We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Ranked #52 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cairns
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A Gem”
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Needed to be close and with in walking distance of the Walt Disney Concert Hall, first time in 20 years I have stayed in downtown LA. This hotel is a Art Deco gem!

Everything about this boutique hotel ticks all the right boxes, location, rooms, the roof top spa and pool with downtown views.

The staff are friendly, warm, approachable ( which is a huge plus in LA hotels ) A special thank you to Milton ( valet / door man ) who was beyond helpful.

Can't wait to return early in the new year.

Room Tip: Roof top swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosscoe68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnaLewis1, Director of Sales at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Thank you for your feedback .... we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and have definitely relayed your comments to our staff. Service is our #1 priority !

See ya in a few months !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    446
    202
    74
    63
See reviews for
189
343
90
477
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northeast US
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

The Good: Great Location. Great Restaurant. Slept like a rock.

The Average: Very small rooms, took 5 minutes to get hot water, had to move the coffee pot into the Bathroom to get a good plug, and they gave you the average Hilton bathroom condiments (I never use them but I was expecting something else) and some of the finishes and moldings were dirty.

It was fine... Just nothing to get excited about.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteelBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnaLewis1, Director of Sales at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Thank you for the insightful feedback regarding your recent stay. Although it is disappointing to hear we did not go above your expectations. Especially in regards to the in room amenities. In an effort to offer consistent services and amenities across the brand, Hilton Hotels dictates what amenities hotels are to offer. Luckily Hilton selected a line from Peter Thomas Roth, which is a highly respected brand.

We have forwarded your comments regarding the cleanliness to our Director of Housekeeping to address for future guest stays. This is not typical of the hotel’s cleanliness standards and will be addressed immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

The staff was great and we enjoyed the location. We did not have a car but were able to walk to our concert at Staples Center/LA Live in addition to restaurants, stores and other attractions. The rooftop pool is small but it is a pretty cool space with a great view and sun in the morning.

We only ate breakfast at the hotel and did not really hang out in the small bar so cannot comment on that however there are several good choices around for food, nightlife and other attractions.

It is a fun location that is secure and has great staff so we recommend the HIlton!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDXTravelers6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Really enjoyed this property, very nicely decorated. Lounge area is tasteful and elegant. Couple of minor issues with housekeeping; failed to deliver requested items twice, so I gave up asking. Next time, I will request these items in advance since there seems to be a communication breakdown between front desk and housekeeping. Not enough to keep me away though, I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrFozziedoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnaLewis1, Director of Sales at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Thank you for the 4 star rating of your recent stay. We do however apologize about the challenges encountered in delivering your items in a timely manner. We have shared your comments with both departments noted to ensure we institute a more effective manner of delivering on guest requests. On your future visits, you are more than welcome to place a pre-order, however our staff will be more than happy to deliver even last minute requests.

We hope to see you again very soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Let me begin by saying that Louis, and Isabella in the checkers lounge are absolutely the best bartenders I have ever met. They make fantastic drinks, and carry on excellent conversation. This is the 3rd year I've stayed at this property and they are part of my choice why. The property is filled with a great staff from the desk expedited check-in to the housekeepers keeping the room perfect. The hotel has a great roof-top pool/hot tub area that over looks downtown LA and at night is the perfect view. The hotel is a classic "boutique" style hotel and is in pristine condition. Parking is expensive but, it is LA. If you get the opportunity stay in this hotel located directly in the Financial/Jewelry district, really close to everything even with "LA" traffic. Beverly Hills only 15 min. away, Hollywood only 15 min. away and of course WEHO only about 20min. away.

Room Tip: Make sure you take a room that has the city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tony t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Stayed two nights at this wonderful Hilton for business earlier this month. This was one of the nicest Hiltons I've stayed at that wasn't in a resort location. Every member of the staff I interacted with was friendly, warm and welcoming. Food in the restaurant was good, but a bit pricey, which wasn't entirely unexpected. The lobby bar was comfortable and inviting and the drinks were strong. My room was very clean and comfortable, though a bit on the small side. For one person, it was fine but if I was staying here with my husband, it would have been a little claustrophobic. Overall, it was a fantastic experience and I would stay here again if given the opportunity.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coug1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
399 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,046 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Im a textile lover. I collect antique textile and stuffs, and in this place they display fabrics, a very nice fabric and they really know how to display it.

What makes me disappointed is, I have been requesting for every room in the same floor because we have kids and old people, then they still put us all in the different floor..
apart from it, the service was great, the hotel was clean, close to convience store. just.. the breakfast is quite boring and for 25usd per person I think its over priced, but overall this hotel was just nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beautifulmatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnaLewis1, Director of Sales at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles, responded to this review, 10 November 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback …. We agree, the décor of the hotel is quite comforting and warm. It is great to hear that you also found our staff to be warm and welcoming, we do pride ourselves on customer service.

Unfortunately due to the popularity of the hotel, there are times when we cannot always accommodate guest specific room requests, but we definitely try to do our best especially when it comes to traveling families when it is noted in the reservations. We hope to see you again in the very near future and safes travel back to you home !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 351 in Los Angeles
691 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#31 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,114 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#37 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Checkers Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Checkers Los Angeles

Property: Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Address: 535 S Grand Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90071-2601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#20 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#26 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#34 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#50 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Checkers Los Angeles 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles Hotel is an historic hotel in Los Angeles that dates back to the 1920s, fully restored to its original splendor. The full service Hilton Checkers Los Angeles Hotel in downtown Los Angeles offers extensive hotel luxuries combined with an intimate ambiance and personalized service unlike any other Los Angeles hotel. One feature not to be overlooked: A stunning rooftop deck showcasing a breathtaking view of the Los Angeles skyline, a perfect setting for receptions or romantic getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Checkers Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hotel Los Angeles
Hilton Los Angeles
Los Angeles Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing