We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive rooms with fascinating architecture”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Ranked #49 of 354 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 20 May 2011

This hotel, with its four circular towers connected to a fifth central tower, has been featured in many TV shows (see its Wikipedia article). The interior continues the circular theme, with oval fountains (drained and turned off during my visit), rounded seating areas (the central fifth floor is a good place to be alone in the crowd), and elongated glass elevators. The front desk told me that I'd been placed in a recently renovated room; I was pleased by its clean and modern feel.

Although the room's wedge shape is unusual, it's necessary when you have circular towers. The room's big enough. The internet ($12.95/24 hours, wired and wireless) is too slow to watch video, but is OK for checking e-mail and basic web surfing. A few unnecessary amenities were missing (i.e., the robe hanger had no robe and the minibar was empty), but that didn't affect my stay at all.

The hotel restaurant serves a pricy breakfast buffet, but I also had a delicious and reasonably priced dinner at the Bonaventure Brewing Company restaurant.

If I'd gotten the low rates some others have posted, I'd highly recommend it. As it is, there are a few other hotels in the neighborhood equally as nice at lower price points.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RulesLawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,908)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,781 - 1,787 of 2,908 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2011

Stayed here for a conference. Huge hotel. Clearly still re-modeling, fountains in lobby not operational. I arrived very early (10am) and the hotel called my cell as soon as they had a room for me, which was 11:30 - nice! The room itself was very nice with a great view, lovely linens, etc. My only complaint is no outlet near the bed for phone charging. I asked for a late checkout (2pm) and they accommodated me immediately. All staff interactions were positive, from front desk to stowing luggage. They do have a place to print boarding passes, but no business center. There is a place on the second floor that says it is a "Business Center" but it is not affiliated with the hotel and charges for use. There are several restaurants in or near the hotel, and some shops, though some are gone, no doubt due to the recession. Good facility for conferences.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAEsmae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

HotWire gave me a great rate of $94.00 a night for three nights last weekend. The room was small but well furnished with an amazing bed and view. They honored all my requests: renovated, quiet room with a view away from the elevators. Yes, you can hear your neighbors if you put your ear close to the wall. However, it wasn't a problem for me. The room was very fresh and clean, A/C worked great, flat screen was nice and the bathroom was immaculate. I love architecture and thought the concrete lobby and stairs spiraling around each tower in the lobby were cool. If you liked the movies Metropolis or Logan's Run, you'll appreciate the futerama lobby style. They also have a nice gym with all new equipment and a pool with a view! The hotel is walking distance to the Music Center and Metro stations. I'd stay again and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Politly ask and you may receive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SanCarlosGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

Central location, walking distance to subway, refurbished room with comfortable bed and accessories but there were some wacky design features such as bathroom sink that faced into a mirrored corner and a difficult to view TV screen. Pool was also distant from the main building. Staff was cordial but not overly friendly. Lots of restaurants in the complex were closed. Renovations gave the place a bit of a concrete monster feel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Lykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

I got a good rate on this hotel this weekend for $89/night on Hotwire. Reviews were all over the board and it seemed unanimous that hotel was in serious need of renovations so I was not sure what to think. We arrived, and noticed this hotel is absolutely enormous and had a huge lobby. Most of it was already remodeled and very little construction going on. Check in was awesome and gentleman was very nice and gave me a newly remodeled room with 2 double beds. We took the lightening fast elevator up to the 19th floor (32 floors in all) and unpacked our stuff. Room was a little on the small side but it was just me and my sister so it was ok. Nice, newly done bathroom, plasma screen TV, coffee maker that makes 1 cup of coffee complete with condiments. Fridge, dresser, desk, iron board, closet, robe. TV had some very cool channels-Nat Geo, HBO, TLC, CNN, Fox news,WE, AP, etc.. This is the largest hotel by far I have stayed at. 20 restaurants in all and a huge food court/shopping area on 4th floor. In lobby there was a large circular bar, there is also a very busy bar/nightclub called Suede. Reasonable drink prices too.

This is downtown so this is not the most convenient area if you go to Hollywood. Traffic is terrible an it is 30 minutes at least, to get to Hollywood area. There is a small Macy's plaza near by as well as many high rise buildings.

Hotel was very quiet Fri night. However, Sat night hotel had a very large number of high schoolers there for prom. Every floor was like animal house and I had to call security twice before they came up and finally took care of the many teenagers who thought they were at a pep rally. Apparantly a large fight broke out on 23rd floor. My floor the 19th one was VERY loud. Noise appeared to be a big problem that night and hotel should have had extra security to keep the teens under control. The second time I called security the man was nice but said they were very busy with noise complaints and that they could not be everywhere at once. Luckily I eventually fell asleep.

Be advised no free wi fi anywhere in hotel. I just used my sisters wi fi hot spot through her phone but I rarely stay at hotels with no free wi fi I only stayed here because of the great rate. Parking fee is absurd! so we did not have a car and just had our friend drive us around. This is typical of L.A. anyways.

Service excellent and this is a really great hotel if you do not mind the downtown area.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nocturnalgirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

The property has been under constant renovation for over a year now, the lobby fountains bone dry and lounge sealed off; the room we had was obnoxiously tiny, and barely fit the two beds with no room for walking around. The bathroom had no working fan to clear the air, the windows didn't even crack open, and the A/C barely worked, so it was stifling. There were no condiments in the room, and housekeeping didn't bother to refill our coffee during the day. Worst of all is the valet-only parking service - if they were fast, it would be OK, but we sat waiting over twenty minutes several times, once even after the valet assured me he'd park next to the door when I told him I'd be back in an hour. The $35 daily parking rate plus tips is outrageous for terrible service.

There were a few good points, the rotating restaurant at the top floor was pricey but incredibly delicious food, worthy of fine dining and a great view. There was plenty of space on top of the 3rd floor to run around the park and swim,plus lots of low priced foodstalls in the hotel lobby (but nothing nice), even a hotspot on the weekends if you like a trendy crowd. The decor of the hotel and bathroom was really pretty cool, especially the heavenly shower attachment. I like the dated style, not everything has to be ultramodern.

Verdict: I would never return, due to the lousy room, construction noise, and bad parking service.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foxyshadis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

The hotel was probably the place to be in the 1970's and 1980's but it has become very outdated. The rooms are good as is the service and the staff, they charge for wifi which is a no no in the 21st century. It is well located for access to the metro.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramsesniblick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#32 of 354 in Los Angeles
1,185 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 354 in Los Angeles
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
#59 of 354 in Los Angeles
1,301 reviews
Downtown
The Standard Downtown
The Standard Downtown
#98 of 354 in Los Angeles
1,263 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites

Address: 404 South Figueroa Street, Los Angeles, CA 90071-1710
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown , Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#19 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#34 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#47 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#52 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £180 - £405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 1354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly presiding over the City of Angels, The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites provides the ultimate urban oasis in the heart of the business district. An international symbol that has come to represent the beauty and sophistication of the city itself, this famous Westin Los Angeles hotel is one of the most photographed destinations in the world. Stroll through our atrium lobby and you'll immediately see why. Whether you're visiting for a leisurely weekend getaway, business meeting or special event, our downtown Los Angeles accommodations define the essence of modern luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel Los Angeles
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel And Suites
Westin Bonaventure Hotel
Westin Los Angeles
Los Angeles Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing