We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good reasonably priced hotel downtown.”
Review of Stillwell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stillwell Hotel
Ranked #208 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“good reasonably priced hotel downtown.”
Reviewed 8 September 2012

i know most people dont stay in downtown la...but if you do, this place is fine. its cheap and cheerful...and you can see the 'jesus saves' sign featured in a george michael video!
the staff are cool, its easy to find your way to where ever it is you want to go downtown...and its a short walk. ive stayed here every time ive been in la. and i will continue to do so. i suggest you do too.

Room Tip: im not sure any of the rooms are that exciting. its not that kinda place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lushchica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    18
    30
    13
    14
See reviews for
4
9
14
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

the place doesnt look the best from the outside but when you get into the hotel it amazes you! They have a nice little bar which has resonable priced drinks! They have a nice little cafe and the location is spot on! Everything is a 10 min walk from here! And the price of rooms here are unreal! The rooms you get for the money you pay is like ii said unexpected because they are that good! If you are traveling ii recomend staying here for a couple of nights!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Super-Fly0121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lehigh Valley, PA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

This hotel's rate was $67 a night when the other hotels in the area start at $125! It was fine, very old but it did not smell. Bed was REALLY comfortable, looked at it and the mattress looked new-er. I was surprised to be given clean towels each day and the maid service was sufficent --they even removed a dried-on contact lens that I left stuck on the sink's edge. Staff is friendly. I was told there were no extra pillows or blankets when I asked for them. I did not see any transients or hookers in the lobby, although the lobby does have a loud bar with a rowdy crowd. The Hilton it is not, but since I was in the room from 10 Pm to 8 Am, who cares?

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank westlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

This is the worst hotel I've stayed in my entire life. It's simply gross. Dirty, smells bad, it's just not a place where you can stay and have at least a decent sleep.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clserranoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

I recently stayed at the Stillwell Hotel for business. This place was chosen for its proximity to the convention center and affordable rates (80nt). It is a very outdated, grungy looking hotel.

Check in was fast but once in the room I wanted to run out. It was small, outdated and dirty. When getting into bed there were stains on the sheets. When I called the front desk they said they did not have extra sheets.

The bathroom was tiny and you can actually wash your hands while using the toilet.

I would not stay here again. I would pay more money to stay at another hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Serena107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We got what we paid for. Basic room with a bathroom. We stayed during New Years Eve and it was not bad (a bit noisey, but we were able to sleep well). The building is old, but for the price, you can't expect the hotel to look and feel like the Hilton. If all you want is a room to sleep, shower and close to downtown LA ($14.00 taxi cab ride), then this may be for you.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Celaya97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
The Milner Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
Downtown
O Hotel
O Hotel
#139 of 351 in Los Angeles
442 reviews
The Mayfair Hotel
#239 of 351 in Los Angeles
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Los Angeles Athletic Club
The Los Angeles Athletic Club
#81 of 351 in Los Angeles
407 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
#31 of 351 in Los Angeles
240 reviews
Downtown
Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
#88 of 351 in Los Angeles
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stillwell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stillwell Hotel

Property: Stillwell Hotel
Address: 838 S Grand Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90017-4610
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #208 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stillwell Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Stillwell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stillwell Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing