We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“On the Edge of USC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC
Ranked #131 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
270 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“On the Edge of USC”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Almost in the campus of USC, the Vagabond in is about what you would expect. Rooms open to the outside. Parking right outside the room. More of a traditional motel than a hotel. Room was clean, spartan, a bit threadbare, but the bed was comfortable. Toiletries minimal. Plastic cups wrapped in plastic. Remarkably, the property was relatively quiet. Continental breakfast served in the morning. Sticky buns and coffee.

Great location if you are visiting USC.

Room Tip: Get a room in the back of the hotel away from Figueroa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KARXPRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vilausc, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing you experience with many other Guest's. We value your opinion and comments. Hope you return in the near future.

Sincerely, Joana Zen....GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    127
    73
    31
    23
See reviews for
131
39
38
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

This was a nice enough place, comfy beds and easy check in. The walls are super thin, can hear next doors showering and hair blowing, and door slamming at 1 am. Breakfast was the worst part; a tiny table in the already small lobby. Bagels, mini muffins, coffee, tea and juice. The price was way too much for what it was and for where it was.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coutterhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vilausc, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you for your recent stay. We are glad you had a good stay with us. Hopefully in the near future we see you around again. Once again thanks. Your review is much appreciated.

Sincerely, Joana Zen....GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level Contributor
120 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

We arrived at the hotel at about 9 PM, tired from traveling, to visit our daughter. When we arrived there was not even one parking spot for us. We were tired and wanted to go to sleep. Apparently there was a football game and the hotel did nothing to monitor their parking lot for people parking there who were not even guests. We sat in our car for nearly an hour then finally gave up and parked in a spot that was not really a legit spot. A man came out of his room and began to cuss at us and told us that if we parked there he'd make sure to bash our car in. Great. So we went back to sit in our car. By now the game was over and people who were at the game were returning to their cars leaving spots for the legal paying guests.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmlvngstn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vilausc, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Please accept our sincerest apology for any inconvenience you encountered through out your stay.
In the future when you stay with us again or any other property please notify a Staff member immediately when you have a problem in order for us to find a way to better assist you. Normally during USC's Football season we are very busy parking we have not had any problems in the past. Every Guest that check's in and has a vehicle must register it and then we give a parking permit to be placed on dashboard. We have camera's through out the parking lot for us to monitor and prevent any type of incidents. Once again we apologize for the inconvenience.

Sincerely, Joana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times on visits to USC, and have never been disappointed. It is only a few blocks from the campus on a busy street. We often take the airport shuttle to the campus gate 3, and then walk five minutes to the hotel. The breakfast is simple (croissants, bagels, donuts, juice and coffee) but there are several places nearby if you want something more substantial. The bi-lingual staff is very helpful and the rooms are simply equipped but clean. The price is excellent for a good hotel in the center of L.A.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vilausc, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear sawthcsf,

Thank you for your recent stay in our LA-USC location. We are happy to hear you had a good stay and you appreciate our bi-lingual staff. Your opinion and feedback is important to us and much appreciated as it is used for quality and training purposes. Hope you come back to stay with us again!

Sincerely, Joana-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
197 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

I stayed at the Vagabond while attending a conference at the LA convention center. I booked here because the main hotel was full and the overflow hotels were pricey. Plus, I like to try out independent hotels just for fun.
This place is a keeper. Lots of restaurants and entertainment within walking distance. The staff is friendly, the internet worked, the pool was spotless and overall the place was a keeper.

my only complaint came with the breakfast. It was a lacking, but they had plenty of coffee and juice and bagels.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vilausc, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay. We are glad you had a good experience through out your stay. We apologize about the breakfast we are trying to seek for other options. Hope you stay with us soon again.

Regards, Vagabond Staff and Management!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
96 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Do not expect comfort or quality
Only perfunctory and convenient to usc
I have never been to a hotel that did not offer body lotion
The breakfast is nasty and the service awful
No more to say but i have to write 100 characters except it is overpriced

Helpful?
Thank debralynn108
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
vilausc, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Debralynn108,

Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We apologize for the bad experience you had at our location even though the reason is not specific. I see your main complaint is about us not having lotion in Rooms and our breakfast. In regards to the lotion it is available upon request at the Front Desk. As for the breakfast it is a limited breakfast currently looking for other options. If you have time please contact us for further investigation.

Sincerely, Joana-GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Allen, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

conveniently located close to downtown - in fact we were there for four nights and every morning we walked from the motel to the Convention Center. We were very happy with the motel, clean room and bed and friendly staff. There could be some improvement in the morning b/fast which is laid out in the tiny reception area; if most of the patrons were to come in for b/fast at one time, there would be a stampede! We were wondering about the safety of the location, but having stayed there, it truly is a nice, safe place with all the well known fast food chains surrounding the motel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vilausc, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay and choosing us as the Hotel of your choice. We are happy to hear you had a pleasant stay. Hopefully next time you need a clean and safe place to stay and you are around the area you stay with us again.

Sincerely, Joana-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Radisson Midtown at USC
#52 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Rodeway Inn Convention Center
#172 of 349 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
#36 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Ramada Los Angeles/Downtown West
Ramada Los Angeles/Downtown West
#176 of 349 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express - Los Angeles Downtown West
Park Motel
#196 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC

Property: Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC
Address: 3101 S. Figueroa st, Los Angeles, CA 90007
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vagabond Inn downtown Los Angeles (USC) hotel is Just one block from the USC campus and the Shrine Auditorium, home of the Emmy Awards, in the heart of Los Angeles.Also within a few miles is Downtown Los Angeles, L.A. LIVE is a one-of-a-kind entertainment campus, L.A. LIVE is a gunuine world-class sports and entertainment destination, Staples Center, LA Convention Center, Garment District and the Museum of Natural History, among other points of interest. Plan a visit to the nearby Universal Studios, Disneyland and Knott's Berry Farm are just miles away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Los Angeles-Usc Hotel Los Angeles
Vagabond Hotel Los Angeles
Vagabond Hotel Figueroa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing