We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love to give it excellent but......”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
Ranked #17 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Fe, NM
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Love to give it excellent but......”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

The passion of the owner clearly shows at every turn! This hotel is everything it lives up to be until you go to bed in the LOWER building. I started in room 209 and ended up in 221. I have not stayed in the upper building. The walls are too thin. At 1130 at night I had to be moved because the next room TV was basically in my room and no way could I sleep. And I have to say I was disappointed that not one word of apology on check out. So that is it for me staying here sadly.

Room Tip: do not stay in room 209
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly H, Director of Operations at Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear will 19,

Thank you for taking a moment and letting us know about your stay. Firstly, we appreciate your positive comments on how the passion of the owner resonates with the staff. He truly is an inspiration for us all. Clearly, we did not meet your expectation in regards to a peaceful stay. I do apologize for that and would like to take this opportunity to let you know that we are currently taking steps to reduce the noise levels between rooms. I hope you will give us another opportunity in the future and I would like to handle that personally. I have sent you a private message and hope to hear from you.

We all look forward to welcoming you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    532
    338
    114
    50
    43
See reviews for
318
273
55
262
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
196 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We really enjoyed our peaceful stay in this oasis in the middle of LA. The property is gorgeous, the executive suite we had was spacious and cozy, the bathroom well equipped and the bed so comfortable! I would however recommend asking for a room facing the swimming pool, rather than the city because of the noise and view of the freeway.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly H, Director of Operations at Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear heiranig,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and let us know about your stay. We appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
1 review
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I was recently at the Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel in Los Angeles for an event that my company hosted. I was traveling with 17 Italian hoteliers from the best hotels in Italy and even they were impressed. We stayed 4 nights as we used the hotel as a base for other events farther away. The service was fantastic from start to finish. Everyone we encountered was helpful and friendly. The rooms are large, the food was delicious and it was very conveniently located for our guests to find us. We have used this property 3 years in a row and it always delivers!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy C, General Manager at Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Laura,

Thank you so kindly for your loyalty the last three years. On behalf of the entire Luxe Sunset team, we genuinely appreciate your comments and positive commendation of our staff, cuisine and services. We hope to welcome you back to Sunset often!

Warmly,
Amy Commans and Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Brilliant, inconspicuous entry opens into a grand entry full of valet theatre. Located well in the cool Brentwood suburb, overlooked by the amazing Getty museum. Wonderful front desk staff. Spacious comfortable rooms around a secluded pool, itself surrounded by tented cabanas. This hotel makes you feel special and not merely a guest. Remarkable discovery in LA.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy C, General Manager at Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear 3Pete3 and family,

Thank you for your eloquent and thoughtful review. We are so pleased to hear you and your family felt the warmth of our property during your recent family trip. Your kind words and feedback will be shared with the entire staff. Incidentally, our proud owner reigns from Australia! We hope that you feel you've found a West Coast home on Sunset!

Our best wishes and look forward to welcoming you back soon,

Amy Commans and Luxe Team
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arizona
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Nothing at all bad to say about this hotel. It was very nice. The staff were all very efficient, kind and helpful. Great location if you are visiting the Beverly Hills/West Hollywood area. The restaurant was good for breakfast. The rooms were huge with a nice balcony overlooking nice Southern California foliage. Everything was extremely clean and well kept. We only stayed one night so didn't have a chance to use the pool or spa facilities, but would've liked to spend more time in this beautiful, serene location.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy C, General Manager at Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Arizona_8 ,

Thank you for your kind review. Now that you know about us and our beautiful amenities, we hope you will return to enjoy a private cabana poolside, some California sun and a decadent spa treatment.

With Gratitude,

Amy Commans and the Luxe Sunset team
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Stayed at the Sunset Luxe for my birthday weekend, and it was awesome and memorable!
The hotel is right off the Sunset Blvd exit on the 405 next to the landmark round building which used to be a Holiday Inn but is now Hotel Angeleno.
It would be easy to miss the hotel because it is inconspicuous and shrouded in greenery, but once you enter the driveway, you will see a flurry of parking attendants ready to assist. The Hotel has valet parking only-$7 first hour/$2 thereafter. It can get pricey for your visitors staying overnight.
The lobby is small but beautiful, with giant orchids against a shell art backdrop. The bar/restaurant is busy or quiet depending on the time of day, but there are always celebrity sightings especially during awards season. The ballroom is huge and can hold big events too, and there’s always activity in the main building.

The hotel has a second building up on the slope on the spa level , and the buildings are not connected to each other. The spa level is more quiet and also shrouded in trees, and are centered around the pool area. The junior suite where I stayed is beautiful and very spacious. It had a 4 poster bed, luxurious sheets and hard/soft pillows, big chest drawers, huge flat screen TV, big closet, spacious desk, a mini living room with a couch for an extra person. The king bed can easily sleep 3 people. The room is perfect for a small party, a group of friends or family. The large sliding doors open into the walkway to the pool.
A design suggestion though-although there are plenty of outlets, they are not at eye level or easily accessible on the bedside tables.
The bathroom is huge! Big tub, his and hers sinks, big shower and spa quality toiletries.

The pool area is huge, with big cabanas and deck chairs. It is gated for guests with cards only, and bordered with tall greenery so it is built to shield away the paparazzi. There are a few things that builders should take into consideration in case of a renovation-the pool area has no shower facilities or a restroom, so swimmers have to run to their rooms for that, and the pool depth goes from 3ft to 4 ft to 7ft then 8 ft! A very deep and drastic change, and dangerous since there is no lifeguard around! Otherwise, the pool area is a great venue for a summer party or a BBQ! You can even see the Getty Center in the hills and it is very beautiful!

The Sunday brunch at the hotel is very popular and you can see why. The selection of seafood, steak and roast beef, the omelet station, the dessert bar, champagne and mimosa are fabulous! Lots of people celebrating birthdays and anniversaries. Reservations is a must if coming for Valentine’s, Mother’s Day or other holidays. The spa is small, but it offers an extensive array of treatments and services. A perfect after-Brunch activity! ($50)

The hotel is very centrally located. Very close to Brentwood Village, West LA, Santa Monica, Bel Air, Hollywood and West Hollywood, and all its clubs and restaurants. It is not really walking distance to anything, which ads to its seclusion and exclusivity. The management of Luxe, led by Efrem Harkham, has done an incredible job of raising the standards and creating an identifiable worldwide brand of among 200 different hotels around the world that will be known as creating a different brand of hospitality. It is definitely a place you would want to come back again and again!

Room Tip: Request a junior suite on ground level with easy pool access!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy C, General Manager at Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear RichieSel,

Thank you for such a glowing review. It sounds as though you fully captured the culture and the guest experience of the Luxe Hotels Brand. We are truly a property and company that cares and as you so duly noted, it starts at the top with our owner setting the tone of genuine, authentic hospitality throughout the lush 7-acre grounds and various upgraded amenities.

We hope to welcome you back to Sunset often!

With our kindest regards and appreciation for your thorough review,

Amy Commans and Luxe Team
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

The beautiful LA weather only contributed to our enjoyment of our fabulous weekend at the Luxe Hotel. It was a wonderful location for a boutique hotel....Conveniently located near the Getty Museum and within close proximity to all of our functions.
The desk staff including Andrew, Scott, Chris and Roxanna were
all very helpful. Housekeeping, headed by Irma, was superior.
We appreciated your driver taking our daughter to her
destination.
We actually had two other rooms at your hotel the same weekend. One for our son, his wife and two daughters and the other for our daughter and son-in-law. Everyone was thoroughly pleased with all aspects of your hotel.
We look float forward to staying at the Luxe Hotel again
sometime in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy C, General Manager at Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear pgbetman100,

On behalf of the entire staff, we thank you for your kind words and generous feedback. In particular, your specific mention of Luxe Sunset team members by name. The individual recognition means so much to each of them and their departments. Your guest experience and sharing this review is music to our ears and reinforces the training program we are known for and so proud of within the Luxe Hotels Brand.

We wish you and your family a wonderful year and hope to welcome you back to Sunset very soon.

Kindly,

Amy Commans and Luxe Team
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#18 of 351 in Los Angeles
3,581 reviews
The Garland
#13 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,987 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 20 in West Hollywood
1,676 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel

Property: Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
Address: 11461 W Sunset Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90049-2031
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#17 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#36 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luxe Hotel Sunset Boulevard is an in-town boutique resort, situated on seven secluded and beautifully landscaped acres in one of Southern California's most accessible and exceptional locations. Located at the entrance to the exclusive suburbs of Bel-Air and Brentwood and just below the famed Getty Center, and minutes from UCLA, the hotel is at the gateway to Los Angeles and its surrounding communities. The hotel offers a stylish and supremely comfortable California-modern look and welcoming, professional, personalized care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxe Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing