We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in the banking part of town”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Ranked #55 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in the banking part of town”
Reviewed 27 June 2012

A very nice hotel in a nice part of LA. Clean, nice staff, good rooms and with a fantastic roof top terrace! Breakfast was very expensive though.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    477
    446
    202
    74
    63
See reviews for
190
343
90
477
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
springfield
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Hotel was clean and room was comfortable. Parking a little expensive unless you park a couple blocks away in public garage.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottonwood, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

My husband and I just returned from a weekend stay at the Hilton Checkers. We are budget travelers, but we like nice hotels, so we used Priceline to book our stay and got a fair deal - about $99 per night. As we booked on Priceline, we did not know the name of the hotel until after we paid, just the location and the fact that it was a 4-star, but I was hoping for something a lot better than what we got. Unfortunately, the Hilton Checkers underwhelmed me.

The Pros:

- Okay location: Many reviews of this property herald the location in downtown LA. Yes, it's true, the hotel is located right in the middle of downtown on Grand Avenue, overlooking Bunker Hill. The Walt Disney Concert Hall and MOCA are right down the street, Staples Center and LA Live are right around the corner. However...in the grand scheme of things, I didn't consider the hotel's location to be that much of a plus. LA is not like New York City - the touristy sights to see are rather spread out. In the case of the Hilton Checkers, the location is not that big of a perk - you'd do better staying slightly out of town (inland, where the rates are MUCH cheaper) and driving in to see what you want to see. On the downside, the hotel is placed right in the middle of a business district, which is great if you're traveling on business, not so great if you're trying to find an open McDonald's for breakfast on Sunday morning. Many of the coffee shops/restaurants nearby close early or aren't even open at all on the weekends.

The safety of the location is somewhat debatable - we had no problems, but a few blocks over (towards Broadway) is not a safe place to venture alone after dark. Be aware of your surroundings and take precautions.

- Guest service: As someone who has worked in several hotels and stayed in many, service is a huge priority for me. The service here was good - no more or less than what I would expect staying at a Hilton. The night we checked in was fairly busy, some sort of filming was taking place at the rooftop pool so there was a fair amount of commotion in and around the outside of the hotel. We did have to wait to check in as there was only one employee manning the desk, but she was perfectly apologetic. Since we booked through Priceline, there was no way to guarantee the room type - and we were given a room with two double beds. A little disappointing, but the hotel was fully booked and the front desk said that we would be able to switch rooms the next day. We did end up switching to a room with a king bed, and of course my husband left something behind when we moved - by the time he went back to check, the room was already cleaned. He thought the item had been stolen - however, we checked at the front desk and the lady there was happy to contact housekeeping and recover it for us very quickly, which was appreciated. She also gave us a late check out (2 pm!), which was also so helpful. We hate being rushed out of hotels with early checkout times and didn't feel that at all here.

The Cons:

- Building: The building itself is old, but it has been renovated. The rooms are incredibly small - our first room was a double on a corner, and we thought THAT was tiny. Our king-bed was barely navigable, but as we were only staying for a short time, not that big of a deal. If you are looking for a roomy place, however, the Hilton Checkers is not for you. The bathrooms are roomy, but need work - in our first room, the shower had some mold on the ceiling and walls. I'm not a picky person, but a 4-star hotel should not have that problem. Our second room was better, but I noticed neither had any sort of fan or ventilation system - isn't that against some sort of building code?

Amenities: The pool is on the rooftop, and is also minuscule. They boast about "spectacular views" on the website to detract from the ridiculous size of this space. There's barely room for 6 lounges, and the pool is probably 4 feet at its deepest, maybe 12-15 feet long and about five feet wide. It's a glorified hot tub, and it was a huge disappointment for us. The rooftop location is charming at night, but during the day is mostly in the shade and less than awesome. There are no extra perks with this hotel - no breakfast, no robes, no fancy toiletries. It's very basic all around.

Parking: $40 a night for valet? Ridiculous. Even if you are in downtown, there's no reason to pay that much - we parked at a park-and-lock (Athena Parking at 725 S. Grand, less than 2 blocks walk) for the weekend and paid a $10 maximum per day. Our car was perfectly safe and unharmed, and the walk down Grand, even at night, is completely safe. There is a self-park option right next door to the hotel (beneath an office building), but it's $24 per day. Save your money for a nice dinner and take a walk. Hilton should be ashamed to charge so much.

Overall, if you are travelling solo or on business for some reason, the Hilton Checkers is probably perfect for you. However, if you are looking for a couples or family getaway, I'd recommend staying out of downtown - look near the LAX area or Burbank and you'll find cheaper, roomier, and better-located options.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor (above 6) so you're not looking at a wall. Doubles and corner rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Not a very large hotel in LA Downtown. The area was not very safe and when you go out you might just want to keep away from those guys. Other than that, the staff was very very helpful to get another room for my friend for FREE when they failed to get a double/double room for them.
The famous (they say on the website) rooftop pool was under construction so that was a pity. The hotel room was small for the price you pay, but overall it looked clean and nice.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire england
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

smallish hotel nice rooms in the downtown area if you r on business its a great location and the bar area is nice
some doubtful people nearby with a lot of people asking for money

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

stayed for 2 nights on a sightseeing tour to LA. Friendly staff,Nice cosy room and the bed was very comfortable.If you are a family with kids, you will find the standard rooms quite small but for a couple , its just fine. We asked for an early check in and got it without any hassles( Thank you!). On our last night, we visited the pool area and the LA skyline view there is WOW. dont miss that.

Avoid the hotel restaurant at all cost, even for breakfast..We dined there one day and was not a good experience and is expensive for the kind of food they serve. There are many other restaurants near by where you can get much better food. just look it up on yelp.com

Room Tip: Ask for a room which does not face a blank wall because those rooms are dark and you always need the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

I love this Hilton, for many reasons, but mostly for it's amazing service that permeates all levels of the staff.

Checkin went smoothly, my HHonors status was recognized, and I was given a nice note from the manager welcoming me back.

My room was clean, smelled fresh, and was at a good temperature (not always the case in Summer in downtown LA). When I came back after dinner, my bed had been turned down and there was fresh ice in the ice bucket. I love it when they take care of the ice. The bathroom was well lit, with nice bathmats that you could stand on without your feet hurting. And the bed was extremely comfortable, with a nice down duvet. I wish every hotel would realize America hates the bedspread! At the Checkers, they know!

The Bar. One of the big reasons I love the hotel is for their cozy bar, and it's tradition of making classic cocktails, without cutting corners. And they can make anything. Over the course of a week I was able to sample a handmade Old Fashioned, complete with cherries they marinate in Marischino liquor in-house, an Aviation (most bars of never heard of it), a Manhattan, and one of the most old school of them all, a Brandy Sidecar. Half the fun is watching them make the drinks, as they do it with fresh ingredients. On the sidecar, they finish the drink by squeezing the oils from a lemon peel over a lit match, which makes this cool burst of flame. It's a drink and a show all in one.

Doormen--this isn't a huge hotel, but they have a doorman on duty pretty much non-stop from what I could tell. Not only did I never have to open the door for myself, I never had to hail a cab, and they had great tips for nearby needs and directions.

All in all, this is a first rate full service Hilton.

Room Tip: I'd ask for a high floor, and on the west side so as to be away from the street noise from Grand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#6 of 351 in Los Angeles
693 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#31 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,114 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#39 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Hilton Checkers Los Angeles

Property: Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Address: 535 S Grand Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90071-2601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#22 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#26 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#34 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#50 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Checkers Los Angeles 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles Hotel is an historic hotel in Los Angeles that dates back to the 1920s, fully restored to its original splendor. The full service Hilton Checkers Los Angeles Hotel in downtown Los Angeles offers extensive hotel luxuries combined with an intimate ambiance and personalized service unlike any other Los Angeles hotel. One feature not to be overlooked: A stunning rooftop deck showcasing a breathtaking view of the Los Angeles skyline, a perfect setting for receptions or romantic getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Checkers Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hotel Los Angeles
Hilton Los Angeles
Los Angeles Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing