We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel full of character with spacious rooms and plenty of eating options”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles
Ranked #95 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Raby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Hotel full of character with spacious rooms and plenty of eating options”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed 3 nights in the Millennium Biltmore in November and were really impressed by the history and character of the place. The entrance area and passage way linking the facilities in the hotel are lovely to see and appreciate the quality of the building which was built around 1930. Many photographs are displayed around the corridors to show guests from the past and this helps bring home the history of the place and provides a comforting feeling that it really was at the top in quality terms form many years. It has been modernised with great care and still looks splendid today and we had a great time there. The rooms are very spacious and quiet and cleanliness is of the highest standard throughout. We only had breakfast at the hotel due to all the trips but it was freshly cooked and good value. We did have some drinks in the bar and this was busy with a jazz band playing music and this went well with the surroundings. So in summary a quality hotel with great character that does its best to make you feel relaxed in wonderful surroundings.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeGraham379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,965 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    615
    1,062
    709
    360
    219
See reviews for
435
1,009
195
755
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

First of all I worked in Central L.A for ten years back in the 80's and if some body said I would be staying at the Biltmore Hotel I would say your crazy. This area has changed so much with the high end restaurants, Hotels, and stores. The night life goes all night. The Biltmore is awesome with high class finishes of glitz and glamor, and that old school elegance that could only be found in the best Hotels. The rooms are great and clean. the staff very helpful and friendly. We stayed here for a retirement party and enjoyed the whole experience. I would stay here again if in town.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 03GWing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantucket, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 22 November 2013

The charm and elegance of the lobby and public spaces of this once stately hotel stayed on the first floor. The hallway upstairs reeked of stale tobacco smoke as did the room. In fairness it was a smoking floor, apparently, because there were ashtrays in the room. but I wasn't given a choice. The separate shower stall was pleasant but the faucets were leaky and the water pressure was grossly inadequate even by "water saver" standards. The hot water took about five minutes to run warm, literally, (much faster in the sink) and using the cold to temper it was never necessary. The room was also very noisy both from the traffic on Fifth Street and from people in the hallway as late as 4:30 in the morning - and it was the last room on the hall. The maid also knocked at my door at 8:10 am the first morning asking to clean the room.
When I checked in, the desk clerk barely acknowledged me, spent an inordinate amount of time looking for a room, said he had to "download more rooms" and looked some more, finally asking a coworker for assistance. He then handed me the key and told me the room number. No apology for the delay. I had to ask him to return my credit card, license and AAA card which he did without comment, but he finally responded to my last request - for directions to the elevator. I was upgraded to a small suite but he didn't tell me. I guess he wanted me to be surprised.
Out of six elevators, it appeared that only two were working, causing a big back up.
On the plus side, the bar was very pleasant and the food and beverage I had there were fine.

Room Tip: Stay away from the Fifth Street side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ackquack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Northville, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

I just spent one night at the Biltmore. The public areas are stunning, and the catering meals were exceptional. As you might expect from a historic hotel,the rooms are small in size with old plumbing fixtures. However the decor of the guest rooms could use updating. I would start with the mattresses, they felt 20 years old and the sheets were pilled and the blankets were those old fuzzy kind. The exterior hallways are very loud so if you stay here get a room at the end of the hallway.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank mom2lingling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Staff weren't that helpful. Has a very grand downstairs area. Very flash & large. Poncy restaurant. However rooms pretty basic but very large, bathroom very small. Service very slow when needed something. Right across the road from a park that has late night music playing. I wouldnt stay here again

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alana r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendra W, Public Relations Manager at Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you for your valuable comments and sharing with us your experience at Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles. Your business is extremely important to us and we greatly appreciate your feedback. We take most seriously your concerns about your guestroom accommodations and want to reassure you that our hotel currently is undergoing an improvement project and reinforcement of customer service training throughout the next 12-18 months to remedy the very issues you have raised. Additionally, your comments will be addressed with the relevant managers so that necessary corrective measures can be taken. In the meantime, please accept our sincerest apologies for having caused you disappointment and inconvenience. We are steadfastly committed to providing guests with a superior experience and hope that on your next visit to downtown Los Angeles, we will have an opportunity to restore your confidence in our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Grand old hotel but guest rooms and facilities in need of rehab.
My (non deluxe) room was pretty small (but clean). Bathroom was barely big enough for 1. Shower was very basic.
Fitness center: quantity over quality. Good number of machines but in need of refresh. Only elliptical was unusable, 1 of the 5 treadmills was broken but not marked as such.
Lobby is nice. Decent downtown location.
They could really rehab this and make it much nicer/deluxe and charge more.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RRMbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendra W, Public Relations Manager at Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you for your valuable comments and sharing with us your experience at Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles. Your business is extremely important to us and we greatly appreciate your feedback. We take most seriously your concerns about your guestroom accommodations and want to reassure you that our hotel currently is undergoing an improvement project and reinforcement of customer service training throughout the next 12-18 months to remedy the very issues you have raised. Additionally, your comments about other areas of the hotel will be addressed with the relevant managers so that necessary corrective measures can be taken. In the meantime, please accept our sincerest apologies for having caused you disappointment and inconvenience. We are steadfastly committed to providing guests with a superior experience and hope that on your next visit to downtown Los Angeles, we will have an opportunity to restore your confidence in our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed here in Nov '13 and despite the emailed reminders regarding my arrival time of early on the following morning to the nights I had booked the hotel marked me as a No Show. This meant that I was given a room of a lesser standard to the one I had booked as it was the only one available. Clearly they have doubled their money on the room booked for me. Despite wthe discussion of the issue I had to go and request my original standard of room for the rest of my 4 day stay and move myself when it was available. At check-in there was some difficulty regarding my membership points which I was told would be referred to the manager, while it was eventually resolved at no point was I notified that this had occurred. Decidedly average customer service.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinfathisar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendra W, Public Relations Manager at Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you for your valuable comments and sharing with us your experience at Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles. Your business is extremely important to us and we greatly appreciate your feedback. We take most seriously your concerns about your guestroom accommodations and want to reassure you that our hotel currently is undergoing an improvement project throughout the next 12-18 months to remedy the very issues you have raised. In the meantime, please accept our sincerest apologies for having caused you disappointment and inconvenience. We are steadfastly committed to providing guests with a superior experience and hope that on your next visit to downtown Los Angeles, we will have an opportunity to restore your confidence in our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#32 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,116 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 351 in Los Angeles
695 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Downtown
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
#55 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,265 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles

Property: Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles
Address: 506 South Grand Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90071-2602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles 3.5*
Number of rooms: 683
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Millennium Biltmore Hotel has been a legendary Los Angeles landmark since 1923. With exquisite Spanish-Italian Renaissance architecture, including stunning hand-painted ceilings, it's rich history is most noted for its connection with the Oscars - the founding banquet for the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences was held in the Crystal Ballroom in 1927, where the original "Oscar" statuette was sketched on a Biltmore napkin, and eight Academy Awards banquets were held in the Biltmore Bowl during the '30s and '40s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Biltmore Los Angeles
Los Angeles Millennium Biltmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing