We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guest Rooms are better than the rest of the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Ranked #48 of 354 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 31 May 2010

I had once heard this hotel was special and the glass elevators do indeed give you spectacular views of the skyline but the rest of the common areas are too dark and feel out of date. The Guest room was fine. The bed was comfortable with good linens. View from 19th Floor was memorable. Bathroom was clean. Flat panel TV has plenty of channels. Close to the metro station & area businesses. I never tried the food but heard there is a restaurant overlooking the city from the top floor. I would not have enjoyed any time beyond my one day stay. Concierge wasn't helpful and lacked interesting ideas. Front Desk Staff weren’t particularly cheery. They should liven and brighten the lobby atmosphere up a lot. It is one giant dark colored oval with pools of water in the center – these are not fountains but pools. The water looked murky to me. There are shops (i.e: jewelry, clothing store) and services(registration, concierge, car rental, baggage services, gift shop) around the oval but none of these “stations” were enticing. I would not recommend paying over $100 / night for this place.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LineeNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,907)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,896 - 1,902 of 2,907 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2010

Spent four nights in the hotel while in town visiting family. The location is really great and convenient. Our room was comfortable and the hotel was nicely maintained. The elevators were really cool, unlike anything I have ever seen in a hotel before. The only complaint I had was that the little cafe/bar in the lobby seemed to run out of breakfast stuff pretty quickly, with the only alternative being the sit down restaurant. Also, the shops/food places on the upper lobby levels looked a little shady. There also seemed to be a lot of empty storefronts upstairs as well.
Overall though, a perfectly nice hotel in a really convenient location.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katemonster128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2010

We have stayed here 5 times or so and will continure to come back. The upside is location. We can easily see friends and family that live all over LA from this hotel. It is located in the middle of the financial district so very quiet at night and not much to day but relax. The hotel itself is very impressive. Try and get a high floor and upgrade to a suite if you can. The parking is expensive at 35 bucks for hotel guest but you really have no other option. I looked into other parking but the savings is not worth the walk. Bring in your own beer or wine as it is 8 bucks for a bottle of beer. Try and get this hotel on price line, we always do and pay a great rate!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dayved
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2010

My issue is with the $35.00 a night parking. That is totally ridiculous. I wish that I had researched this hotel better and I would have stayed somewhere else.. Also breakfast for 2 came to over $50.00! I'm sorry but there are alot of nice places to stay in LA without all the piled on charges. The rooms were O.K, nothing special......But never agian. When I questioned the parking price I was told "it use to be $42.00"....Like $35 was a big favor... They also charged for internet.....that was the final straw for me....I think it was $13.00 a day. I made a big mistake in this place.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lovetotravel720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2010

I stayed here with a friend back in April before a LA Kings playoff game (Kings will be back in the playoffs and stronger next year!) and we couldn't have asked for anything more. We were given a room on an upper floor with fantastic views of downtown, hung out at the pool before walking down to Staples Center and as always, the Heavenly Beds did not dissapoint. Yes the hotel is not new and shows its age in areas, but we didn't come in expecting a Four Seasons or Ritz. Within the hotel there are many restaurants (some full-service, others fast food), retail outlets (gift shops, liquor store), a gym and complementary lobby computers to print airline boarding passes. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeltaFlyer_Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2010

From the outside, this is an interesting looking hotel. On the inside, it has lots of quirky potential. Unfortunately, in staying here for two nights I got the sense (almost from check-in to check-out) that the hotel is on life support and they've called the priest for last rites. What a shame. Some clues are small. They've taken out amenities like minibars, pay per view. The public areas are dimly lit, with worn carpet and furniture. My room has carpet straight out of 1977 with the only upgrade being a flat screen tv. Even the bath amenities are less than Westin standard. I'm a Starwood fan, a platinum preferred guest, and I will never stay here again. Sad, because - as I said, it has great potential if somebody would put a little money into it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BossFan62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2010

Hotel was great!!..Excellent location...Rooms with great views of city...Very clean...1.5 miles from Dodger Stadium....Don't listen to the "Hoite' Toite'" reviews that some write complaining about this hotel.....Unless trumpets call out their arrival they'll always complain....Kids had a good time here too...Pool...Ice cream at stores..Fast food court on site...Hotel was used in the filming of "True Lies" (elevator horse scene) so it has that coolness for the kids too...The only downside was the price of parking ($35) but if you park across the street at the world trade center lot it's only $10...Anyways I would stay and recommend this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickeygabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#32 of 354 in Los Angeles
1,184 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 354 in Los Angeles
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
#62 of 354 in Los Angeles
1,299 reviews
Downtown
The Standard Downtown
The Standard Downtown
#97 of 354 in Los Angeles
1,263 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites

Address: 404 South Figueroa Street, Los Angeles, CA 90071-1710
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown , Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#19 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#34 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#47 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#52 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £181 - £394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 1354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly presiding over the City of Angels, The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites provides the ultimate urban oasis in the heart of the business district. An international symbol that has come to represent the beauty and sophistication of the city itself, this famous Westin Los Angeles hotel is one of the most photographed destinations in the world. Stroll through our atrium lobby and you'll immediately see why. Whether you're visiting for a leisurely weekend getaway, business meeting or special event, our downtown Los Angeles accommodations define the essence of modern luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel And Suites
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel Los Angeles
Westin Bonaventure Hotel
Westin Los Angeles
Los Angeles Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing