We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No problems at all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Ranked #60 of 352 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel while attending a business convention at another hotel. Checkers was old and very ornate. I paid a little extra for a "corner room" and I'm not sure if it was worth the money or not. Although I did not have "neighbors" on three sides of my room, I did have the traffic noise of Grand Avenue all week. I enjoyed the view however and I got used to the traffic. The front desk staff was average and welcoming but they had no idea about parking my car other than their own valet. I found this concerning as I am not familiar with L.A. parking garages and was unsure if I had parked legally (in the garage next to the property used by Checkers to valet). It turns out although parking was expensive, it was somewhat convenient.

The housekeeping staff was on point-thank you Checkers. The person assigned to my room took that "little extra step" in caring for my room. She (or he) refilled my small ice chest daily with ice, re-filled my coffee maker with extra coffee as I drink several cups in the morning, and took the time to arrange things back in order every day. For this reason alone, I would visit the Checkers again.

All in all I give Checkers L.A. a "very good" rating. Parking is expensive, but it is everywhere. Staff was friendly and very helpful, and the hotel was nice, especially for those interested in an old, historic building.

Room Tip: Valet at Checkers was $42 a day, the same parking garage charges $12.50 a day (weekends only) for se...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scubarich99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocio_R202, Executive Administrator at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Our housekeeping staff will be honored to hear such compliments. We thank you for your feedback, and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,287)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

742 - 748 of 1,287 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2013

Moved to this hotel after one night at LAX Hilton. It is a smaller hotel and they do not have a concierge level. The hotel is very convenient to various downtown activities. they were very helpful in canceling my reservation at LAX. They were very helpful in obtaining a room for the rest of the weekend.

Room Tip: I moved to this hotel from LAX Hilton. I checked in to the wrong hotel the night before. The staff...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Javier M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocio_R202, Executive Administrator at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us regarding your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Hilton Checkers was a very pretty, old building, with a lot of embellishments that is somewhat characteristic of buildings built in that era -- small rooms. The rooms are average for a Hilton, definitely have seen better. Pleasant bathroom but the size of the room was tight (and we were in one of the supposedly better corner room).

We were told that the room had 2 Queen beds but they were most decidedly double beds, meaning we were not able to sleep in the same bed (which was odd given that we've been together for 23 years). This really was a misrepresentation, as were many of the reviews seen here. I was expecting more, but what we got was definitely less -- less space in the rooms and less space with the beds.

Not sure I would know what to do with the rooms, except luxe them up a bit so they feel insistently luxurious, as opposed to very small. Convenient location, tho.

Room Tip: Ask for the largest room that you can get, trust me.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HotelFreak222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnaLewis1, Director of Sales at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thank you for your candid feedback. It was nice to hear that you found the building attractive.

However, it was disappointing to hear that your guestroom did not leave up to your expectations. For our guest’s convenience, we do offer rooms with either 2 queens or 2 double beds. You are correct, the beds in our Corner rooms are doubles and we apologize that was not better communicated upon check-in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This is a great hotel which is conveniently located close to many of my clients which are the banks and law firms. The people at the Hotel are always pleasant and accomodating to your needs. Restaurant is also very good.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank James_P762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocio_R202, Executive Administrator at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

We are glad you found our hotel fit your needs, thank you for sharing your experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Good location for exploring the Historic Downtown LA district; easy walk to everything, so we could leave our car in the garage. Room had everything we need for our one night stay. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocio_R202, Executive Administrator at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you, for sharing your feedback with us. It sounds like you were able to enjoy many of the attractions that are nearby.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

This is a great hotel in every way. Located in the city centre it meets the highest standards. The staff were welcoming and helpful throughout; the bedroom large and well appointed with a really comfortable bed; the soundproofing excellent (no traffic noise); the bar and restaurant inviting and good value; the location great (with an excellent seafood restaurant opposite). This is a perfect base for a visit to downtown LA. Strongly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanguard12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocio_R202, Executive Administrator at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Our staff team will be honored to hear such compliments. We thank you for your constructive feedback, and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Great hotel with excellent views of Downtown Los Angeles. Staff was very helpful with recommendations and information. Even provided car service to Staples Center for concert was attending. Make sure you visit the top floor to experience views of downtown. Coffee shop directly across street from hotel is excellent option for breakfast also. Garage parking located directly beside hotel is expensive and not affiliated with hotel. Within walking distance of Staples Center and LA LIve and walked back to hotel at night.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STEVEN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocio_R202, Executive Administrator at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

We are so glad we could exceed your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay with us. It sounds like you were able to enjoy many of the attractions that are nearby. Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 352 in Los Angeles
750 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#57 of 352 in Los Angeles
1,228 reviews
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#33 of 352 in Los Angeles
1,163 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Checkers Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Checkers Los Angeles

Address: 535 S Grand Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90071-2601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#24 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#26 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#34 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#50 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £165 - £423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Checkers Los Angeles 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles Hotel is an historic hotel in Los Angeles that dates back to the 1920s, fully restored to its original splendor. The full service Hilton Checkers Los Angeles Hotel in downtown Los Angeles offers extensive hotel luxuries combined with an intimate ambiance and personalized service unlike any other Los Angeles hotel. One feature not to be overlooked: A stunning rooftop deck showcasing a breathtaking view of the Los Angeles skyline, a perfect setting for receptions or romantic getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Checkers Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hotel Los Angeles
Hilton Los Angeles
Los Angeles Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing