We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The beds are hard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Ranked #66 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The cleaning staff are amazing, and the same is true of most of the rest of the staff, but the persons that answer the phones are mediocre. The view from the penthouse is nice, and the bar staff is great. But, do yourself a favor and valet your vehicle. The parking lot is difficult to manage if you have a lot of luggage, and/or you have small children. It's fine if you're there on business, but there are better places to stay otherwise.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

726 - 732 of 1,346 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

Had a quick one night stay in this hotel. The staff was very friendly. The rooms were clean and spacious...had a corner room with two windows which was nice. It's conveniently located near many restaurants and City Hall. They're currently remodeling their lobby bar, so it's been relocated to the rooftop. This is great due to the view and with great weather, it's nice to be outside. Only drawback to that is when you purchase anything on the rooftop, it will appear as "spa" on your bill. They are working on fixing this, but it's inconvenient when you're on a business trip.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RocioERivas, Executive Administrator at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you, for sharing your feedback with us regarding your stay. It has been shared with our management team so that we can continue to improve the experience for our guests. Our associates will be so pleased to hear that you appreciated their level of care and service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This is a centrally located hotel with plenty of restaurant choices nearby, from fast food to fine dining. We stayed her as we had dinner reservations at the Water Grille and didn't want to worry about driving home afterwards (we only live about 4 miles away) but it made for a nice relaxing evening. Great choice for a hotel in downtown

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank paulbF4145SU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RocioERivas, Executive Administrator at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

We are so glad you experienced an enjoyable and restful stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The shower was just awful. We could handle the low pressure, but the water temperature constantly fluctuated from hot to cold - cold to hot. Even when you made adjustments, the water temperature changed constantly. We first reported this day one of our stay. The bath robe was dirty. It had stains on it. No free wi-fi service in room. The room was very small; having the desk position where the chair blocked the television. Even though the exorbitant parking valet of $42.50 was comp'd - we should have been offered another room.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I travel a lot for work and mostly stay at Hilton properties. Recently I stayed at the Hilton Checkers in Los Angeles. Due to renovations to the property there was not place to buy a Diet Coke - the front Desk Clerk gave me two - both of which I consumed that evening. The next day after returning to my room after an all day meeting my room had been made up - not in a standard way but in a way that suited my travel style. The attendant had paid attention to the towels, etc. that I used so they were arranged in such a manner as to be convenient for me.

When I went to get ice for my ice bucket I found two Diet Cokes covered in ice in that container....how awesome. I have never had housekeeping pay such close attention to my needs or try to please me. When I checked out I asked the name of the Housekeeper (who I left a tip - for the first time in my life)...her name was Cecilia.

She is a keeper and deserves a raise and rewards. In many Hilton Hotels I stay at the ice bucket is never emptied and plastic bag replaced during my entire stay. Cecilia obviously pays attention to your guests.....I will definitely return to Checkers and ask for Cecilia!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocio_R202, Executive Administrator at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

It warms our hearts to know that we could exceed your expectations. Our staff truly appreciates knowing they could make your stay an enjoyable one. We look forward to your future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

We visited LA for two nights and decided on the Hilton because other reviews suggested the location was great. It wasn't great for us, even though we had hired a car it didn't seem like the best location to do the touristy things. Santa Monica would have been a better location.
Back to the hotel, it's in a nice heritage looking building and we were given a room on the fifth floor, room was nice and the set out fine enough as well. When the curtains were opened we saw a concrete wall right up against our room, I was too tired to complain about it as we arrived at 11pm after a whole day of flying. Anyways I just hope that this was the last available room because why else would you put anyone in that room!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Whereswussa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Checkers01, General Manager at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your experience at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles. We are sorry our location did not fit your needs. i hope you will consider us, should you need to visit the Staples Center, Disney Concert Hall, home to the LA Philharmonic Orchestra and Dodger Stadium.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Hilton Checkers is an affordable place to stay in downtown LA. It is close to many eateries, the room is clean, quiet and the bathroom is spacious and very well appointed. We felt welcome from the tie we stepped into the hotel. Also, it is close to the Metro, so it is easy to move around LA.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Partha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocio_R202, Executive Administrator at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

We are so glad we could exceed your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay with us. It sounds like you were able to enjoy many of the attractions that are nearby. Thank you for sharing your experience with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 355 in Los Angeles
824 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Millennium Biltmore Los Angeles
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Downtown
The Standard Downtown
The Standard Downtown
#111 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Checkers Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Checkers Los Angeles

Address: 535 S Grand Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90071-2601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#21 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#26 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#34 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#50 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £160 - £423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Checkers Los Angeles 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles Hotel is an historic hotel in Los Angeles that dates back to the 1920s, fully restored to its original splendor. The full service Hilton Checkers Los Angeles Hotel in downtown Los Angeles offers extensive hotel luxuries combined with an intimate ambiance and personalized service unlike any other Los Angeles hotel. One feature not to be overlooked: A stunning rooftop deck showcasing a breathtaking view of the Los Angeles skyline, a perfect setting for receptions or romantic getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Checkers Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hotel Los Angeles
Hilton Los Angeles
Los Angeles Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing