We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrid and USC only reason to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC
Ranked #135 of 352 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Do not expect comfort or quality
Only perfunctory and convenient to usc
I have never been to a hotel that did not offer body lotion
The breakfast is nasty and the service awful
No more to say but i have to write 100 characters except it is overpriced

Thank debralynn108
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
vilausc, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear Debralynn108,

Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We apologize for the bad experience you had at our location even though the reason is not specific. I see your main complaint is about us not having lotion in Rooms and our breakfast. In regards to the lotion it is available upon request at the Front Desk. As for the breakfast it is a limited breakfast currently looking for other options. If you have time please contact us for further investigation.

Sincerely, Joana-GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
There are newer reviews for Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2013

conveniently located close to downtown - in fact we were there for four nights and every morning we walked from the motel to the Convention Center. We were very happy with the motel, clean room and bed and friendly staff. There could be some improvement in the morning b/fast which is laid out in the tiny reception area; if most of the patrons were to come in for b/fast at one time, there would be a stampede! We were wondering about the safety of the location, but having stayed there, it truly is a nice, safe place with all the well known fast food chains surrounding the motel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vilausc, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay and choosing us as the Hotel of your choice. We are happy to hear you had a pleasant stay. Hopefully next time you need a clean and safe place to stay and you are around the area you stay with us again.

Sincerely, Joana-GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

we stayed at vagabond inn for 2 nights as our daughter had to join USC and this was our first visit to LA. We were pleasantly surprised when the friendly hotel staff assisted us in transporting our 6 suitcases to our room!! The room was comfortable and clean. The breakfast in the morning was neat- fresh fruits, coffee and a variety of bagels...The place is very well located as it is 10 minutes walk to USC, and has a whole variety of eating places at its doorsteps. The Banks, Fedex, CVS etc are all situated a stones throw away. The bus and metro stops are nearby. On the whole, highly recommended for a convenient stay..

Room Tip: Try for a room on first floor and facing the front..
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pratimagoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vilausc, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank for your recent stay for sharing your experience with many other travelers. We are happy to had you found your stay with us satisfactory. We look forward to seeing you around in the future.

Sincerely, Joana!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We booked the Vagabond Inn due to its great location near USC and good price. It was a pretty standard motel with old furniture, but the bed was surprisingly comfy and the room and bathroom were clean. Internet was included, and there was coffee, fruit, and pastries in the morning. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: I would avoid a room on the first floor behind the pool, as we heard folks running by in the middle...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Susan18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vilausc, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay and for sharing your experience with other Guest's. We value your opinion and all of the information obtained from our Guest's is used for training and quality purposes. We are glad you enjoyed our continental breakfast and had a good Wi-Fi connection through out your stay. Hope to have you back in our property soon again!

Sincerely, Joana-GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I was very apprehensive about staying in LA, when I first pulled up to this motel, I was seriously nervous, wondering what the heck I got myself into. I came in at night straight from the freeway.
When I expressed my doubts to the clerk at check in, she assured me it was a safe neighborhood, she said we could easily walk around the corner to Fresh and Easy Market, and in the morning easily walk over to USC for our tour. I was traveling alone with my daughter, so of course I was concerned!
The clerk was right, very safe neighborhood , lots of students walking and riding their bikes, we had no problems, in fact we were very comfortable out walking at night.
The room was clean and comfortable as other reviews have stated, nothing special, the air conditioner was noisy, but provided a great white noise to sleep to.
It's not the Marriott but it was close to USC, it was comfortable , clean and quiet.
We did not eat the continental breakfast, lots of yucky looking doughnuts and sweet rolls, not my thing, but other people seemed to enjoy it!
If you are visiting USC and need a reasonably priced motel, you have found it!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank suzeego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vilausc, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay and for sharing your experience with us and many other travelers.

We are glad you had a good stay and that your expectations were met. Our staff always try their best to have our Guest's feel welcome and safe. Hope next time you are in Town you chose to stay with us again.

Sincerely, Joana-GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Stayed three nights on recent trip to L.A. Location is along main road close to USC campus. Our room was on 2nd floor. Room had very old look, furniture appeared dingy but overall cleanliness was OK. Shower/tub did not drain quickly. Had a lot of trouble maintaining a wifi connection. Room included microwave + refrigerator. Continental breakfast was limited (would like to have had a few more choices). Rate was very reasonable (esp. with AAA discount), given the location near USC. The facility location and rate were the best features to us.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vilausc, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay and for sharing your experience with many other travelers. We are glad your stay with us was good overall. In regards to the Wi-Fi connection being slow thank you for bringing it up to our attention it is much appreciated. We will have one of our Techs check it out. Hope next time you come to L.A. you choose to stay with us again.

Regards, Joana-GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Stayed 3 nights with my wife, found it to be very reasonable, clean and serviceable. You get what is advertised and value for money. Breakfast could be improved. Good wifi reception and nice pool. After staying in places that sold themselves over and above the truth, it's a relief to find a wiziwig (what you see is what you get) accomodation.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Yoni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vilausc, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Dear Ramztaz1525,

Thank you for your recent stay and for sharing your experience with many other Guest's. We are glad you had a satisfactory stay and your expectations were met. I regards to the breakfast we are working on it. Hopefully soon or next time you are around we will have a different variety/healthier breakfast but it is a bit hard since we are a limited service Hotel.

Regards, Joana-GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Radisson Midtown at USC
#40 of 352 in Los Angeles
627 reviews
Rodeway Inn Convention Center
#194 of 352 in Los Angeles
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express - Los Angeles Downtown West
Hotel Solaire Los Angeles
#178 of 352 in Los Angeles
378 reviews
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#57 of 352 in Los Angeles
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC

Address: 3101 S Figueroa St, Los Angeles, CA 90007-3737
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £92 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vagabond Inn downtown Los Angeles (USC) hotel is Just one block from the USC campus and the Shrine Auditorium, home of the Emmy Awards, in the heart of Los Angeles.Also within a few miles is Downtown Los Angeles, L.A. LIVE is a one-of-a-kind entertainment campus, L.A. LIVE is a gunuine world-class sports and entertainment destination, Staples Center, LA Convention Center, Garment District and the Museum of Natural History, among other points of interest. Plan a visit to the nearby Universal Studios, Disneyland and Knott's Berry Farm are just miles away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Los Angeles-Usc Hotel Los Angeles
Vagabond Hotel Los Angeles
Vagabond Hotel Figueroa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing