We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel in Downtown LA” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Ranked #57 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
Novato, Ca
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel in Downtown LA”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

This is a very well appointed and beautiful hotel in downtown LA. It's convenient to much of what downtown has to offer. We were here for a conference and there were 3000 of us arriving at once. The hotel managed this very well considering that another large conference was checking out as we were checking in. The esthetics of the hotel are lovely with fountains and pools on the lobby level and a very nice and large sun deck and pool area. The views of the surrounding city are quite impressive from the upper floors. I found the staff to be friendly and helpful and the rooms were well appointed and the beds fantastic. Someone mentioned tiny rooms. I have stayed at this hotel perhaps 7 times for a week each time and I have never had a tiny room. I don't recall paying for room upgrades either. Each time I had a standard room which I found to be very adequate. My one complaint is that the breakfast in the main hotel run restaurant on the lobby level was outrageously expensive. But there are plenty of places on level 4 that serve cheap breakfasts. There is also an excelent spa (I had a fantastic session of foot reflexology) and a very well equiped gym.

Room Tip: I would suggest upper floors in the Green Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mosinay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Czarcinski, General Manager at The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Thank you very much for posting a review regarding your stay at The Westin Bonaventure while in Downtown Los Angeles. We appreciate your comments and will share them with our team. Wheter here with a group business or tour there are a number of things to do in and around the hotel. We are also close to the Metro Station where you can board a train to Hollywood or Universal Studios. Thank you again.

MC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    778
    1,097
    571
    196
    123
See reviews for
362
634
212
1,066
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

I was staying here for a conference and decided to add on a couple of days to explore LA a bit. I was originally concerned that it would be hard to get anywhere from here without a car, but I was pleasantly surprised. The consierge was very helpful in helping me figure out day trips. Took the bus to Santa Monica, Beverly Hills, Getty Museum, etc. and the subway to Hollywood. My experience was that you can visit LA without a car! The bus does take you through some "non-tourist' areas, but it never felt unsafe to this woman traveling alone. On the other hand, the jogging route that the hotel suggests did feel a little uncomfortable (it was partly the same routet as the bus; it was more that I felt ridiculous jogging through there rather than unsafe; jogging by men lined up waiting for work and people lined up at food pantrys). The neighborhood around the hotel changes pretty quickly and is not very busy at night. I did, however, find a number of places nearby to get dinner and a drink. I found the hotel itself to be very nice: comfortable rooms, great city views, and a very nice revolving bar on the top. It is probably not the most convienent place for a tourist to stay, but you can definitely make it work if you are comfortable navigating through a city.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonChloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Czarcinski, General Manager at The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Thank you very muc for the review. While staying at the Westin Bonaventure we have alot of guests who use this as their home base while exploring Los Angeles the nice thing is when you return after a busy day of touring there still are alot of things to do in Downtown Los Angeles. We will take a look at the jogging map. Thanks for the input.

MC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012 via mobile

The hotel was good overall, but the housekeeping service was not that good. Sometimes the housekeeping forgets to keep the complimentary water bottles, and at times the toiletries n once they forgot to clean my room

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank USSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Czarcinski, General Manager at The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Thank you for the review and information regarding your stay in Los Angeles. We appreciate this and will share with the team to thank our Asssociates where things were great and inprove where we see a challenge. Thank you again.

MC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Great location, impressive aesthetics, friendly front desk staff, and attentive valet parking staff. Unfortunately, that's where the positives end.

The negatives started upon our arrival on a Friday afternoon. Only the doorman was working along Flower entrance, and there was absolutely no help with unloading our car full of luggage. There were no bell carts available nor were there any bellhops. The luggage was unattended along a high pedestrian traffic area, that my father felt compelled to watch them like a hawk because the solo staffer working was distracted managing other guests. After check-in, with still no sight of the bellhops, we decided to take our luggage up ourselves. We passed two bellhops on the way to the elevators, and we were denied the use of the bell carts. Fine. What exacerbated our concern that our luggage would've been mishandled was when those same bellhops tied to deliver us other people's luggage after we've been in the room for awhile. Very poor process-- totally left a bad taste in the mouth from the get go.

The rooms were TINY. Perhaps we were give the tiny rooms as we booked through Priceline, who knows? I don't even want to know how much it would've been at full price. And where are the electrical outlets to accommodate the chargers for the various electronic equipment your customers travel with? And I can't believe you still charge for wifi.

We opted to stay at a different hotel for the second evening, which offered exponentially better amenities, larger rooms, and just as great a location. I would definitely choose them or any other hotel the next time I stay in L.A.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank dude_from_ptown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Czarcinski, General Manager at The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Thank you for the review and information regarding your stay in Los Angeles. We appreciate this and will share with the team to thank our Asssociates where things were great and inprove where we see a challenge. Thank you again.

MC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

Hotel the typical Westin I have come to enjoy. Nice location with great access to LA freeways but does nothing to help with the traffic. Some ok places to eat in the area but not too much for variety. Valet parking is $37 per day but in the garage about 100 yards past the hotel on Figeroa, it's $8 for 24hours if you enter after 4:30 pm. Much better deal!

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank skiyuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Czarcinski, General Manager at The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Thank you for the review and information regarding your stay in Los Angeles. We appreciate this and will share with the team to thank our Asssociates where things were great and inprove where we see a challenge. Thank you again.

MC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012 via mobile

This is a nice hotel, though not Westin's finest, worth staying at.
Pluses:
Skyline views from upper floors are awesome.
Silent rooms, almost no noise whatsoever.
Well appointed rooms, though the design team slacked a bit.
Comfortable bed and bedding, though not as nice as other Westin properties.
Minuses:
Rooms smelled like carpet chemicals.
Pool lounge chair cushions slide off when you sit in them, so flat use only.
Poor signage in lobby directing to valet and garage locations, pool location (confusing), etc..
The ceiling height in the garage level is just over 6', which is a little unnerving.
Walking proximity to restaurants not great.
On the whole, definitely like this hotel despite the quirks.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Napaguy2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
248 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

Stayed here for a convention and I really enjoyed this place! Was it the perfect view of the city? I slept with the drapes open at night! Not used to the city lights where I come from. Clean and modern decor. The elevators sure are quick! Wow was I in a rocket or something? The restaurant on top revolved! A little strange but definitely something I don't see everyday! Got a cute souvenir teddy bear for my kid and good deals on tee shirts there. The second time I stayed here was in an older more gentlemens club decor with very bad lighting in the bathroom but still a great view of the city. Great shops and eateries and there is a library nearby and I also enjoyed shopping at the Macys Plaza down the road. Reception desk just ok.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank intheraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#8 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
#52 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#32 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Downtown
The Standard Downtown
The Standard Downtown
#91 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#40 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites

Property: The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Address: 404 South Figueroa Street, Los Angeles, CA 90071
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown , Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#21 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#35 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#48 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#53 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 1354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly presiding over the City of Angels, The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites provides the ultimate urban oasis in the heart of the business district. An international symbol that has come to represent the beauty and sophistication of the city itself, this famous Westin Los Angeles hotel is one of the most photographed destinations in the world. Stroll through our atrium lobby and you'll immediately see why. Whether you're visiting for a leisurely weekend getaway, business meeting or special event, our downtown Los Angeles accommodations define the essence of modern luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel Los Angeles
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel And Suites
Westin Bonaventure Hotel
Westin Los Angeles
Los Angeles Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing