Parking is exorbitant ($40/day) so use nearby lots instead.

Room Tip: During summer, avoid the south facing rooms overlooking the plaza if you stay Friday-Sunday because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimdagOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write the detailed review of your recent stay with us. We are so pleased we could be a comfortable home away from home for you. Our associates pride themselves on their customer service skills and will be glad to hear that you appreciated their attentiveness. We sincerely appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

3 day spa weekend with my daughter. Relaxing. Every time we walk in or out of the hotel everyone greets us by name. I feel so at home at this hotel. Downtown Los Angeles is quiet on the weekends. The staff at the hotel has the perfect balance of helping you with anything you need, but they also leave you alone to enjoy the peace and quiet. Some posh hotels are too attentive. This OMNI has the perfect balance of service and peace and quiet. Highly Recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank DinahMason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Ms. Mason,

We are so glad we could provide the ideal setting for your spa weekend with your daughter. We hope it becomes an annual tradition for both of you and you will select us or another Omni hotel or resort as your destination!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed whilst attending the recent GBTA conference, its a very good base with well sizeed rooms and good location. One negative was the lifts which were "classical" but very slow, I was staying on the 15th floor which meant it sometimes felt like a 5 minute trip to get down to the lobby.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank davidmbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

We are happy to hear the GBTA conference was a successful one. Thank you for your feedback on the elevators - we will have our vendor company inspect the speed. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 354 in Los Angeles
774 reviews
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#32 of 354 in Los Angeles
1,185 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#16 of 354 in Los Angeles
2,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza

Address: 251 S Olive St, Los Angeles, CA 90012-3002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#4 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#4 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#4 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#5 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £177 - £368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza 4.5*
Number of rooms: 453
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Los Angeles At California Plaza Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing