We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Ranked #61 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This has become my favorite hotel to stay at bar none! I travel quite a bit across the US and Internationally and the team at this Hilton is amazing. They are absolutely the best. The common areas and rooms are always clean, the staff is friendly, helpful and always there to put forth an extra effort to make me feel at home and location cannot be beaten for business in the downtown area.

Room Tip: They have a suite on the top floor that has a great view and you can always ask for it at a reasonab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RocioERivas, Executive Administrator at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

It warms our hearts to know that we could exceed your expectations. Our staff truly appreciates knowing they could make your stay an enjoyable one. We look forward to your future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

701 - 707 of 1,326 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

This hotel at first entry was fine like any other Hilton where we have stayed. The room was clean and that is where the goodness stopped. The room was by an elevator and very noisy, remote did not work, mattresses both lopsided, a/c inop. bathroom downright dangerous. We will never stay there again. Hiltons yes, here NO!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Kenneth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Checkers01, General Manager at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel. We regret to hear about your disappointment during your stay with us. I sincerely apologize for the challenges.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Checkers Hilton is in a good location in downtown LA handy for the area and close to the library.

The hotel is in the middle of a refurbishment and the public areas on the ground floor were closed which was disappointing. I had upgraded to a corner suite which was roomy and airy but as with most Hilton hotels lacked sufficient lighting to make sensible use of the desk. My upgrade included WiFi but if not it would have been prohibitively expensive. There is a Starbucks close by however with free WiFi.

I only ate in the hotel for breakfast on the last morning and it was very disappointing and not a patch on the breakfasts one usually expects in a Hilton - albeit that it was expensive.

There seemed to be some filming or similar overnight outside which made it noisy; that and the local youths who found the hill great for skateboarding until 1:30am - still, I managed to sleep until the council started to power wash the sidewalks at 6am and cut the trees.

Overall, adequate for my needs but not sure that I would return with the family

Room Tip: A corner room gives more space and light
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dfscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here late April for a friend's wedding. The hotel was nice, clean, and comfortable... but nothing to rave about.

Best thing - located 2 blocks from Bottega Louie.

Worst thing - close to $40/day parking with taxes. But I suppose this is normal for LA?

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bunnie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We have stayed at several Hilton hotels from LA to San Diego and have NEVER been disappointed by our stays at any Hilton or their affiliations. Always clean, smell great, friendly staff and convenient locations. Affordable too! Very satisfied!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank Vadrian1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RocioERivas, Executive Administrator at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

We are so glad you experienced an enjoyable stay with us and that our associates could exceed your expectations. We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We always make it a point to stay at this hotel when on business in the downtown L.A. area. The staff are fantastic and the hotel has all of the amenities needed. There are a number of great restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank Eric N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RocioERivas, Executive Administrator at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Our staff will be delighted to hear they were able to help make this a wonderful experience for you. We are looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This is a nice hotel in downtown Los Angeles. The room was comfortable and well appointed. The staff was friendly and helpful. Wired internet access was $9.99 for 24 hours, so if you're looking for free Wifi/Internet you need to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RocioERivas, Executive Administrator at Hilton Checkers Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

We are so glad you experienced an enjoyable stay with us and that our associates could exceed your expectations. We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 355 in Los Angeles
807 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Millennium Biltmore Los Angeles
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#33 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Checkers Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Checkers Los Angeles

Address: 535 S Grand Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90071-2601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#21 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#23 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#34 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#50 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: £127 - £427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Checkers Los Angeles 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles Hotel is an historic hotel in Los Angeles that dates back to the 1920s, fully restored to its original splendor. The full service Hilton Checkers Los Angeles Hotel in downtown Los Angeles offers extensive hotel luxuries combined with an intimate ambiance and personalized service unlike any other Los Angeles hotel. One feature not to be overlooked: A stunning rooftop deck showcasing a breathtaking view of the Los Angeles skyline, a perfect setting for receptions or romantic getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Checkers Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hotel Los Angeles
Hilton Los Angeles
Los Angeles Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing