We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC
Nearby Hotels
The Westin Los Angeles Airport(Los Angeles)(Great Value!)
US$157
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Viceroy Santa Monica(Santa Monica)
US$651
US$452
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Beverly Hills Hotel(Beverly Hills)(Great Value!)
US$1,114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$558
US$512
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sheraton Gateway Los Angeles Hotel(Los Angeles)(Great Value!)
US$178
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Grafton on Sunset(West Hollywood)(Great Value!)
US$266
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hollywood Hotel(Los Angeles)(Great Value!)
US$486
US$363
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Embassy Suites by Hilton LAX North(Los Angeles)(Great Value!)
US$210
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$918
US$671
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$335
US$234
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (374)
Filter reviews
374 results
Traveller rating
98
139
75
35
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
98
139
75
35
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree parkingbagelscontinental breakfastwalking distancefront officereasonable ratesrooms are cleanhousekeeping staffconvenient locationstaples centerbed was very comfortablecvsdowntownneighborhoodproximitybeddingsoap
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
237 - 242 of 374 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I stayed at the Vagabond while attending a conference at the LA convention center. I booked here because the main hotel was full and the overflow hotels were pricey. Plus, I like to try out independent hotels just for fun.
This place is a keeper. Lots of restaurants and entertainment within walking distance. The staff is friendly, the internet worked, the pool was spotless and overall the place was a keeper.

my only complaint came with the breakfast. It was a lacking, but they had plenty of coffee and juice and bagels.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vilausc, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay. We are glad you had a good experience through out your stay. We apologize about the breakfast we are trying to seek for other options. Hope you stay with us soon again.

Regards, Vagabond Staff and Management!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Do not expect comfort or quality
Only perfunctory and convenient to usc
I have never been to a hotel that did not offer body lotion
The breakfast is nasty and the service awful
No more to say but i have to write 100 characters except it is overpriced

Thank debralynn108
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
vilausc, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear Debralynn108,

Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We apologize for the bad experience you had at our location even though the reason is not specific. I see your main complaint is about us not having lotion in Rooms and our breakfast. In regards to the lotion it is available upon request at the Front Desk. As for the breakfast it is a limited breakfast currently looking for other options. If you have time please contact us for further investigation.

Sincerely, Joana-GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 September 2013

conveniently located close to downtown - in fact we were there for four nights and every morning we walked from the motel to the Convention Center. We were very happy with the motel, clean room and bed and friendly staff. There could be some improvement in the morning b/fast which is laid out in the tiny reception area; if most of the patrons were to come in for b/fast at one time, there would be a stampede! We were wondering about the safety of the location, but having stayed there, it truly is a nice, safe place with all the well known fast food chains surrounding the motel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vilausc, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay and choosing us as the Hotel of your choice. We are happy to hear you had a pleasant stay. Hopefully next time you need a clean and safe place to stay and you are around the area you stay with us again.

Sincerely, Joana-GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

we stayed at vagabond inn for 2 nights as our daughter had to join USC and this was our first visit to LA. We were pleasantly surprised when the friendly hotel staff assisted us in transporting our 6 suitcases to our room!! The room was comfortable and clean. The breakfast in the morning was neat- fresh fruits, coffee and a variety of bagels...The place is very well located as it is 10 minutes walk to USC, and has a whole variety of eating places at its doorsteps. The Banks, Fedex, CVS etc are all situated a stones throw away. The bus and metro stops are nearby. On the whole, highly recommended for a convenient stay..

Room Tip: Try for a room on first floor and facing the front..
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pratimagoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vilausc, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank for your recent stay for sharing your experience with many other travelers. We are happy to had you found your stay with us satisfactory. We look forward to seeing you around in the future.

Sincerely, Joana!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We booked the Vagabond Inn due to its great location near USC and good price. It was a pretty standard motel with old furniture, but the bed was surprisingly comfy and the room and bathroom were clean. Internet was included, and there was coffee, fruit, and pastries in the morning. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: I would avoid a room on the first floor behind the pool, as we heard folks running by in the middle of the night, and could hear some rowdy students in the high rise building across the parking lot (to be fair, it was freshman move-in weekend).
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Susan18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vilausc, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay and for sharing your experience with other Guest's. We value your opinion and all of the information obtained from our Guest's is used for training and quality purposes. We are glad you enjoyed our continental breakfast and had a good Wi-Fi connection through out your stay. Hope to have you back in our property soon again!

Sincerely, Joana-GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews