We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I love to stay here because the rooms clean, affordable and comfortable and the staff is considerate, friendly and professiona” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC
Ranked #128 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I love to stay here because the rooms clean, affordable and comfortable and the staff is considerate, friendly and professiona”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

I have stayed here several times during the last couple of years. Every time is a complete pleasure. The location is convenient, especially if you have business at USC. The staff is fantastic. Whenever I need anything, like extra pillows due to a broken arm, all I have to do is call the front desk and Maria, from housekeeping, brings it immediately. She is one of those employees who always greets you with a smile and remembers who you are and what you need. She always goes that extra mile to be good at her job. The rooms are large and clean and the beds are very comfortable. The girls at the desk are always friendly and professional. I highly recommend staying here

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank batnwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vilausc, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Batnwolf,

Thank you for your recent stay and for sharing your experience not only with us but many other Guest's. We are happy to hear you are happy with our services and staff. I have brought up your feedback to the staff and Maria as it motivates them to keep on doing a great job. We are glad you are currently in the Hotel. Thank you for your loyalty!

Sincerely, Joana Zen-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    123
    70
    31
    23
See reviews for
129
38
37
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salvador, Ba
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

It has a good localization and services. The team is friendly and helpful. The hotel offers some orientation about places to visit. The rooms are clean and comfortable. They offer all amenities necessary. The internet are free. The breakfast is satisfactory. They allow checkin early. The only problem is that the hotel is very expensive for a motel. Others offer the same services with best price.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ssamorim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vilausc, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear SSamorim,

Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to review us. We are happy to hear you had a good experience in our Hotel. We value all of our guest's comments and feedback. We hope to see you soon again.

Sincerely, Joana-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

I have stayed at this motel a couple of times and each time I was happy with the rooms. The front desk people (especially Josefina) are very nice and do everything they can to make your stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vilausc, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Tom Y,

Thank you for your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I have brought up your comments to our staff. We appreciate the special recognition for Josefina. This means a lot to her as she is one of our new members. Hopefully you stay with us again in the near future.

Sincerely Joana-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

My wife and I have stayed here several times since our daughter attended USC. It is walking distance to campus and convenient to several restaurants and entertainment venues. Usually clean, but not spotless. In past visits we have asked for maintenance to re-vacuum as it was very dusty under the window unit air conditioner/heater and also to re-attach the hair drier holder to the wall. It is for the most part simple and bare minimum rooms. Some are in better condition than others, so ask to see the room you are given before you commit. The noise level varies from one night to the next. It seems that there has been a change in management or ownership this year as the attitude has changed towards its customers. Our last 2 visits, the manager was not available. Ever. Even though we left a number to call back, there was never a call. I waited 20 minutes in the lobby when she finally emerged from a back office and claimed to know nothing about my complaints. I was curious as to why my room had not been cleaned for the day even though I was gone from 11 AM to the evening and there was also no hot water that day. My wife had a similar experience in February with the manager being unavailable. The front desk makes excuses for her. They used to have in-room coffee makers, but have been removed since the beginning of the school year. You can get coffee in the lobby. We had a positive experience the last 3 years, but this year has been much less at this hotel. Now, you are there for them and they will take your money, but they are not there for you. The manager's name is Joann Reyes. You will find her only some place other than the Vagabond taking care of business. This motel is recommended only for the convenience of its location to USC and as a last choice. The Radisson down the street is closer to the campus and stadium. There are also several hotels downtown which are a 5 minute drive to campus. Both those options will cost you more money. The Vagabond will cost you more in hassle and quality of service.

Room Tip: The rooms in the west sun are hot. The rooms by the pool are in poor condition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vilausc, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to share your experience with us.
Your feedback is important to us as it is used for quality and training purposes.

I offer you my sincerest apology for the inconvenience with your stay. I am glad we came to an agreement the day we spoke. Hopefully when you return in May to stay with us again you do not have any problems at all.

Sincerely, Joana!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Detroit, Michigan
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Clean, simple. Kind of expensive at $150/night for what you are getting. Air conditioning worked well. Felt very safe in the area. Very short walk to USC's beautiful campus. Wifi worked well. Standard TV.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vilausc, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to share your experience with many other travelers. We are happy to hear you had a good stay. All feedback obtained from our Guest is valuable as it helps us for improvement. We hope next time you are with in the area you stay with us. Thank you!

Sincerely, Joana!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

booked Two rooms, situated the booking and payment with NAZNEEN & she made this trip stress FREE & gave me a sense of peace along with reasonable pricing (this place is Super expensive per night), understanding my situation as a student. Without Nazneen, this place would never get my service. Next time you're in, ask for her. She's the best & she'll work with you! If you want to get ripped off, feel free to go in when she's NOT working.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PolynesianTravelGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vilausc, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for your recent stay. We value your opinion as it is important to us to know what our Guest's think of our location.
We are glad Nazneen was able to assist you and was able to better assist you with your needs. All of our staff is great and I am sure they would have also been able to assist and give you the same great customer service Nazneen provided. We hope to see you in the near future. Thank you!

Sincerely Joana!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
117 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

I stayed here one night with my wife and son for a visit to USC. The redeeming quality about this motel is that it's a block away from campus and is relatively value-priced. Other than that it's just your basic motel. I say motel because all the rooms open to the parking lot. While this is convenient if you're coming and going quite a bit, it comes with the possibility of a lot of noise.

Someone in an adjacent room started a party around 8pm that spun out of control, spilling out into the parking lot. There was loud shouting and banging on walls, as if someone was throwing furniture against them. We put up with it for a bit, but just as we were going to call the desk the cops showed up and broke things up without incident.

As mentioned, the motel is a block off campus. As such, it's also close to numerous places to eat and drink. There's a small continental breakfast in the lobby, just some pastry and beverages, and a few chairs to sit on. The room was of decent size and had a microwave and fridge. The TV was large, but wasn't hooked up to a high-definition signal. The AC/heater didn't seem to work very well, although we didn't really need it so I didn't mention it. The ironing board was missing, but we didn't need that either. The bathroom needs some updating, patching, and cleaning. The beds were comfortable. The woman at the front desk was pleasant and helpful, including recommending a good place to eat.

My wife said she would prefer to stay elsewhere if we're back in the area, but my son and I wouldn't have any problem staying there again.

Room Tip: Given the noisy party in the parking lot right outside our room, I'd probably ask for a 2nd floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunburnt_curt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vilausc, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you for your recent stay. We appreciate and value your opinion. We hope within the near future you stay with us again. Congratulations to your son for being part of the Trojan Family.

Sincerely, Joana!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Radisson Midtown at USC
#50 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Rodeway Inn Convention Center
#160 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Downtown
Stillwell Hotel
Stillwell Hotel
#217 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express - Los Angeles Downtown West
Downtown
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
#39 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Golden West Manor Motel
#253 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC

Property: Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC
Address: 3101 S. Figueroa st, Los Angeles, CA 90007
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vagabond Inn downtown Los Angeles (USC) hotel is Just one block from the USC campus and the Shrine Auditorium, home of the Emmy Awards, in the heart of Los Angeles.Also within a few miles is Downtown Los Angeles, L.A. LIVE is a one-of-a-kind entertainment campus, L.A. LIVE is a gunuine world-class sports and entertainment destination, Staples Center, LA Convention Center, Garment District and the Museum of Natural History, among other points of interest. Plan a visit to the nearby Universal Studios, Disneyland and Knott's Berry Farm are just miles away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp and Ebookers so you can book your Vagabond Inn Los Angeles at USC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Los Angeles-Usc Hotel Los Angeles
Vagabond Hotel Los Angeles
Vagabond Hotel Figueroa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing