We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to expectation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles
Ranked #96 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Kurrajong NSW
Level Contributor
176 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Not up to expectation”
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

A charming old grand hotel of another era. Lots of history, but desperately in need of an upgrade. Great location, but very poky & small rooms; slow, unreliable ( and not enough) elevators; dining facilities very limited in cuisine choices and breakfast area staff were very rude & disinterested. Evening staff in dining area were very helpful & friendly. Very good Concierge. Would not return unless it undertakes a major major upgrade

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendra W, Public Relations Manager at Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for your valuable comments and sharing with us your experience. Your business is extremely important to us and we greatly appreciate your feedback. We are steadfastly committed to providing guests with a superior experience and take most seriously your concerns about your guestroom accommodations, dining options and service. We want to reassure you that our hotel currently is undergoing an improvement project and reinforcement of customer service training throughout the next 12-18 months to remedy the very issues you have raised. Additionally, your comments will be addressed with the relevant managers so that necessary corrective measures can be taken. Our elevators are being upgraded currently, and we have enhanced our menu in Rendezvous Court Cafe in order to provide more variety.

In the meantime, please accept our sincerest apologies for our performance and for having caused you disappointment and inconvenience. We hope that on your next visit to downtown Los Angeles, we will have an opportunity to restore your confidence in our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,906 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    596
    1,040
    699
    356
    215
See reviews for
426
986
190
738
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

While this hotel has an incredible place in LA's history, it is in serious need of an update. The common areas are quite grand, but the rooms are a bit shabby and dated. The worst part are the elevators...we waited over 20 minutes just to get down five flights. We often took the stairs because the wait was always ridiculous, but what are you supposed do when you have multiple bags?!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LisaUSC_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendra W, Public Relations Manager at Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for your valuable comments and sharing with us your experience. Your business is extremely important to us and we greatly appreciate your feedback. We are steadfastly committed to providing guests with a superior experience and take most seriously your concerns about your guestroom accommodations. We want to reassure you that our hotel currently is undergoing an improvement project. Additionally, our elevators currently are being upgraded for greater efficiency.

In the meantime, please accept our sincerest apologies for our performance and for having caused you disappointment and inconvenience. We hope that on your next visit to downtown Los Angeles, we will have an opportunity to restore your confidence in our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights on our trip to the U.S. Upon arrival, we were checked in straight away which was so nice of them because we were so tired from a 14 hours flight. We were given a room facing the courtyard with 2 double beds (which was so comfy). Yes, the bathroom was small but we managed. We love the unique décor, high ceilings and the old charm that comes with it. The hotel entrance was quite grand and although the hotel is old, it was kept clean. The heated pool looks nice although we never used it. The location was handy to the metro and we used it a bit to get around to Hollywood and Universal. There was a Starbucks, pharmacy and Macys nearby. We were happy with our stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdcrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Loved our stay here only downside freezing cold AC throughout hotel in April. Eg: In dining room it was so cold, hot breakfast was cold before we could eat it and hotel needs to take note,that maybe guests would stay inside and use the facilities if weren't driven out for some warmth !

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

I was in downtown for a wedding and got an amazing rate on Expedia. The fare amazingly included all taxes and fees for the hotel but the hotel was "masked". I only knew the hotel after putting in my credit card info- a tip: this is the only 4 star hotel in downtown with an indoor pool

I liked that the hotel was right next to the Watergrill restaurant and within walking distance to Bottega Louie. I also liked that the hotel is historic so the decor was beautiful. We felt like we were in Europe.

The cons were the rooms. I'm sure there are updated rooms but we were in what we felt like one of the original rooms! Hallway, room, bathroom... All were very dated and old. It was only one night so it worked for us and did its job.

I've stayed at the Hilton Checkers right across the street and the room I stayed in had a similar feeling. The better thing about the Biltmore is rooms are huge- it was double the size of the Checkers standard room.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank vicky_lb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendra W, Public Relations Manager at Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for your valuable comments and sharing with us your experience. Your business is extremely important to us and we greatly appreciate your feedback. We are steadfastly committed to providing guests with a superior experience and take most seriously your concerns about your guestroom accommodations. We want to reassure you that our hotel currently is undergoing an improvement project throughout the next 12-18 months to remedy the very issues you have raised.

We were delighted that you enjoyed the historic grandeur of the hotel, as well as its location. As for our guest rooms, we hope that on your next visit to downtown Los Angeles, we will have an opportunity to restore your confidence in our product.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coachella, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I was skeptical after booking this hotel for a long weekend in LA after reading all of the reviews. Yes the rooms are a bit dated and yes this quirky property needs a facelift. I even think our room was a bit eery and haunted (long story) but that just added to the charm in the end. The lobby is massive and beautiful. The location downtown is perfect and easily accessible.

Check in was very easy when we arrived at 4pm on a busy Friday. The first room we were given had two beds which irked me. As it turns out I made a mistake when booking so it was my error. The staff did not fault me for my error as was very accommodating. As soon as I called down to the front desk they found me a new room right away. In the time it took me to get back down to the lobby the person I spoke with had already booked us in a king corner room with views of park.

The room was large although many of the contents were old and dusty. The bed was not like my stays at the W but nonetheless comfortable. The bathroom was large with an old iron tub. The water pressure was great although I had a hard time getting the temperature right (my spouse had no issue). They have smoking floors which is definitely old school.

I would give this property a rating of 3.5 if possible, but I upped it to 4 because of the staff. Everyone we encountered was very friendly and welcoming. The bar was a bit pricey but had great ambiance with friendly bartenders. The luggage porters are helpful and you should use them because even spinner luggage on that thick carpet is not a good time with so much distance to cover.

I would recommend that you park across the street at the Pershing Square Garage for one third of the price. It was very convenient and open 24 hours. If you don't mind a short walk there are some good restaurant options and bars in the downtown neighborhood which is making a comeback.

This hotel is not new or cheap. If you can get a good rate I would recommend staying here because although it is an aging beauty it is still good enough to provide a comfortable stay while experiencing a bit of history.

Room Tip: Get a corner room with views of Pershing Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eblis3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
#58 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#33 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Downtown
The Standard Downtown
The Standard Downtown
#93 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles

Property: Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles
Address: 506 South Grand Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90071-2602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles 3.5*
Number of rooms: 683
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Millennium Biltmore Hotel has been a legendary Los Angeles landmark since 1923. With exquisite Spanish-Italian Renaissance architecture, including stunning hand-painted ceilings, it's rich history is most noted for its connection with the Oscars - the founding banquet for the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences was held in the Crystal Ballroom in 1927, where the original "Oscar" statuette was sketched on a Biltmore napkin, and eight Academy Awards banquets were held in the Biltmore Bowl during the '30s and '40s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotelopia, Agoda, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Biltmore Los Angeles
Los Angeles Millennium Biltmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing