We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glorious on the outside” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles
Ranked #97 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Northville, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Glorious on the outside”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

I just spent one night at the Biltmore. The public areas are stunning, and the catering meals were exceptional. As you might expect from a historic hotel,the rooms are small in size with old plumbing fixtures. However the decor of the guest rooms could use updating. I would start with the mattresses, they felt 20 years old and the sheets were pilled and the blankets were those old fuzzy kind. The exterior hallways are very loud so if you stay here get a room at the end of the hallway.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank mom2lingling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    585
    1,013
    686
    351
    215
See reviews for
419
971
189
719
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Staff weren't that helpful. Has a very grand downstairs area. Very flash & large. Poncy restaurant. However rooms pretty basic but very large, bathroom very small. Service very slow when needed something. Right across the road from a park that has late night music playing. I wouldnt stay here again

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alana r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendra W, Public Relations Manager at Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you for your valuable comments and sharing with us your experience at Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles. Your business is extremely important to us and we greatly appreciate your feedback. We take most seriously your concerns about your guestroom accommodations and want to reassure you that our hotel currently is undergoing an improvement project and reinforcement of customer service training throughout the next 12-18 months to remedy the very issues you have raised. Additionally, your comments will be addressed with the relevant managers so that necessary corrective measures can be taken. In the meantime, please accept our sincerest apologies for having caused you disappointment and inconvenience. We are steadfastly committed to providing guests with a superior experience and hope that on your next visit to downtown Los Angeles, we will have an opportunity to restore your confidence in our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Grand old hotel but guest rooms and facilities in need of rehab.
My (non deluxe) room was pretty small (but clean). Bathroom was barely big enough for 1. Shower was very basic.
Fitness center: quantity over quality. Good number of machines but in need of refresh. Only elliptical was unusable, 1 of the 5 treadmills was broken but not marked as such.
Lobby is nice. Decent downtown location.
They could really rehab this and make it much nicer/deluxe and charge more.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RRMbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendra W, Public Relations Manager at Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you for your valuable comments and sharing with us your experience at Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles. Your business is extremely important to us and we greatly appreciate your feedback. We take most seriously your concerns about your guestroom accommodations and want to reassure you that our hotel currently is undergoing an improvement project and reinforcement of customer service training throughout the next 12-18 months to remedy the very issues you have raised. Additionally, your comments about other areas of the hotel will be addressed with the relevant managers so that necessary corrective measures can be taken. In the meantime, please accept our sincerest apologies for having caused you disappointment and inconvenience. We are steadfastly committed to providing guests with a superior experience and hope that on your next visit to downtown Los Angeles, we will have an opportunity to restore your confidence in our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed here in Nov '13 and despite the emailed reminders regarding my arrival time of early on the following morning to the nights I had booked the hotel marked me as a No Show. This meant that I was given a room of a lesser standard to the one I had booked as it was the only one available. Clearly they have doubled their money on the room booked for me. Despite wthe discussion of the issue I had to go and request my original standard of room for the rest of my 4 day stay and move myself when it was available. At check-in there was some difficulty regarding my membership points which I was told would be referred to the manager, while it was eventually resolved at no point was I notified that this had occurred. Decidedly average customer service.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinfathisar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendra W, Public Relations Manager at Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you for your valuable comments and sharing with us your experience at Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles. Your business is extremely important to us and we greatly appreciate your feedback. We take most seriously your concerns about your guestroom accommodations and want to reassure you that our hotel currently is undergoing an improvement project throughout the next 12-18 months to remedy the very issues you have raised. In the meantime, please accept our sincerest apologies for having caused you disappointment and inconvenience. We are steadfastly committed to providing guests with a superior experience and hope that on your next visit to downtown Los Angeles, we will have an opportunity to restore your confidence in our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

The building is beautiful, but some of the areas are starting to look a little tired! The rooms were large but a little disappointed that they only had rooms left with 2 double beds instead of a king.

The location is perfect as it is next to the metro station which takes you to most of the touristy places you want to go.

It is a very big hotel so you don feel like you get a personal service, we only saw any staff when we checked in and out.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xxx21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Mirage, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

The Millenium Biltmore is an ok average 3 star hotel. The rooms are clean, and check in service smooth. It is typical for hotels built in that era in that bathrooms are small without much space to lay your toiletries out, but as stated, that is the design of the era in which this hotel was built. A note of caution--THE PARKING IS A RIP-OFF-$40 dollars per day--so try not to drive there. The location for downtown LA is good. One other note, if you need to use internet, the internet here is really slow, and the ethernet cable internet did not work for me, so I had to stay wireless for my business transactions.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ziggy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
258 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

NOTE: I did not spend the night at the hotel - I just spent an afternoon exploring all the nooks and crannies, admiring the EXQUISITE architecture and enjoying a wonderful few hours having tea in the garden/fountain lobby. So so beautiful!!
Everything about this hotel is ornate, charming...classic beauty.
Our tea was just lovely! Our server and his assistant we both very funny, attentive and professional waiters. We loved them! Our teas were delicious and we even got a tiny little take home tea as a parting gift! :) We savored every bite of each sandwich, sweet, scone, and petit four! Just a TRULY wonderful, relaxing, upscale Afternoon Tea destination. So much history, so much class, all the photos of the awards ceremonies that were held there...we even snuck down and saw the ballroom for ourselves!! Hee hee! All the Hollywood history just intrigues me!!
A perfect place to share a memorable afternoon with my sweet Tea buddy! Thank you Biltmore for sticking around and letting us soak up your elegance!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
#52 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#8 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Standard Downtown
The Standard Downtown
#91 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#40 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles

Property: Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles
Address: 506 South Grand Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90071-2602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles 3.5*
Number of rooms: 683
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Millennium Biltmore Hotel has been a legendary Los Angeles landmark since 1923. With exquisite Spanish-Italian Renaissance architecture, including stunning hand-painted ceilings, it's rich history is most noted for its connection with the Oscars - the founding banquet for the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences was held in the Crystal Ballroom in 1927, where the original "Oscar" statuette was sketched on a Biltmore napkin, and eight Academy Awards banquets were held in the Biltmore Bowl during the '30s and '40s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotelopia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, TravelUp and Ebookers so you can book your Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Biltmore Los Angeles
Los Angeles Millennium Biltmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing