We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding People”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC
Ranked #136 of 353 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed 3 May 2013

I was afraid to book this hotel and was I wrong. The room was very clean the bathroom was spotless and the linen was fresh. I must say that some of the other reviews are wrong at times. You must always remember what you pay for is what you get. You want 5 star then go book 5 star. You want 4 star and 24 hour this and that then guess what go book the 4 star hotel!! The rooms are a bit on the older side and do need to be upgraded, but for the 3 nights I was there, they had what I needed. Continental Breakfast free.... Wireless internet free...Clean linen, clean bathroom all of which I want in a place to sleep. The staff..... OUTSTANDING!!!! A special thank you to Nazneen, Maria, Jazmin and Gustavo for all that they did while I was a guest at this establishment.... from asking so many questions about the area and what to do in my offf time..... from asking about T-shirt shops and to which burger place was the best in the area. There were so many different choices and Maria was right there on the spot telling me where to go!!!! I was there for a book signing with a great friend that was invited to be at the LA Times festival of books... wow was it easy to get to.... CVS is within a block for anything I needed. Once this Inn gets renovated and they are trying to get it done... it will be the best little Inn on the S. Figueroa Corridor!!! Once again I THANK the outstanding Staff and I do need to get back there again even if it's for some R & R.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JiminFlorida33460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vilausc, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Dear JimminFlorida33,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and for yor recent stay.
Your feedback is important to us and to many other travelllers as this information helps them detirmine wether to stay with us or go else where. We are currently work in progress into updating/changing certain things in our Rooms.. We are glad our staff was helpful and friendly and they helped you get through out your stay. We hope you do come back soon again. Havea great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
There are newer reviews for Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2013

In April this year, my daughter and I, we were attending the LA Times Book Festival at LAUSC. Vagabond Inn Hotel was the closest to the event. As a beginner author, I selected the hotel for its proximity as well as for the affordability of its rates. Since this is a budget hotel, I did not know what to expect. I was pleasantly surprised to find the room in impeccable condition, beginning from the beautiful white sheets, comfortable beds, office staff, and maid service, all to be highly recommended.
Thank you all: Maria, Joanna, Sam, Nazneen...et all, I wish I knew all of your names - a five-star staff!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helene r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vilausc, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Dear Helene,

Thank you for your recent stay and for writiing this nice review of our property.

It was a pleasure meeting you and your daughter. We are very happy and proud to have welcomed most of the authors in our property.

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to surprise you. Hopefully in the future you come back to LA and you stay with us again.

Sincerely, Joana-General Manager ad Staff.

P.S. Thank you for the book dedication!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

I stayed at two extremes during a recent trip to LA. The Biltmore which is a $300/night plus hotel and the Vagabond Inn which is a motel-6 type of place (but better than that I think). If you have a car and are fine with an older motel which has a wall unit AC, the room was fine. However, the neighborhood is pretty poor, not somplace that is attractive, or where I think you would want to wander around at night. I had to use cabs and one cab wanted to drop me off a block away at night and I would not think it would be wise to make that walk at night. I don't know how far USC was but many people commented that this area where the motel is located is a poor section of town. It did look like a run-down area and my fellow travelers at the motel appears to be college age students and a number of orientals that seemed to have quite a few people in the rooms. I did not see any decent restaurants nearby, mainly fast food and run-down appearance. I will say the motel lobby desk staff were very nice and accomodating.

If you are on a budget, and don't care about location because you have a car, there again is nothing wrong with the room (no bugs, the bed was comfortable enough) and the room was very clean. The sink is outside of the bathroom which I always think is a plus for multiple travelers and the price of course was less than half of the Biltmore (which in my view the Biltmore was a very old Hotel, classy but way over-priced). However, for the Vagabond, I would imagine it is best if you are someone needing to be near USC. I was commuting to the Convention Center and although only 2 miles, there were a lot of lights and traffic, so it wasn't always a quick trip (one day with tip the cab was $20).

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank truly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vilausc, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Dear Trully,

Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to review us. Your ffedback is important to us as it iw used for quality and training purposes.

The location where we are located is actually very safe. There is a lot of patrolling since we are 1 block away from USC. We have the LAPD, City Ambassadors, and USC Patrol. Our 24/7 Desk service has many information they can share with you.

I see you had a few issues during your stay . I do apologize for any troubles you encountered. I do want to share with you of our many nice decent restaurants near our property or within walking disctance. Asiana Grill offers 15% discount to all of our Guest's. We have there menus in the lobby, Trio house is a Thai Restaurant andthey offer 10% off to our Guest's. Viztango is an Italian Restaurant within a few steps from our property, La Taquiza is a mexican Restaurant also within walking distance, Margharitta pizza Restaurants is an Italian Restaurant less than half a block from property. For breakfast Grinder is approx 1 and a half blocks within walking disctance, Jack and Joe's is also like 7-10 minutes walking. There are many Restaurants around the area not only fast food. We are within 2 miles fromt the convention center where there many Restaurants also and live entertainment.

Next time you are in Town give us the opportunity to make things right for you.
Once again thank you for sharing your experience with us.

Sincerely Joana-GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

While I usually stay at this Vagabond Inn because of it's proximity to USC, I stayed this time out of choice during a business trip which had me spending time at the LA Convention Center and downtown. It's not the Ritz but it's clean, reasonably priced and convenient. It's a little bit of 'Americana' - a two story motor inn. The front desk staff, Nazneen and her colleagues, were friendly and helpful. Same goes for the house cleaning ladies.

Room Tip: Call them directly to see if they can give you a break on the rate.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vilausc, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Dear Alex H,


Thank you for your recent stay and taking the time to give us a nice review! We appreciate all the good feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and good to hear our staff was helpful. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely, Joana-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

My son goes to USC and my wife and I stay quite often at the Vagabond Inn in Los Angeles near USC. This is a charming old-fashion motel that is very nicely maintained with excellent staff. While this is not a 5 star hotel, it certainly has 5 star staff like Nazneed or Eddie to take care of any travel concerns that you may have.

I recommend the Vagabond to USC families, business people, or anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vilausc, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

Dear Ray C,

Thank you for your recent stay and the nice review! We appreciate all the good feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and good to hear our staff was helpful. Also we apreciate the recomendation I know this will help future Guest's on booking with us.We hope to see you again soon, Sincerely, Joana-GM and Vagabond Inn LA-USC Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

My daughter and I stayed here while attending an admitted student event at USC. It's certainly no luxury hotel. However, it is a pleasant property. The room was spacious and very clean. The bed was downy soft and oh so comfortable! It has a wonderful location in regard to USC: walk a few minutes and you're there. The staff we interacted with were so friendly, sweet, and helpful. My daughter decided to attend USC, so this will be my "home away from home"! I'll be staying here very often.

Room Tip: Our room faced the pool and it was quiet and when we did hear voices from below, they were muffled...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vilausc, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

Dear Sophie109,

Thank you for your nice review! We appreciate all the good feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and good to hear our staff was helpful. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely, Joana-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

My class booked a couple of rooms to shoot our short films in and it was great! The staff was very helpful and kind, and I found Maria Cardenas, the head housekeeper, to be a delight. Now anytime someone from out of town visits me, I'll have them stay there!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank itssrachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vilausc, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

Dear Racheal,

Thank you for your/clasmates recent stay at our property and sharing your experience with many other travellers future Guest's. We were excited to welcome all of you. We are glad everything worked out for you guys and we look forward to seeing you guys soon.

Sincerely, Joana-GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Radisson Midtown at USC
#40 of 353 in Los Angeles
628 reviews
Rodeway Inn Convention Center
#196 of 353 in Los Angeles
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express - Los Angeles Downtown West
Hotel Solaire Los Angeles
#178 of 353 in Los Angeles
381 reviews
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#55 of 353 in Los Angeles
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC

Address: 3101 S Figueroa St, Los Angeles, CA 90007-3737
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £93 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vagabond Inn downtown Los Angeles (USC) hotel is Just one block from the USC campus and the Shrine Auditorium, home of the Emmy Awards, in the heart of Los Angeles.Also within a few miles is Downtown Los Angeles, L.A. LIVE is a one-of-a-kind entertainment campus, L.A. LIVE is a gunuine world-class sports and entertainment destination, Staples Center, LA Convention Center, Garment District and the Museum of Natural History, among other points of interest. Plan a visit to the nearby Universal Studios, Disneyland and Knott's Berry Farm are just miles away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Los Angeles-Usc Hotel Los Angeles
Vagabond Hotel Los Angeles
Vagabond Hotel Figueroa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing