We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem in Downtown!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Ranked #55 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
157 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A gem in Downtown!”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

What a well kept secret this place is! It's not a huge expansive hotel but rather a small hotel with a luxury boutique feel to it. The staff is friendly, professional and accommodating. The rooms are small and as one previous reviewer posted, some of them could use a bit more light. The beds are wonderful, linens good quality and the bathrooms are roomy with decent amenities. We were impressed by the overall cleanliness and upkeep of the property. It is definintely more a business hotel based on the guests we observed checking in and having dinner at the Lounge. Because of this, the Business Center could use some improvement (computers were unusually slow in the evening) but they were easy to access and we were able to print out our Boarding Pass. The only downside is the parking. There is no self park from what we could observe and it is only valet parking. However, the staff is prompt and professional and it gave us an opportunity to see all the cool restaurants nearby. The property is in a central location with easy access to several cafes, shops, banks and other sites of interest within walking distance. Our favorite part of the property, however, is the rooftop deck with the jacuzzi overlooking the city lights! A must see/do. It's not a large area, but after a long day this little spot is really welcoming. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and look forward to coming back again soon.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have more windows to allow light in
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaniBani06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocio_R202, Executive Administrator at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for sharing about your recent stay with us! Our staff will be delighted to hear they could exceed your expectations. We always look forward to welcoming you back, and hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    467
    439
    199
    73
    60
See reviews for
181
336
90
471
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, United States
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I love the boutique aspect of this hotel. It's location was great for my business trip. My room was just O.K., not worth the price. The toilet ran and I had no hairdryer. The bar was delightful and cozy and the menu was great.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Traci K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocio_R202, Executive Administrator at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us regarding your stay. We apologize that our guestroom did not meet your expectations. Your comments have been shared with our management team . We hope you will reconsider and give us the opportunity to be of service in the future. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temecula, United States
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Checkers very much for our business trip. We thought the staff was incredibly friendly and the beds were extremely comfortable. We only request more lighting in the room. It was conveniently located to the fashion mart & we were able to walk to our favorite restaurants each night : Sugar Fish & Bottega Louie. The parking garage 2 block away offered a great rate of $16 a night. We will most certainly be back to stay at Checkers.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Haley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocio_R202, Executive Administrator at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Our associates will be glad to hear you appreciated their services. Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. We look forward to being of service upon your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed at the Hilton Checkers while attending a family wedding in downtown LA. The staff were very friendly and helpful, arranging transportation when we needed it. The room was updated and clean and the windows even opened. However, we could hear a good deal of noise from the hallway. Overall though this is a good hotel with a great location downtown.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fensters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We recently stayed at the hotel, and I'd like to list some pros & cons.

First the pros:
Great location for Downtown exploration.
The staff is friendly if not quite polished.
The city/mountain view from a corner room is good & windows can be opened slightly.
The towels and toiletries provided are very good.
The Town Car to the Music Center was great & the driver, Mike, very efficient and professional.
The Jacuzzi on the roof patio is a nice touch, but more on that below.

The cons:
The room air conditioning is very loud when it cycles on and stays loud. I woke up alot during the night as a result.
I care about a good bed and have recently stayed in several hotels that really have it nailed with comfort and great linens...This is mainly why I give the hotel a "Poor" rating.....there was no crispness to the bed linens---I almost felt like the bed had been slept in. The comforter was old & needed to be replaced---it had a smell... I couldn't quite identify the smell, but thought of laundered baby diapers, I'm not kidding. If it hadn't been after 11pm (and we were already in bed) and if we were not dog tired from being up since 4:30 am, i would have asked for a room change. We were staying 1 night only. The King bed did not feel like a standard King size to my tall husband. The pillows are huge & uncomfortable for actual sleep. Throw it all out and start over. If the bed's not good, then what?
I had mentioned to 2 different Hilton employees that the stay was for my husband & me, yet there was only 1 bathrobe provided.
The TV is a large flat screen HDTV, but the programming is analog, so what you're looking at is low resolution TV.
The bathroom needs an overhaul. Things like faucets are outdated and the toilet clogged immediately.
The Jacuzzi on the roof was perfectly warm and has a great view. However, there is a big (like 6ft x 6ft) portable Air Conditioning unit directly next to it making huge ghastly noise. The whole point of a hot tub is relaxation, not noise pollution. Also, the bathrooms on that level are locked (can't be opened with a room key).
The restaurant food was mostly mediocre. Way too many sauces & not enough freshness. We ordered a premium martini first & it tasted like vodka-flavored icewater. Shrimp tasted recently defrosted and were doused in a nondescript sauce. A boat of au jus that accompanied a $32 ribeye steak was oddly flavorless, as was the steak, altho it was prepared perfectly medium-rare. It was as if no salt had been used in the preparation, and no salt or pepper were on the table. A salad on the tasting menu was unidentifiable, bland-tasting "cheese" of some kind. Didn't taste like food. They were going for International, but missed. All the dishes were just passable, flovor-wise. Service was spotty, though there were very few diners there. This used to be a good restaurant....what happened? Or was it because we had bought a weekend package and had a voucher for dinner? It all felt second-class.

Checkers was a great little hotel pre-Hilton. They need to step it up a few notches before advertising it as a luxury boutique hotel experience.

Room Tip: The corner rooms are worth the extra charge, especially with views to the north.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pickygirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnaLewis1, Director of Sales at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Hilton Checkers.

We regret to hear about your disappointment during your stay with us and we do extend our sincere apologies for the various challenges that you experienced. Our goal is to have each guest have an enjoyable stay, and we appreciate you taking your time to write a review, as well as sharing with us areas that may need improvements.

We are continuously striving to provide the best service and products to our guests, as well as making adjustments to enhance our overall guest experience. We hope you return and provide us with another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The Hilton Checkers is a great downtown LA hotel. The facilities are top notch, but the people and service set it apart from other downtown LA hotels. You cannot go wrong at the Hilton Checkers for a downtown LA hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocio_R202, Executive Administrator at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your radiant review. We are glad we could exceed your expectations and look forward to your return visit with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I booked a room at this hotel due to a business meeting in the downtown area. We stayed at Hilton Checkers for 3 nights. The rooms were modern, updated and clean. The beds and pillows were comfortable. the bed there is one of the best one I used so far.
On another note - this is not a kid-friendly area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
Thank bin y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocio_R202, Executive Administrator at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
We are so glad we could exceed your expectations and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Downtown
The Standard Downtown
The Standard Downtown
#93 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#30 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Checkers Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Checkers Los Angeles

Property: Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Address: 535 S Grand Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90071-2601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#21 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#27 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#35 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#51 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Checkers Los Angeles 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles Hotel is an historic hotel in Los Angeles that dates back to the 1920s, fully restored to its original splendor. The full service Hilton Checkers Los Angeles Hotel in downtown Los Angeles offers extensive hotel luxuries combined with an intimate ambiance and personalized service unlike any other Los Angeles hotel. One feature not to be overlooked: A stunning rooftop deck showcasing a breathtaking view of the Los Angeles skyline, a perfect setting for receptions or romantic getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Checkers Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hotel Los Angeles
Hilton Los Angeles
Los Angeles Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing