We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Ranked #51 of 352 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel around Labor Day, and this is a pretty well located hotel in downtown. The coolest feature certainly are the panoramic lifts, and the rotating restaurant at the top floor. The breakfast was decent, and the lobby has undergone a dramatic facelift. The location is a bit closer to the business areas and not quite the center of downtown nightlife, so a car is necessary, although the Metro Red Line is pretty close and a great option to Hollywood. Overall, a satisfying, reasonably affordable, and a decent choice. Given how exciting downtown is getting these days, with a plethora of new hotels, and nightlife closer to the Central Core or South Park, probably not my first choice, although my starwood status probably won out in the end.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akc001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,888)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,001 - 1,007 of 2,888 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed the comfort of this hotel with very good facilities and helpful staff. Was on the 26th floor and got a spectacular view of downtown LA especially at night. The panoramic lifts are also an interesting experience. Located in a convenient place in downtown LA close to the freeway with easy access to the airport and other attractions such as Hollywood, sunset boulevard, Santa Monica etc.. Vey enjoyable experience overall however it's probably time for some redecoration as some areas look a bit tired particularly on the exterior facades

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Nitin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I was afraid that this hotel would appear dated since it has been so long since I stayed here when it was newer - but they seem to have kept the rooms updated. It's a bit strange getting around due to all the towers, but it's a nice place in a good location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hcmjkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a fun stay, especially with older kids, as the glass elevators are a kick and the revolving restaurant is fun. The hotel is a luxury hotel, and we enjoyed everything about our stay. We stayed two nights and had room service once. So quiet and relaxing!

Room Tip: ask for a great view
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed for a quick weekend and was very pleased, staff very friendly and room was clean and bad was fabulous. Didn’t care for the shower but personal preference there. Love that they give you free water bottles and offer many shops inside the building [including a liquor store]. Close to everything downtown and we walked everywhere without an issue.

Room Tip: Had a high floor in the tower and no issues waiting on elevators as we have had in other properites.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The rooms are acceptable, the location is decent. I was put next to the elevator like another reviewer. You definitely know when someone is coming to your floor!

I can tell they haven't updated since 1991, but that doesn't really bother me. What does bother me is that as a guest, you really aren't made to feel like your relationship to the hotel is any different than a stranger who has come here to eat a steak at the restaurant downstairs. I paid 35% more for my room every night to park my car downstairs. Inconvenient. I also paid $25 for internet. Super inconvenient.

I am an SPG member. I sort of went all in with SPG. I have to say that apart from the W in Hong Kong, it has been one disappointment after another. Don't bother joining SPG. It takes ages to accrue points and then it takes thousands to use for anything. Then, when you check in, you get nothing. This Westin would immediately improve its scores with SPG members by offering free internet even to those of us not yet on platinum status and by comping the parking. Taxing guests with cars in LA seems very silly to me.

While the staff is pleasant, I will be shifting my business to IHG or Hilton. I have been in two Intercontinentals this month, Tokyo and Monterey. Both gave great rates, wonderful service, and complimentary internet. It would have been cheaper to stay in the Beverly Hilton or the Intercontinental after all the subsequent costs! I regret my SPG membership!

Room Tip: Stay away from elevators!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dernyul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A friend booked the hotel through hotel via Priceline for 4 days three nights. The hotel is located centrally in the finance district ( if I'm not mistaken) very accessible to the freeway, many coffee shops around the area, as well as restaurants. Service is great as well. Rooms are modernly designed, beds very comfortable! Be aware though if you are planning to have a car rental is the average price for valet and parking as it is at downtown area, the price you are looking at 40-48$ per night for that. And also, I wish they would do free wifi in the rooms as well. Overall, I would definitely go back if there good deals around ;)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 352 in Los Angeles
752 reviews
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#32 of 352 in Los Angeles
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
#59 of 352 in Los Angeles
1,287 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Downtown
The Standard Downtown
The Standard Downtown
#96 of 352 in Los Angeles
1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites

Address: 404 South Figueroa Street, Los Angeles, CA 90071-1710
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown , Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#20 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#34 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#47 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#52 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £172 - £330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 1354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly presiding over the City of Angels, The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites provides the ultimate urban oasis in the heart of the business district. An international symbol that has come to represent the beauty and sophistication of the city itself, this famous Westin Los Angeles hotel is one of the most photographed destinations in the world. Stroll through our atrium lobby and you'll immediately see why. Whether you're visiting for a leisurely weekend getaway, business meeting or special event, our downtown Los Angeles accommodations define the essence of modern luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel Los Angeles
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel And Suites
Westin Bonaventure Hotel
Westin Los Angeles
Los Angeles Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing