We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nickel and Dimed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Ranked #51 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The rooms are acceptable, the location is decent. I was put next to the elevator like another reviewer. You definitely know when someone is coming to your floor!

I can tell they haven't updated since 1991, but that doesn't really bother me. What does bother me is that as a guest, you really aren't made to feel like your relationship to the hotel is any different than a stranger who has come here to eat a steak at the restaurant downstairs. I paid 35% more for my room every night to park my car downstairs. Inconvenient. I also paid $25 for internet. Super inconvenient.

I am an SPG member. I sort of went all in with SPG. I have to say that apart from the W in Hong Kong, it has been one disappointment after another. Don't bother joining SPG. It takes ages to accrue points and then it takes thousands to use for anything. Then, when you check in, you get nothing. This Westin would immediately improve its scores with SPG members by offering free internet even to those of us not yet on platinum status and by comping the parking. Taxing guests with cars in LA seems very silly to me.

While the staff is pleasant, I will be shifting my business to IHG or Hilton. I have been in two Intercontinentals this month, Tokyo and Monterey. Both gave great rates, wonderful service, and complimentary internet. It would have been cheaper to stay in the Beverly Hilton or the Intercontinental after all the subsequent costs! I regret my SPG membership!

Room Tip: Stay away from elevators!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dernyul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,964)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,068 - 1,074 of 2,964 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

A friend booked the hotel through hotel via Priceline for 4 days three nights. The hotel is located centrally in the finance district ( if I'm not mistaken) very accessible to the freeway, many coffee shops around the area, as well as restaurants. Service is great as well. Rooms are modernly designed, beds very comfortable! Be aware though if you are planning to have a car rental is the average price for valet and parking as it is at downtown area, the price you are looking at 40-48$ per night for that. And also, I wish they would do free wifi in the rooms as well. Overall, I would definitely go back if there good deals around ;)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We booked this room through Priceline and were greatly pleased with the service, location, and room. We were easily able to upgrade to a high room with a view, and enjoyed laying in bed watching TV and taking in the views of the city. We walked to lunch, dinner, and breakfast, and even accessed the metro easily, something we had never done in Los Angeles before even though we visit frequently. We rarely splurge for a Westin, but we were so glad we got a deal and were able to because the beds are DIVINE. Parking was pricey, but it tends to be everywhere in the city and it is just one of those things you have to suck up and consider as part of the cost of the hotel. The room was clean, the hotel was quite, and we were pleased with our stay here. We will stay again if we can get another good deal on Priceline!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Hollywood sign. Although you can rarely see it clearly because of the smo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teachergirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Large 1500 rooms, impersonal, needs some upgrades, weak gym
Pool had loud dance party which was OK but no possible place to sit quietly
All in all decent and convenient but unlikely to go back
The whole place reeks of mediocrity

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lgppres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I was here on the company dime for an international science fair that my organization runs. I was very happy with the service I got here. The staff was always pleasant. Room service was especially helpful. Upon getting to my room for the first time, there was a bad smell like someone was smoking in a nearby room. They deodorized the room and provided me with a can of spray and a scented candle should I continue to have the problem. That did the trick and I never had an issue again.

The view was nice as I was on the 26th floor overlooking the pool.

Amenities were very expensive though. From the bar (expected) to the laundry service (I was in town for over a week, so I needed some clothes laundered - over $130 for a few shirts, pants, short, socks and underwear).

The restaurant offers a good breakfast for $25/person. I ate/drank at the bar one night. Imported beers were about $10. The food was a bit high, but I don't remember how much to provide an example.

My wife arrived toward the end of my stay and did a walking tour of Historic Downtown LA. She really enjoyed it, so I would recommend it.

Room Tip: There are four towers (red, blue, green and yellow). My yellow tower looked down Figueroa Street an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbozman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Its location is great - close to everything in downtown LA. My room was fine but nothing outstanding except for the bed which was amazingly comfortable. Good linens & pillows too. The "food court" is pretty bad. The only place that was appealing was a brewery. I always like a refrigerator in the room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k8b51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This hotel has a beautiful lobby and fabulous rotating restaurant. However, our room smelled like cigarette smoke and was dirty. The refrigerator had old food in it. The night table had trash in it. The only thing nice about the room was the view. Our room was close to the elevator which sounded like a roller-coaster going by randomly. We slept poorly.

Room Tip: Away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sguptill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 355 in Los Angeles
830 reviews
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#33 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Standard Downtown
The Standard Downtown
#111 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,285 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Downtown
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
#67 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites

Address: 404 South Figueroa Street, Los Angeles, CA 90071
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown , Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#20 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#28 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#47 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#52 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £173 - £437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 1354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly presiding over the City of Angels, The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites provides the ultimate urban oasis in the heart of the business district. An international symbol that has come to represent the beauty and sophistication of the city itself, this famous Westin Los Angeles hotel is one of the most photographed destinations in the world. Stroll through our atrium lobby and you'll immediately see why. Whether you're visiting for a leisurely weekend getaway, business meeting or special event, our downtown Los Angeles accommodations define the essence of modern luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel Los Angeles
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel And Suites
Westin Bonaventure Hotel
Westin Los Angeles
Los Angeles Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing