We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles
Ranked #95 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“very disappointed”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

hotel is grand, when you see the lobbies and reception, you literally feel like you are in a palace. bar, party halls, everything is so grand. But room we stayed in was horrible. it looked like it was not renovated since a long time. there was a dump yard when we opened the window. the lock of the bathroom was broken. Though service was good and they immediately changed our room we changed the room and guess what, again the door of the bathroom was not closing. though the location was in the middle of the downtown. there is only valet parking in the hotel. if you want self parking there are several parking lots in nearby area which charge around 15 dollars for night. there is one just behind biltmore.. I was expecting more with this hotel, so felt disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Agrawalswati22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendra W, Public Relations Manager at Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your valuable comments and sharing with us your experience at Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles. Your business is extremely important to us and we greatly appreciate your feedback. We are steadfastly committed to providing guests with a superior experience and take most seriously your concerns about your guestroom condition. We want to reassure you that our hotel currently is undergoing an improvement project and reinforcement of customer service training throughout the next 12-18 months to remedy the very issues you have raised. Additionally, your comments will be addressed with the relevant managers so that necessary corrective measures can be taken. In the meantime, please accept our sincere apologies for our poor performance and for having caused you disappointment and inconvenience. We hope that you will give us another chance on your next visit to downtown Los Angeles; we will do our best to restore your confidence in our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    596
    1,040
    698
    356
    215
See reviews for
426
986
190
738
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Unfortunately the aesthetic charm of this hotel is very much outweighed by the dated and much in need of renovation requirements of the facilities.

We travelled as a group of 4, and upon arrival (despite having requested this via both our booking and via email to confirm) we were allocated twin rooms instead of doubles - the member of staff on reception was completely uninterested in trying to sort this out and more interested in having a chat with her friend at the other end of the counter. The rooms themselves were tatty, with a view to the inner workings of the air conditioning ducts (noisy) and a number of brick walls! the bathrooms had cracked and dirty tiles. When we asked to change there were no rooms available close to each other so as we were only there for 3 nights decided to stay where we were (my parents are fairly elderly and we didn't want to be too far away).

The room service option was apparently withdrawn a week before we arrived despite the room service menu still being in the guest book in the rooms and no notification that it was not available. When we enquired at guest services, we were informed by a rather rude member of staff who didn't even bother to look up from her computer that "if you want food they do it in the bar" and dismissed with a wave of her hand towards the general direction of the bar. That said the staff in the bar were very helpful when I explained that my father was ill and unable to come down and they prepared some sandwiches for them.

The "spa" area is located in the bowels of the hotel and is incredibly dated, and looks like it hasn't been touched for 30 years, neither the steam room nor Jacuzzi were working, the pool looked dirty and the exercise equipment was minimal. not what I would have expected from a hotel of this calibre.

The lifts were incredibly slow and you have to guess which way they are going as the up / down lights were not working on most of them.

On the plus side, the valet staff were very polite and helpful and its in a good location. The lobby areas are impressive, and the Singaporean restaurant is definitely worth a visit.

All in all, it was a disappointing visit to what we were hoping was going to be the jewel in our holiday crown, sadly, not to be.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendra W, Public Relations Manager at Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your valuable comments and sharing with us your experience at Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles. Your business is extremely important to us and we greatly appreciate your feedback. We are steadfastly committed to providing guests with a superior experience and take most seriously your concerns about your guestroom condition and overall service. We want to reassure you that our hotel currently is undergoing an improvement project and reinforcement of customer service training throughout the next 12-18 months to remedy the very issues you have raised. Additionally, your comments will be addressed with the relevant managers so that necessary corrective measures can be taken. In the meantime, please accept our sincere apologies for our poor performance and for having caused you disappointment and inconvenience. We hope that you will give us another chance on your next visit to downtown Los Angeles; we will do our best to restore your confidence in our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Granted this is a historic hotel and should be preserved, but it is decades out of date and BADLY in need of an upgrade. My room is dark and musty and the bathroom has moldy, cracked tiles and is very run down. Nothing looks or feels clean. The place is crawling with tourists, it's loud and not suitable for business travel. The health club is a joke. There are cardio machines there that are at least 20 years old - and they look it! Would NEVER stay here again unless they gutted the place and upgraded EVERYTHING!

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Danothemano S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendra W, Public Relations Manager at Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your valuable comments and sharing with us your experience at Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles. Your business is extremely important to us and we greatly appreciate your feedback. We are steadfastly committed to providing guests with a superior experience and take most seriously your concerns about your guestroom condition. We want to reassure you that our hotel currently is undergoing an improvement project and reinforcement of customer service training throughout the next 12-18 months to remedy the very issues you have raised. Additionally, your comments will be addressed with the relevant managers so that necessary corrective measures can be taken. In the meantime, please accept our sincere apologies for our poor performance and for having caused you disappointment and inconvenience. We hope that you will give us another chance on your next visit to downtown Los Angeles; we will do our best to restore your confidence in our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Yes, this hotel is on the older side, but I was pleased with my stay overall. The elevators were really slow, but nothing to lose your mind over. My room was large and spacious and I had no issues. Room service could have been a bit more accommodating time-wise, but again, no big deal. I would recommend this place and stay here again should I need a downtown LA hotel in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juan Carlos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
177 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

GO FOR THE LOUNGE

Nice ambience in this historic old hotel, which for many years hosted the Academy Awards. The lobby is worth a look.

We got a nice double room on the tenth floor, with easy access to the tenth floor lounge, which has light breakfast and dinner for those with lounge access.

Good wireless connectivity, $10 a day, nice choice of restaurants inside and outside, good fitness center. We ate at the Cabbage Patch, half a block from the hotel.

One glitch: my wife got off the elevator on the wrong floor, tried her key in the door she thought was ours, and it opened to a very surprised occupant. We notified the management.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with access to the tenth floor lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank constanttraveler71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Province of Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
152 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I have stayed at the Biltmore in downtown L.A. numerous times while on business and I am providing an overall rating as average based on a cumulative stay experience. I appreciate being able to usually get a government rate at the hotel. The rooms are inconsistent; at times the accommodations are up-to-date, but at others, like the last time I stayed, were less than would be expected from such a lauded, historic hotel. Many of the outdated tiles in the bathroom were cracked and had dark mold. Two of the lamps did not work. I had to crawl under the table to find an outlet to plug in my computer. The history of the hotel is fascinating, especially photos of some of the historic events they have sponsored, displayed in the hallways en route to the public bathrooms. Bar staff are friendly and accommodating, even to the ever dissatisfied Brits who hated every special drink they ordered. There are two stairs to get to the elevators which is a problem with luggage and if one is disabled. Last time I was there and checked my luggage with the bell desk, they quickly checked it but were no where to be found for at least ten minutes for my luggage and those of others waiting.

Room Tip: Ask for a "quiet" room, not facing Grand Ave or 5th Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DawnStarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendra W, Public Relations Manager at Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your valuable comments and sharing with us your experience at Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles. Your business is extremely important to us and we greatly appreciate your feedback. We are steadfastly committed to providing guests with a superior experience and take most seriously your concerns about your guestroom condition and elevator issues. We want to reassure you that our hotel currently is undergoing an improvement project and reinforcement of customer service training throughout the next 12-18 months to remedy the very issues you have raised. Additionally, your comments will be addressed with the relevant managers so that necessary corrective measures can be taken. In the meantime, please accept our sincere apologies for our poor performance and for having caused you disappointment and inconvenience. We hope that you will give us another chance on your next visit to downtown Los Angeles; we will do our best to restore your confidence in our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I booked this hotel for my parents anniversary. The hotel is very pretty and historic and the room was spacious and clean. The problem was with the valet and bell service. The staff was slow and there was no sense of urgency to get the baggage to my parents room promptly. I had to call three times and no one answered the phone. The staff is needs more employees. I had to call the front to ask them to assist with the service. One of the doormen that I asked to help the next day said it was his job to help with customer service. So I believe this will be the last time we will ever stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sdl90034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendra W, Public Relations Manager at Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your valuable comments and sharing with us your experience at Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles. Your business is extremely important to us and we greatly appreciate your feedback. We are steadfastly committed to providing guests with a superior experience and take most seriously your concerns about our valet and bell service. We want to reassure you that our hotel currently is undergoing a reinforcement of customer service training throughout the next 12-18 months to remedy the very issues you have raised. Additionally, your comments will be addressed with the relevant managers so that necessary corrective measures can be taken. In the meantime, please accept our sincere apologies for having caused you disappointment and inconvenience. We hope that you will give us another chance on your next visit to downtown Los Angeles; we will do our best to restore your confidence in our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
#58 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#33 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Downtown
The Standard Downtown
The Standard Downtown
#94 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles

Property: Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles
Address: 506 South Grand Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90071-2602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles 3.5*
Number of rooms: 683
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Millennium Biltmore Hotel has been a legendary Los Angeles landmark since 1923. With exquisite Spanish-Italian Renaissance architecture, including stunning hand-painted ceilings, it's rich history is most noted for its connection with the Oscars - the founding banquet for the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences was held in the Crystal Ballroom in 1927, where the original "Oscar" statuette was sketched on a Biltmore napkin, and eight Academy Awards banquets were held in the Biltmore Bowl during the '30s and '40s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Biltmore Los Angeles
Los Angeles Millennium Biltmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing