We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical beauty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles
Ranked #94 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Visalia, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Historical beauty”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

This is a gorgeous hotel! The rooms are a bit dated and the bathrooms are small but it's worth it to stay in this historical hotel. Make sure you walk around and ask to see the ballroom where they filmed the academy awards. If they have time they will show you. These rooms are beautiful! Don't miss the pool area for a trip back in time.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rocky5858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    607
    1,050
    704
    357
    217
See reviews for
429
994
193
750
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014 via mobile

Beautiful vintage hotel located across from Pershing Square. Rooms are well maintained for an older hotel. AC works fantastically. Great place for photos and romantic couple pics haha.

Bathrooms, however, need serious maintenance work. We booked rooms in both the 10th floor suites and normal floors and the drainage issue was the same. Water pressure was strong but I was ankle deep in water. I don't even take a long shower and I was swimming in my bathtub by the end. Customer service was great because they happily sent someone to fix it. But too bad it didn't get fixed. If you're grossed out by water that doesn't drain, don't stay here.

Parking at Biltmore is $44. Where they do that at!!! Park at the open lot next to 411 W. 5th street. It's $14 per day. Be careful if there are no attendants. The tickets expire at midnight. But the machine only lets you buy a ticket on that day. We bought another ticket at 11:30 pm only for it to expire 30 minutes later. :-| just park overnight and pay the kiosk guy in the morning

Stayed September 2014
Helpful?
Thank RoamOnRepeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendra W, Public Relations Manager at Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Thank you for your valuable comments and sharing with us your experience at Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles. Your business is extremely important to us and we greatly appreciate your feedback. We are steadfastly committed to providing guests with a superior experience and take most seriously your concerns about the water pressure and temperature in your guestroom. We want to reassure you that our hotel currently is undergoing an improvement project and reinforcement of customer service training throughout the next 12-18 months to remedy the very issues you have raised. Additionally, your comments will be addressed with the relevant managers so that necessary corrective measures can be taken. In the meantime, please accept our sincere apologies for our poor performance and for having caused you disappointment and inconvenience. We hope that you will give us another chance on your next visit to downtown Los Angeles; we will do our best to restore your confidence in our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

We just returned from a 2 night stay for a wedding. The hotel is beautiful and full of history. We enjoyed our room and being able to make coffee ourselves. However, the parking is very expensive and having to pay for wi-fi at a 4 star resort is out dated. They do have traditional high tea which is in a beautiful setting. Check in was quick and easy. Large flat screen TV was nice. Good walking location to the jewelry district. We swam in the beautiful indoor pool and felt like we were in Greece. Perfect temperature too.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 7th floor and overlooked the park which was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelgirl648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

This was my second time staying here in two months. We chose it for downtown location and proximity to Pershing Square subway station. The first time the room was large and sunny, with lots of light. This time the view was toward the other wing of the building, a little gloomy. My female colleague had odd encounters with housekeeping staff on two consecutive nights. Right after she checked in around 10:00 PM, an employee came to her room, asked to come in, and removed some item from the cupboard and went away. Suspicious at that hour. The second night, after she returned to her room about 9:00 PM, she again got a knock on the door from housekeeping asking if everything was all right. I also had a visit from housekeeping around 5:00 PM asking to vacuum, which was not needed. It seems strange to send housekeeping around in the evening. My (single, female) colleague was uncomfortable with those encounters.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bragnelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendra W, Public Relations Manager at Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Thank you for your valuable comments and sharing with us your experience at Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles. Your business is extremely important to us and we greatly appreciate your feedback. We are steadfastly committed to providing guests with a superior experience and take most seriously your concerns about housekeeping visits during your stay. We want to reassure you that our hotel currently is undergoing an improvement project and reinforcement of customer service training throughout the next 12-18 months to remedy the very issues you have raised. Additionally, your comments will be addressed with the relevant managers so that necessary corrective measures can be taken. In the meantime, please accept our sincere apologies for having caused you any inconvenience. We hope that you will give us another chance on your next visit to downtown Los Angeles; we will do our best to restore your confidence in our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

The hotel staff were excellent and extremely service orientated, the guy at the rendezvous cafe was so warm, charming and friendly everyday. We celebrated our daughters birthdays there and he even got them bracelets as gifts. What kindness!! The club rooms are good as you get complimentary breakfast at the lounge. The rooms do need updating with mini fridges and perhaps room service. Lots of filming goes on in this hotel which makes it lively. Good value for money but do park at nearby parking as hotel parking is 40 usd a day. We stayed more than 10 days here and we did enjoy our stay and had no problems at all. LA is great we even went it the VMAs!!

Room Tip: Club rooms are worth it with complimentary breakfast and tea!! Higher floors are less noisy and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

I have read the previous posts and we are lucky to say that we had a brilliant stay here yes it was a shock to pay for the valet parking but that's it . we went straight to the front door they took our cases out of the car ,we went straight to the reception which was very overwhelming it has the wow factor we were checked in very quickly and told us that we were given a free upgrade , our room was amazing twin bathrooms living area walkin wardrobes a giant tv in both rooms my only problem is you need to pay for the wifi this was a bit of a shock I think that they could give you wifi as this is a top hotel and that is our only complaint but we would still love to stay there again

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank covUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telluride, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

we stayed here recently. We love historic hotels and this one has fabulous public spaces with great history. however it's overpriced and the rooms are a bit tired. They need to do some building maintenance outside and some updating inside. after staying at similar hotels, this was a disappointment. Great to visit and look around but doesn't match its previous grandeur.

Room Tip: Get a room as high as possible for any views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendra W, Public Relations Manager at Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you for your valuable comments and sharing with us your experience at Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles. Your business is extremely important to us and we greatly appreciate your feedback. We are steadfastly committed to providing guests with a superior experience and take most seriously your concerns about your guestroom condition. We want to reassure you that our hotel currently is undergoing an improvement project and reinforcement of customer service training throughout the next 12-18 months to remedy the very issues you have raised. In the meantime, please accept our sincere apologies for having caused you disappointment . We hope that you will give us another chance on your next visit to downtown Los Angeles; we will do our best to restore your confidence in our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#31 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,092 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#6 of 351 in Los Angeles
661 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
#55 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,248 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles

Property: Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles
Address: 506 South Grand Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90071-2602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles 3.5*
Number of rooms: 683
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Millennium Biltmore Hotel has been a legendary Los Angeles landmark since 1923. With exquisite Spanish-Italian Renaissance architecture, including stunning hand-painted ceilings, it's rich history is most noted for its connection with the Oscars - the founding banquet for the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences was held in the Crystal Ballroom in 1927, where the original "Oscar" statuette was sketched on a Biltmore napkin, and eight Academy Awards banquets were held in the Biltmore Bowl during the '30s and '40s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Biltmore Los Angeles
Los Angeles Millennium Biltmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing