We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect spot for for a proper Afternoon Tea!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Millennium Biltmore Los Angeles
Ranked #92 of 353 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed 15 November 2013

NOTE: I did not spend the night at the hotel - I just spent an afternoon exploring all the nooks and crannies, admiring the EXQUISITE architecture and enjoying a wonderful few hours having tea in the garden/fountain lobby. So so beautiful!!
Everything about this hotel is ornate, charming...classic beauty.
Our tea was just lovely! Our server and his assistant we both very funny, attentive and professional waiters. We loved them! Our teas were delicious and we even got a tiny little take home tea as a parting gift! :) We savored every bite of each sandwich, sweet, scone, and petit four! Just a TRULY wonderful, relaxing, upscale Afternoon Tea destination. So much history, so much class, all the photos of the awards ceremonies that were held there...we even snuck down and saw the ballroom for ourselves!! Hee hee! All the Hollywood history just intrigues me!!
A perfect place to share a memorable afternoon with my sweet Tea buddy! Thank you Biltmore for sticking around and letting us soak up your elegance!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,043)
There are newer reviews for Millennium Biltmore Los Angeles
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,125 - 1,131 of 3,043 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2013

The hotel's lobby and bar are nice as is the rest of the ground floor. One elevator was malfunctioning and stopped on the first floor by accident. The floor is totally in shambles and looks like a neglected construction site. It's really bad. My floor (the 3rd) smelled either like cigarettes or marijuana depending on which corridor you were passing through.

The rooms are definitely tired and a touch depressing. The linens are clean though and so were the towels. My bed was quite old but still reasonably comfortable.

We had a salad and some sliders at the bar one night and that food was fine.

I also had a problem at check-in. they tried to tell me that booking a room type is not guaranteed and tried to give me a room with a twin bed. When I refused they found me a king bed.

There's no reason not to stay at the hotel if it's in a part of town which is convenient for your trip. There's also no reason to go out of your way to stay there.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the courtyard are loud because the mechanical equipment is in the courtyard. Ask fo...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendra W, Public Relations Manager at Millennium Biltmore Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Thank you for your valuable comments and sharing with us your experience at Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles. Your business is extremely important to us and we greatly appreciate your feedback. We take most seriously your concerns about your guestroom accommodations and elevator issue and want to reassure you that our hotel currently is undergoing an improvement project throughout the next 12-18 months to remedy the very issues you have raised. Additionally, your comments about the bed configuration will be addressed with the relevant managers so that necessary measures can be taken. In the meantime, please accept our sincerest apologies for having caused you disappointment and inconvenience. We are steadfastly committed to providing guests with a superior experience and hope that on your next visit to downtown Los Angeles, we will have an opportunity to restore your confidence in our hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This is a really cool hotel in Los Angeles. Stayed here last December for a business trip. Most of the staff are nice…some though, you can tell they're trying really hard in putting a smile on their faces…but I guess at least they're trying.

Not really in the most interesting part of Los Angeles…it's in downtown…so after business hours, the area is pretty much dead….very dead on weekends as well. You're gonna have to go to west hollywood, santa monica or drive to the valley for cool spots to hang out and eat good food. The breakfast was eh.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T767TUrobertb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This person must not any priorities in his life... to write such a long review. Lets start off by educating this person. Check-in time is 3:00pm and check-out time is at 12noon. When the any hotel is 75% to 100% occupancy...you are not guaranteed early check in or late check-out..Between the hours of 12 noon and 3:00pm is when housekeeping is cleaning rooms that are available for same day check-ins. The Biltmore doesn't have a fast track queue for loyalty card Members. I never witness anyone standing in line for more then 5 minutes at a time. Guest service agents are prompt and professional. Patience is a virtue .. grocery store, banks, post office, etc. Room upgrades and vouchers are NOT guaranteed...its all based in hotel availability and occupancy (read the fine print mister). Late check-out is 1:00pm without a charge, $50.00 until 3pm and 6pm $99.00 day rate. Regarding parcels; he was charge $55 for all his parcels which in turn it should of been more. Keep in mind front desk is not your personal post office/secretary/personal assistant .They do not call/text/notify guest of parcels. That's not there job!! You are to inquire regarding mail, parcels etc. Keep in mind...when visiting hotels, restaurants, bars. keep in mind the person working behind the counter can make you or break you.Show respect to get respect. And finally there is NO battling with the front desk. Great friendly professional staff. In closing, I can guaranteed this person writing the review regarding the Biltmore..he won't get a warm welcome if he does decided to revisit the hotel. Do everyone a favor and DO NOT RETURN!! Have a great day! Anonymous~

Room Tip: Try a Club room on the 10th or 11th floor
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

But you are not staying in the lobby. You are staying in a room. And ours was really depressing. It had two double beds and a desk and a desk chair. No sitting chair. No bedside table. No make up mirror in the bathroom. Barely any products. 2 towels. It was basically like a motel room. And we overlooked something like an air shaft. We were booked for 5 nights. After the first night I asked if we could switch rooms and was told we could upgrade to a junior suite for $50 more. I was totally willing but when I asked if it was much different I was told it was basically the same but I little bigger. So instead we vowed to spend no time in the room—actually not so bad. It kept us out in about. If you care at all about where you stay—if you like hotels around the W or Kimpton or even Sheraton level. Don't stay here. But go have a drink in the lobby because it's AMAZING.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parksloper718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendra W, Public Relations Manager at Millennium Biltmore Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Thank you for your valuable comments and sharing with us your experience at Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles. We greatly appreciated your feedback about our lobby. Your business is extremely important to us and we take most seriously your concerns about your guestroom accommodations. We want to reassure you that our hotel currently is undergoing an improvement project and reinforcement of customer service training throughout the next 12-18 months to remedy the very issues you have raised. Additionally, your comments will be addressed with the relevant managers so that necessary corrective measures can be taken. In the meantime, please accept our sincerest apologies for having caused you disappointment and inconvenience. We are steadfastly committed to providing guests with a superior experience and hope that on your next visit to downtown Los Angeles, we will have an opportunity to restore your confidence in our hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

As noted elsewhere, the lobby, bar, and other public spaces must be seen--stop in for a drink even if you aren't staying here. That much is non-controversial. Bar staff is super-friendly.

As for the rooms, I can sympathize with reviewers who thought they were getting something at a Westin standard--these rooms are not that. On the evidence of my standard room (not on the club level), they haven't seen any structural work for a few decades, there aren't many amenities (i.e. no robes, nice towels, extra products, etc.), and and there are some mustiness issues. That said, the rooms are hardly a horror show. Furniture and beds are current and high quality, and they adhere to a robust standard for cleanliness.

If you don't have to have the Westin/Sheraton 4 star goodies at all times and you appreciate staying in unique places, I think this hotel is a great option for tourists staying in downtown LA, especially if you find a price that is a notch below those other options (which seems doable given a cursory review of the travel sites). As for business travelers, its fine if you're on a budget, but imagine many will prefer comforts like desks with easy outlets, nice work chairs, etc. that you're not going to find here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Love this place. So regal, filled with history. Great pool and club. Go see the bar even if you don't drink just for the historic ornamentation. Added bonus: you can open the windows in your room. Definitely going back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank divineGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 353 in Los Angeles
753 reviews
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#31 of 353 in Los Angeles
1,165 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
#59 of 353 in Los Angeles
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Biltmore Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Biltmore Los Angeles

Address: 506 South Grand Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90071-2602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 353 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range: £156 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Millennium Biltmore Los Angeles 3.5*
Number of rooms: 683
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Millennium Biltmore Hotel has been a legendary Los Angeles landmark since 1923. With exquisite Spanish-Italian Renaissance architecture, including stunning hand-painted ceilings, it's rich history is most noted for its connection with the Oscars - the founding banquet for the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences was held in the Crystal Ballroom in 1927, where the original "Oscar" statuette was sketched on a Biltmore napkin, and eight Academy Awards banquets were held in the Biltmore Bowl during the '30s and '40s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Millennium Biltmore Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Angeles Millennium Biltmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing