We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC
Ranked #143 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed 24 April 2008

We arrived on a weekday, early in the afternoon. The front desk staff were cordial and helpful. We were two adults and two children under 4. When we arrived, our room was not ready. A senior staff member offered to let us wait in the pool area under some shade. The room was clean. The furniture is relatively old but in good condition. There were ants in the "kitchen area" - where the sink, fridge, and microwave were, but the management is taking care of it--the fumigator was there during our stay. At night, the neighbourhood is generally quiet.

The continental breakfast begins at 6:30 a.m., which is great for those of us who are early birds.

We were able to get to the Convention Centre by bus - the Dash for only 25 cents per person. The Dash and other bus services are available within a block from the Inn.

There are lots of eating places in the vicinity - McDonalds, Subway, Mexican food, etc.

If we visited LA again and needed to be close to Downtown, I would definitely stay at this Inn. I recommend it for any traveller who wants to be close to Downtown.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JiVi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vilausc, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2008

Dear Valued Guest,

We are glad to know that your recent stay with us was very comfortable and satisfying. Thank you for your comments and suggestions. We are always doing our best to meet every guest's expectations. We hope to see you and your family on your next visit to Los Angeles.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 367 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2007

I went to this hotel with some friends, the trip wasn't planned so as soon as we got in L.A. we booked the first place we heard of, here are some good and bad things:

The good:
Comfortable beds and pillows
Air conditioner
Coffee maker, instant coffee, hair dryer
Nice bathroom
Friendly cleanning staff
Decent breakfast

The bad:
The price was a bit expensive, i searched other hotels for the same price and they were better.
The front desk people a bit rude
Not a safe neighborhood
Noisy air conditioner
Ants all over the place even in the bed

  • Stayed: August 2005, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank myraje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2007

We stayed here while attending an event at USC and for the most part were not dissappointed. It's what we expected based on other reviewers' comments. The front desk help, while not bouncing-off-the-walls elated that we chose to stay here, was efficient and professional enough. Our room was clean, the bed was comfortable and everything was in working order. It was nice to have a refrigerator and microwave in the room and to park (for free) just outside our room. Only negatives - we did request an extra pillow but was told none were available (which is plausible considering what appeared to be high occupancy). Also, don't let the "free continental breakfast" be a selling factor. It's less than basic; one or two types of pastries, some coffee and that's it. The surrounding area is a mix of college-oriented businesses, some commercial ventures and several fast food restaurants. We walked the two blocks from the Vagabond to USC several times at night and never felt threatened although caution and common sense should always be exercised. Unless their rates become too out of line with what you get, we'll most likely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Soonerfan52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2007

Overall, a great value compared to most properties in the LA area. Will definitely stay there again. Clean, well kept property with palm trees lining the pool. Read on for more specific details....

Good Stuff:
* Free parking
* Visibile Security (Figueroa Corridor Security)
* Many restaurants & coffee shops within walking distance
* VERY reasonable rates (check out their website for internet & AAA deals)
* Family Rooms (one bed for parents, bunk beds or 2 doubles for the kids in a separate area)
* Down the street from Staples Center & USC
* Continental breakfast offered (a few bagels & muffins)
* Gorgeous pool
* Bank of America ATM across the street

Not So Good Stuff:
* Top bunk bed not made- had to do it myself, but as anyone who's ever slept in a bunk beds knows it's hard to make the top bunk (fresh sheets were provided and the fitted sheet was always put on)
* If you go too far past the airplane in front of the USC building, you'll end up in "da 'hood"- be aware of your surroundings!
* Continental breakfast- nothing to write home about, we ended up at the donut shop next door (BTW: my family ALWAYS uses the continental when we travel, so this breakfast was LAME!)
* The extra room where the kids slept was stuffy (there was a window that you could leave open)

Note:
During other times of the year the atmosphere may be very different. USC has a popular football team (the Trojans), so things might be a bit rowdier if you visit in the fall. Since the Lakers & Clippers play down the street, you may also notice some basketball fans from the end of October on into April. (Playoffs are in May & June- the Lakers are a perennial playoff team.) We stayed during an off time for this hotel.

The Room & Staff
The Vagabond staff was courteous & professional. The front office is open 24/7 and offers drinks (water, coffee, tea & juice) anytime. The rooms were clean & neat. Furniture was in good shape and was fairly modern. The property was located down the street from USC and Interstate 110.

Overall Impressions
I enjoyed my stay at the Vagabond. I mentioned earlier that "da 'hood" was down the street. In spite of that, I felt VERY safe. (BTW: the more expensive Radisson is far closer to "da 'hood" than the Vagabond ;)) Don't be put off by the surroundings as the city is obviously working hard to make tourists feel safe in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaliJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2006

My daughter and I stayed here prior to her job at one of the museums before she moved to a USC campus apt. The hotel is walking distance to USC as well as University Village. The check in clerk was efficient, no-nonsense. The rooms are clean, but the carpets were old. If you have a lot of bags, try to get a ground floor room because there is no elevator and you have to lug everything upstairs. The first night we were here the hotel was full of kids going to a ball game so it was kinda noisy, but that was okay with us. There was a homeless man with a bicycle next to our room and the manager/security persons told him to leave. The diner on premises gave bad service, but perhaps it was a bad day for the girl. LAPD (Police) eat there every morning & we found that to be reassuring. The grounds have pretty flowers with a pool next to the parking lot. But the overall cleanliness on the ousdie fo the hotel needs work. All in all, an okay place for the $ if you're on a budget.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Europe02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
228
Reviewed 2 March 2006

Rooms smelled, toilets ran all night, everyone at the front desk was completly and overly rude on purpose. I asked for a smoking room and the guy at the front desk said the whole hotel was non-smoking, The man behind me asked for the same....and GOT IT! This hotel is geared more toward the spanish speaking. They called at 9 am and reminded me that check out was at 11 am, they then proceded to tell me that I had to get out as soon as possible so the maid could clean the room by 11 for the next guest. I will never stay at this hotel again.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
212
Reviewed 14 February 2006

I am a Univerisity Professor. My collegue and I came to LA to do some research at USC.
I stayed at the Vagabond Inn because our reservation at the Radisson was not found when we arrived.

I was pleasantly surprised, when I entered the room, as I am not familiar with this name.
The room was clean, and looked to have been renovated recently.
The most exciting part, is that they were filming a movie on the premises. As a theatre-buff, I was excited to see this! I would recommmend The Vagabond Inn to any of my collegues travelling to LA.

  • Stayed: February 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Radisson Midtown at USC
#36 of 355 in Los Angeles
662 reviews
Rodeway Inn Convention Center
#210 of 355 in Los Angeles
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express - Los Angeles Downtown West
Hotel Solaire Los Angeles
#192 of 355 in Los Angeles
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC

Address: 3101 S Figueroa St, Los Angeles, CA 90007-3737
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £89 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vagabond Inn downtown Los Angeles (USC) hotel is Just one block from the USC campus and the Shrine Auditorium, home of the Emmy Awards, in the heart of Los Angeles.Also within a few miles is Downtown Los Angeles, L.A. LIVE is a one-of-a-kind entertainment campus, L.A. LIVE is a gunuine world-class sports and entertainment destination, Staples Center, LA Convention Center, Garment District and the Museum of Natural History, among other points of interest. Plan a visit to the nearby Universal Studios, Disneyland and Knott's Berry Farm are just miles away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Los Angeles-Usc Hotel Los Angeles
Vagabond Hotel Los Angeles
Vagabond Hotel Figueroa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing