We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
Ranked #19 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great hotel”
Reviewed 30 July 2009

When checking out, the front desk had a charge on my bill that I did not make. The problem was resolved expediantly and I did'nt get stuck with paying someone else's bill...

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prettyrickytexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    319
    111
    50
    41
See reviews for
300
256
52
248
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2009

I loved the Luxe hotel plain and simple! I stayed at Luxe for one week and the staff was over the top friendly and willing to help. The atmosphere is airy, yet modern - almost with an earthy Asian influence. There is the Sunset restaurant which has indoor and outdoor seating with on-the-wall waterfall, adding to the nice ambience. The indoor bar area is welcoming, with live music (not every night). The rooms were big and modern with a muted color palate. A nice surprise was the turn down service with chocolates, and if you want to get anywhere with in 10 miles, Luxe valet will take you there. I used it to get to Brentwood Mart and The Getty. I stayed in the main hotel, there is another building above where the pool and spa are located. I liked being in the main hotel, room was quiet (ask to over look garden area) but convenient to restaurant and outdoor seating areas. This hotel is located of the 405, so it is convenient to highways and yet, you feel very secluded - for the price, it is amazing; I felt like I belonged to a private club. A bonus was that during my lunch one day, Tom Hanks and RIta Wilson came into to eat with their two boys! Everyone left them alone, which was cool - they were treated just like the rest of us :)

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irishlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Luxe because we got a fantastic deal on Hotels.com ($139 per night). We stayed 5 nights for our annual LA trip. We thought for the money, the hotel totally exceeded our expectations!! The room was a really nice size and had a great view of the pool (definitely ask for a room with a balcony). The hotel was also beautifully decorated.....just my style in Modern decor. The only thing to be mindful of is that (1) there are two buildings, one up a steep hill with the pool, and one on the lower level near reception, (2) There are no elevators, you have to walk your bags up one flight if you are on 2nd floor, (3) valet parking is a bit weird because your car could be right next to you, but the valet is required (you can actually walk right to your car, but you technically can't because it's valet).

Overrall, would definitely stay here again, especially if we get the fantastic rate we got on hotels.com!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefsims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2009

Great location if you need to be near Brentwood / Bel-Air. Only recommendation would be to install curved shower rods in bathtubs / showers.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tarheeljd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2009

The hotel is divided into 2 buildings - one connected to the lobby and another that is a 5 minute walk up a hill. We were up on the hill in an executive junior suite. Very modern room, with a cool looking bed with posts and frame. Huge bathroom with marble tub and glass stand up shower. We were also right by the heated outdoor pool.
Small exercise room with only 1 treadmill next to the spa. Parking was $25-30/night. Room cost $259/night.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmirsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2009

There is no denying this is a good hotel. Good quality modern furnishings throughout the hotel and in the room. The property is well spaced out with a nice looking outdoor pool and gardens. Our room had the shower in the bath. I think that this level of hotel should always have a walk in shower in this day and age - but may be that is just me.
However it is space that makes the rooms feel strange. The rooms are almost too big for their own good. There isn't enough furniture in them so as they feel empty like the hotel has gone on the cheap in not fitting the rooms out properly.
The other huge problem with this hotel is the ridiculous valet parking situation. The valet is compulsory but the car park is right there. You literally park the car yourself, then hand the keys and the cash over. Collecting the car seems even more ridiculous as you stand and wait for the valet to move your car literally five meters.
I'm also not sure this is the best location in LA either. I suppose it depends what you are doing but it doesn't seem to be near anywhere. Its stuck halfway between Santa Monica and Hollywood. On the way to everywhere but close to nothing.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geoman75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxe-GeneralManager, General Manager at Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2009
Thanks for your comments.
Of our 160 rooms, over 50 of them have a separate walk-in shower (the Junior Executive Suites). Next time we must get one for you. Sorry about the valet parking, with such a busy hotel, and our large ballroom, we simply need to control the vehicles. More furniture has been added. Many of our guests love the extra space. Geographically we are perfectly possitioned to provide access to the entire Los Angeles County. Santa Monica to the East (beach in 12 minutes), Beverly Hills in 12 minutes to the West, LAX and Long Beach to the South and the Valley to the North. We love our location being at the base of the Getty Center. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2009

We just competed a 5 night stay at the Luxe Hotel while on vacation in LA for our anniversary. I would highly recommend this hotel if you're looking for a nice place that's a good value with a convenient location. We were able to get a $149 rate from Hotels.com which made it even better. There is a $24 per day valet parking charge, but that's disclosed and not out of line for the area.

The concerierge was great (thanks Debbie!) and went out of her way to make our trip more memorable. The rest of the staff was very courteous and helptful as well. The hotel is centrally located and a short drive to the beaches, Hollywood, Westwood, etc. Downtown Brentwood with shops and restaurants is only around 1.5 miles and can be walked if you're a little adventuresome and don't mind crossing Sunset to get to the sidewalk.

The hotel is just off the 405 and Sunset, so access to the expressways is good. The hardest part is making a left onto Sunset against traffice from the 405. The pool area is well kept and the water is heated. The hotel also has a tennis court and provides complimentary rackets and balls if you need them. There is a bar and restaurant on site as well.

This is a nice location for business or vacation travelers. Both families and those looking for somewhat of a boutique hotel experience should be satisfied. We will definately consider returning the Luxe Hotel the next time we are in LA.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gutman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Westside
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Los Angeles Beverly Hills
Westside
Hotel Angeleno
Hotel Angeleno
#45 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,733 reviews
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Garland
#13 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,911 reviews
Westside
W Los Angeles - West Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
Luxe Rodeo Drive Hotel
Luxe Rodeo Drive Hotel
#5 of 15 in Beverly Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel

Property: Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
Address: 11461 W Sunset Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90049-2031
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#17 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#37 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luxe Hotel Sunset Boulevard is an in-town boutique resort, situated on seven secluded and beautifully landscaped acres in one of Southern California's most accessible and exceptional locations. Located at the entrance to the exclusive suburbs of Bel-Air and Brentwood and just below the famed Getty Center, and minutes from UCLA, the hotel is at the gateway to Los Angeles and its surrounding communities. The hotel offers a stylish and supremely comfortable California-modern look and welcoming, professional, personalized care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxe Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing