We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant Historic Hotel in convenient downtown location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles
Ranked #96 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
GAINESVILLE
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Elegant Historic Hotel in convenient downtown location”
Reviewed 31 January 2011

My wife and I stayed four nights over New Year's weekend while attending the Rose Bowl with a group. Our room on the third floor faced the courtyard so street noise was not a problem It was clean and apparently recently renovated, except for the television which was a bit blurry; a flat screen would have been a welcome addition. The bathroom wass clean, although the fixtures are a bit dated.
The public areas of this hotel are what makes it a real gem. It takes you back to the 1940's with it's elegance and is a welcome change from the bland modern corporate type hotels. We found the staff to be very friendly, efficient and helpful. The breakfast buffet was excellent, as was the Italian buffet in the lower level restaurant which we enoyed New Year's night. The hotel is convenient to downtown attractions such as the Staples center, museums, concert halls, etc.
We enjoyed our stay very much and look forward to returning. If you like a historic hotel with character this is the place to go.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertGainesville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillenniumBiltmorePR, Public Relations Manager at Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles, responded to this review, 2 February 2011
Thank you kindly for your recent review - we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We are indeed proud of our long history and glad to know that you got a chance to enjoy and see some of the building and had a positive experience with our staff. Please come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,906 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    596
    1,040
    699
    356
    215
See reviews for
426
986
190
738
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
az
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2011

-$40 for Valet Parking or $30 for a private parking garage around the corner, next to Dominoes Pizza. RIP-OFF!

-$10 for wi-fi. RIP-OFF!

-Comfy bed, pretty decor, good water pressure. Weird toilet in bathroom...no toilet tank, looks like public restroom toilet.

-Semi-friendly staff. Sometimes, they spoke like cordial robots...they WON'T guarantee a room with two-beds either.

-Gift shop with over-priced items...about $3 for a bottle of soda. RIP-OFF!

-Beautiful lobby.

-Paper-thin walls/doors (heard loud teens from a Church Dance group slamming doors all night long...even after midnight!!!! Had to call security twice to STOP this!)

-Stain on furniture.

-Central air...the one in room doesn't truly control the individual room temperature. Says A/C, but was blasting heat into the room like a giant hair dryer.

-On 11th Floor, could still hear traffic outside below.

-The halls smell "vintage"...or maybe it was cigarette smoke?

-Elevators take FOREVER, esp when you are stuck getting a room at a higher level. The elevators would stop at EVERY floor most of the time even though no one was on the floors it stopped at...creepy!

-Bathroom had a shower cap, stinky lotion, shampoo, conditioner, and shower gel, plus 2 bars of soap. No counter space for toiletries.

-Dodge wandering shower curtain in shower...it will stick to you like a dryer fabric sheet..

-Good Kleenex brand of tissue. Better quality of toilet paper in bathroom than most hotels have...a BONUS!

-I would NEVER stay here again, nor would I recommend it to anyone. Find a different place, if you want a decent night's sleep. This place is the WORST place I have ever stayed at!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank azroxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillenniumBiltmorePR, Public Relations Manager at Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles, responded to this review, 2 February 2011
Thank you for your recent review. We are so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We did have a very large group of paying guests in town for a dance conference that had events throughout the day in and out of the hotel. Our security team did absolutely everything possible to keep the noise down for the rest of our guests, but please know that these types of groups are extremely rare at the hotel, as we are largely a business and convention hotel that does not see bookings from entertainment groups other than filming.
Parking unfortunately is at a premium in busy downtown LA, and our prices are in line with the other hotels in the area. We do suggest that in the interest of saving money guests can choose to self-park across the street at Pershing Square's excellent parking garage as another option, though there are no in/out privileges as with our valet.
In terms of the room product, we thank you for bringing these to our attention; please know that these in particular will be addressed as part of our ongoing product improvement program.

We hope that despite this occurrence you will consider returning to the landmark Biltmore for a future stay. As the premier historic hotel in downtown it is important to us to remain LA's "Host of the Coast."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2011

was expensive in term of quality!the parking costing 40 $ per day!the room was clean byt there was mold in the bathroom.the area around the hotel was not very safe.

Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nikolaoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillenniumBiltmorePR, Public Relations Manager at Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles, responded to this review, 2 February 2011
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. While our rates are extremely reasonable, parking in busy downtown Los Angeles is unfortunately at a high premium everywhere you go, and our overnight rates are in line with what you will typically find downtown. There is an alternate garage, though without in-and-out privilieges, just across the street that is very safe and clean and offers lower overnight rates - this is a great option for guests who do not need to take their car out often and want to see some savings.
Cleanliness is our #1 priority however, and we assure you and all our guests that we do indeed deep-clean all rooms to avoid problems like the one you experienced. Please know that this incident has been brought to management's attention.

Finally in terms of safety, the Biltmore employs 24-hour security staff, and indeed downtown Los Angeles itself is an excellent business and residential neighborhood with round-the-clock street safety teams. Our hope is that no guest feels that this urban area is not a good place to be out walking around and enjoying all the many things there are to see and do here!

We hope in light of this more detailed information you will give the Biltmore another chance and return for a stay the next time you are in Los Angeles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chino Hills, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2011

Expected a luxurious, comfortable hotel and was instead shocked by the exceptionally low quality of everything in the rooms. The vents hadn't been cleaned in years, the bathrooms reminded me of an old high school gymnasium, the beds were reasonable, but definitely not what should be expected, the television was an old Magnavox from what looked to be from the late 70's to early 80's. The hotel has a lot of history and the lobby and meeting areas are top notch. However, the rooms look to be the same as they were in their heyday. VERY disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kct331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2011

My wife and I travel to downtown Los Angeles frequently to attend concerts at the Walt Disney Hall on Grand Avenue. Our hotel of choice during these visits is the Omni, just a short walk away, but the Omni was booked both times we attended events in January. Our backup was the Biltmore, where we had never stayed before. We were pleasantly surprised. The hotel is beautiful with lots of history. All of the public areas are magnificent, with high ceilings and lovely architecture. The hotel prides itself on its history and displays many old photographs of Hollywood stars attending events at the hotel over the years, including the Academy of Awards. If you are a lover of gracious, old hotels, this is a great place to stay. We stayed on the Club level and the rooms were nice. The bathrooms, however, are tiny (in the style of old hotel bathrooms) and really not big enough for two people. The Club lounge was also pleasant but we found the offerings there to be less than the Omni Club lounge. We only ate breakfast in the hotel restaurant and found it more than adequate--the buffet is quite good. The walk to the Disney Hall from the Biltmore is about two blocks longer than from the Omni with a very steep hill to climb. We will go back to the Omni in March when we return to LA but the Biltmore is a good backup if the Omni is full.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrmull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillenniumBiltmorePR, Public Relations Manager at Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles, responded to this review, 3 February 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We're so glad to hear that even though it is not your usual choice for accommodations that you had a chance to experience the hotel and were pleased with your time here. We do indeed hope that next time you are back downtown you will choose us once more! Look forward to having you back with us. A quick reminder also - our hotel towncar is available for guests and dining patrons who are attending events at the Walt Disney Concert Hall or Music Center, and is a swift, comfortable ride up the hill at no additional cost - just let our concierge know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2011

As every other reviewer is pointing out! The arrival seems to be spectacular due to the impressive foyer and restaurant. It is truly old world and beautifully done. You need a car when you stay at the hotel over a weekend as down town LA is very quiet during that time, and public transport is not frequent. The shopping malls around the hotel is closed on sundays and the nearest shopping mall seems to be The Grove (plus minus 10 miles away).
The food in the hotel is expensive and not very noteworthy. The hotel might be ideal for the businessman doing business down town LA. Not really for the holiday traveller!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drviljoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level Contributor
88 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2011

Well the location of the hotel is good . Right in the city center . The lobby is fantastic . You get the feeling of very stylish hotel . Nice cages and a good bar full of people every night . The only dissapoinment were the rooms , which are old decorated and the furniture is old . The baths are bad as well . The rooms needs urgent renovation . We also upgraded the room , but the new one was the same only a little bigger .

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ionut C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillenniumBiltmorePR, Public Relations Manager at Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles, responded to this review, 24 January 2011
Thank you for your recent review! We're so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, and especially that you got a chance to experience the Gallery Bar and found the location easy and convenient, but disappointed to hear the room product did not meet expectations. As a historic hotel we try very hard to furnish and decorate the guestrooms in the period style of the hotel while still maintaining quality and cleanliness. Rooms are decorated with custom wood furniture and marble baths, all of which we take great strides to ensure are in excellent condition and offer ultimate comfort. We hope that in light of these efforts and continued product improvements and upgrades that you will consider staying with us again on your next visit to Los Angeles!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
#58 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#33 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Downtown
The Standard Downtown
The Standard Downtown
#93 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles

Property: Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles
Address: 506 South Grand Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90071-2602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles 3.5*
Number of rooms: 683
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Millennium Biltmore Hotel has been a legendary Los Angeles landmark since 1923. With exquisite Spanish-Italian Renaissance architecture, including stunning hand-painted ceilings, it's rich history is most noted for its connection with the Oscars - the founding banquet for the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences was held in the Crystal Ballroom in 1927, where the original "Oscar" statuette was sketched on a Biltmore napkin, and eight Academy Awards banquets were held in the Biltmore Bowl during the '30s and '40s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Hotelopia, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Biltmore Los Angeles
Los Angeles Millennium Biltmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing